We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What you see on the tin.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Burlington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Burlington
Ranked #87 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Wales, UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“What you see on the tin.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Yes, the decor is tired, the food is far from gourmet and the entertainment is not exactly Vegas, BUT, I paid £59 with a tour company for a mystery trip, including overnight accommodation, coach travel, evening meal, breakfast and Sunday lunch plus evening entertainment.
It was far better than we expected for that sort of money. The people complaining should put their hands in their pockets and pay five star prices if they want five star luxury.
The rooms were fine, somewhere to lay your head. The sheets and towels were bright white and the bathrooms clean if a little dingy and basic and the food was perfectly edible.

It was a nice stroll into town and a 20 minute walk back up a long but not too steep hill.

Staff were very helpful and hardworking.

There are lots of stair and no lift so if mobility is a problem this hotel is not for you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank w3lshbyrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    79
    82
    63
    72
See reviews for
43
139
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Irthlingborough
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Booked with a local tour company, a mystery location where we would be told the name of the hotel 10 days before going . On knowing the name of the hotel i went on Trip Advisor to look at reviews and was disgusted at photos and reports. It came to the point that i didnt want to go but having booked i went . What a shock i had ,, the room was clean , good food , staff very attentive and we would definitly stay there again . I agree it needs refurbishing but cleanliness is more important . Very good holiday

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary5750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed at the hotel over Xmas 2012, , the service was excellent the food was good and plenty of it
as with most places that are value for money there are minor issues in our case the heating, it was winter and the hotel as like a furnace! Apart from that Great!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 145David145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Was due to stay 3 nights but left after 2. Had gone with my sister,mum and kids for a birthday celebration. On arrival hotel was freezing as it had been empty all week and was being opened for weekend to coach trips. The owner put the heating on as coaches arrived resulting in everyone in coats and scarves throughout dinner and evening entertainment , which by the way was absolutely average.
We had two family rooms. There was one in the basement which was the pits. The sink was in the bedroom and the shower was like a dark hole in the wall which my mum refused to get into. The room was perishing all nite and despite having 2 quilts on the bed my poor mum was frozen . She was moved the next day to a slightly better room. My room was on the first floor it had 3 single beds. The shower was cold and there was nowhere to hang clothes as the hook had come off the door, and nowhere to put your soap or shampoo whilst having a cold shower.
Food absolutely average. Hotel situated quite a walk from Torquay with no pubs or restaurants nearby. Cleanliness very poor with lots of cobwebs , just don't look up. Bar was not always open and basic. No food available other than at breakfast or dinner. Only one positive was clean sheets and towels.
The break was cheap I know but I expected to be warm, have a nice shower and for it to be clean but felt so dirty, cold and miserable I had to return a day early. I honestly feel that leisuretime should not send people to this god forsaken hotel. I am not normally a moaner but if you have certain standards please do no visit this hotel.

Room Tip: Experienced 3 rooms all of which poor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank susan2901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Torquay hotels

Usk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed here from 22nd March for 2 nights
yes i agree with most posts, it is only a 2 star
hotel, it is very dated, our room was small,
the tv was so old it did not have remote at all,
there was a kettle and tea/coffee,
bathroom was very large, plenty towels,
the bed was very uncomfortable and drastically noisy,
every time i turned over i thought i would wake
up the whole hotel and it was close to sounding
like it would break.
They are Very Strict on the meal times
8.30 for breakfast and 6.30 for dinner Be Warned,
saying that we had Sue for our waitress she was superb
can't fault her, lovely lady, nothing to much trouble,
well done Sue you are an asset to the hotel.
We found the food to be very nice,
not massive amount, but enough,
We were however very annoyed that the swimming pool
was not working as we booked this hotel on the understanding that
it was, so that was a let down.
The hotel is on a steep hill so for anyone with mobility problems
might find it a trek to go up and down to the sea front.
there is not a lift as previous people have mentioned the same.
And as for the entertainment we only watched saturday night
and because we kept to ourselves was made uncomfortable
by the so called comedian/singer Chris for not completely joining in,
swaying to his tunes i suppose,
not sure if it was part of his act or if it was just us he was
reffering to... whatever....
No we would not go back to this hotel...

comedian

Room Tip: If you are fit try the attic room 44 distant sea views, has got fire escape door, huge bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BEVERLEY L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

I stayed here from the 18th March until 22nd March.After reading other reviews I was a bit wary about staying here.On arrival,It was a bit hectic,with only the girl on reception,but it was okay.We had a room on the first floor, was quite small but it was okay,the bathroom was very small,with only a bath,NO shower,which I find so unusual in this day and age,but we managed.The room was clean,as was the bedding and the towels.The window frames were dirty and could have done with a good clean,but again that was not a major issue.The food as medioco,but okay,had a small choice,but actually got a bit better as the week wore on,the breakfasts were very good with quite a good choice.The waitress,name of Sam,was a charming girl and nothing was to much trouble for her,so pleasent and always asking how we were etc.The only thing I have to say with regret is,there were two girls from Thailand also staying,lovely girls,they came to breakfast one morning about 5 minutes late,and were turned away,which I found quite shocking.I understand the rules,and yes if there were a lot of people being late I could have understood it,it did not give a very good impression of English hospitality.The Hotel has NO lift,and as there are a lot of elderly people staying it must have been very difficult for them,climbing all those stairs.Luckily we had a little help taking the suitcases to room,but upon leaving,there was only about five people knew about leaving your cases outside of room,and that was only because we asked,I feel there should have been an anouncement or a notice put up informing people.The entertainment was fair,but nothing to write home about,except the comedienne on the first night he was excellant..The Bar prices,were very reasonable,and quite a good choice.The hotel is set on quite a steep hill,but there is a bus service into Torquay,there is also a small supermarket just down the road,where if you desire you can buy a newspaper,as these are not supplied in the hotel.The swimming pool not working,and after reading reviews I understand has been that way for a while.It seems such a shame,that these things let the Hotel down,and in these hard times if they were put right,and a few things bought up to standard this Hotel could do well.Upon leaving the Hotel,there was not anyone wishing us goodbye,I have never come across that before.So all in all,it was not to bad at all,on saying that,I think we were lucky with our room,because a few people did have some complaints,and had to be moved,but you will always get some people complain about everything.So anyone planning to stay here,I say expect,what you pay for,a short break at a reasonable price,this is not a 3/4/5 star hotel but is quite okay.There is a lounge with a TV and very comfortable,a small bar area,just off the ballroom,where the entertainment is held every night.Would I stay here here again,well yes I would for a short break,.

Room Tip: The room we had number 34,was small,but clean,the television was tiny and to high up on the wall,p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

we stayed here for a weekend in march 13 and to be quite honest we were put off by the comments on here before we went but we were pleasantly surprised the hotel is a bit dated and the bedrooms a bit small but it was very clean we had multiple choices in the restaurant and the food was acceptable the staff were very organised the drinks in the bar were not overpriced and we had entertainment overall we think for what we paid for our trip we had very good value for money people cannot expect to pay 2 star prices and get 5 star accommodation you need to be realistic the hotel is very cheap and well worth the money.

Room Tip: the restaurant in this hotel is in the basement and no lift but they are willing to set up a dining...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beverley j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
Ashley Court Hotel
Ashley Court Hotel
#80 of 89 in Torquay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#55 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
1.0 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#89 of 89 in Torquay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Abbey Court Hotel
Abbey Court Hotel
#70 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
1.0 mi away
Anchorage Hotel
Anchorage Hotel
#77 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Richmond
Hotel Richmond
#67 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Burlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Burlington

Property: Hotel Burlington
Address: Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Burlington 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Burlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burlington Hotel Torquay
Hotel Burlington Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing