We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Burlington Hotel”
Review of Hotel Burlington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Burlington
Ranked #86 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Burlington Hotel”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I stayed here from the 18th March until 22nd March.After reading other reviews I was a bit wary about staying here.On arrival,It was a bit hectic,with only the girl on reception,but it was okay.We had a room on the first floor, was quite small but it was okay,the bathroom was very small,with only a bath,NO shower,which I find so unusual in this day and age,but we managed.The room was clean,as was the bedding and the towels.The window frames were dirty and could have done with a good clean,but again that was not a major issue.The food as medioco,but okay,had a small choice,but actually got a bit better as the week wore on,the breakfasts were very good with quite a good choice.The waitress,name of Sam,was a charming girl and nothing was to much trouble for her,so pleasent and always asking how we were etc.The only thing I have to say with regret is,there were two girls from Thailand also staying,lovely girls,they came to breakfast one morning about 5 minutes late,and were turned away,which I found quite shocking.I understand the rules,and yes if there were a lot of people being late I could have understood it,it did not give a very good impression of English hospitality.The Hotel has NO lift,and as there are a lot of elderly people staying it must have been very difficult for them,climbing all those stairs.Luckily we had a little help taking the suitcases to room,but upon leaving,there was only about five people knew about leaving your cases outside of room,and that was only because we asked,I feel there should have been an anouncement or a notice put up informing people.The entertainment was fair,but nothing to write home about,except the comedienne on the first night he was excellant..The Bar prices,were very reasonable,and quite a good choice.The hotel is set on quite a steep hill,but there is a bus service into Torquay,there is also a small supermarket just down the road,where if you desire you can buy a newspaper,as these are not supplied in the hotel.The swimming pool not working,and after reading reviews I understand has been that way for a while.It seems such a shame,that these things let the Hotel down,and in these hard times if they were put right,and a few things bought up to standard this Hotel could do well.Upon leaving the Hotel,there was not anyone wishing us goodbye,I have never come across that before.So all in all,it was not to bad at all,on saying that,I think we were lucky with our room,because a few people did have some complaints,and had to be moved,but you will always get some people complain about everything.So anyone planning to stay here,I say expect,what you pay for,a short break at a reasonable price,this is not a 3/4/5 star hotel but is quite okay.There is a lounge with a TV and very comfortable,a small bar area,just off the ballroom,where the entertainment is held every night.Would I stay here here again,well yes I would for a short break,.

Room Tip: The room we had number 34,was small,but clean,the television was tiny and to high up on the wall,p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    81
    83
    64
    76
See reviews for
43
143
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
wales
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

we stayed here for a weekend in march 13 and to be quite honest we were put off by the comments on here before we went but we were pleasantly surprised the hotel is a bit dated and the bedrooms a bit small but it was very clean we had multiple choices in the restaurant and the food was acceptable the staff were very organised the drinks in the bar were not overpriced and we had entertainment overall we think for what we paid for our trip we had very good value for money people cannot expect to pay 2 star prices and get 5 star accommodation you need to be realistic the hotel is very cheap and well worth the money.

Room Tip: the restaurant in this hotel is in the basement and no lift but they are willing to set up a dining...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beverley j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at the Burlington hotel in Torquay for Mother's Day it was a complete disaster the hotel was freezing cold the shower didn't work the state of the bathroom was disgusting broken tiles on wall toilet holder hanging off wall no loo brush head when you took it out of container black around tiles in shower and round edges of shower base shower doors hanging off Food was warm Entertainment was terrible they had a comedienne on that night he was so blue telling his jokes that we found him disgusting and in front of children we will never go there again staff was useless to say the least didn't have a clue receptionist was not helpful at all didn't want to know Leisuretime should pull there socks up and have more sense in sending people to these places I won't be using there company again they should pay me not me pay them AWFUL

Room Tip: Don't go in to room 23 all rooms we were told were cold and old rethink about going to this ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank 220Tricia1234_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Torquay hotels

caerphilly
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I was dreading staying here after reading the reviews, I booked with leisure time a mothers day trip, I agree with most people the deco is dated could do with updating, there isn't a lift which was quite difficult if you were unable to climb stairs, we were in the attic, room was clean and warm, bathroom was cold though, no shower only a bath. food was nice, we had evening meal breakfast and sunday lunch which was enjoyable, people arrived late for breakfast and still got served. This hotel is very much you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: hotel only suitable for mobile people, no lift at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claire291276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

just got back from a weekend here fri-sun, room 15 was awful, small smelly and freezing cold, no heating at all in the room, bathroom was full of mould. reported the heating problem but nothing was done about it, the food was ok, and if ur late for it u dont get any !!!! staff could do with going on a training course to help them deal with customers, because they have no customer skills at all !! entertainment was ok if ur in ur 70's...... the hotel needs a good clean and a make-over ! they say u pay for what u get but it still cost us 200 quid !!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 57clarence09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

rude receptionist, dated decor, dated furniture, awful dining area dirty, views of overgrown bushes and weeds was that the garden? awful ! meals small and had to sit next to people we didnt know. some people did not get served because they didnt get down stairs quick enough! talking about stairs there is plenty of them , i did look for a lift but reception rudely said i had to carry my own suitcase up the stairs. room was tired and worn but bedding and towels were fresh and clean. attachment on tap for a shower!! room clean. entertainment could of been better not my kind of thing. excursions boring. needs updating in a lot of areas and receptionist jolene i think needs to learn some people skills her attitude is the face of the hotel and if you get beyond that stage enjoy your stay at the hotel burlington. i wont return.

Room Tip: if you book room with shower make sure it is not a bath tap attachment !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pam f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

we stayed in the hotel burlington. we traveled with Liesure Time (coach) and found faults straight away. The bathroom was full of mold, we had to ask for a new bathmat and the shower curtain was black with mold. At times the reception were rude to guests and the swimming pool was broken along with the spa

Room Tip: not agood place to stay but have a look for your self
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank patricklesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
Ashley Court Hotel
Ashley Court Hotel
#82 of 87 in Torquay
374 reviews
1.0 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#87 of 87 in Torquay
1,181 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Richmond
Hotel Richmond
#69 of 87 in Torquay
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#54 of 87 in Torquay
758 reviews
1.2 mi away
Abbey Court Hotel
Abbey Court Hotel
#71 of 87 in Torquay
90 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#33 of 87 in Torquay
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Burlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Burlington

Property: Hotel Burlington
Address: Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Burlington 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Burlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burlington Hotel Torquay
Hotel Burlington Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing