We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this hotel”
Review of Hotel Burlington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Burlington
Ranked #85 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Neath
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Avoid this hotel”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We booked this hotel for 15 October but on reading the reviews (I know, I should have done that first) I cancelled and booked a different hotel. When we got to Torquay, we paid the Burlington a visit to see if reviews were correct. The stale smell hit us the minute we opened the door to the foyer. We asked to see a room and 3 seconds was enough for me to take in the shabby furniture, dust and cobwebs. The reviews were correct. Avoid this place, it's dire.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maureen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    84
    86
    65
    83
See reviews for
44
151
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Myself my husband and 14 friends have just returned from a weekend at the Burlington,we were full of trepidation after reading the reviews on the hotel website and Trip adviser, wow! What a surprise our room was clean the bedding and towels were spotless,as was the bathroom,there were know signs of mildew on any of the surfaces of tiles,the rooms had also been newly painted.

The entertainment by Barry B was excellent haven't laughed so much in ages,there was also a very good singer on Saturday night the dance floor was packed with everyone dancing and enjoying themselves(there were 2 coach party’s staying at the hotel). Food was good staff great,friendly and helpful.
Would I go again Yes definitely,there are areas that are a bit shabby and still need updating but on the whole value for money

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pandora49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

It was very dirty with dust and even cobwebs on the walls the curtains were falling off mould around the shower area and the showrmat was so thick with mould it had to be replaces but the replacement wasn't much better
The room is the one that you are able to see as you approach the front entrance it'son the right hand side of the door
If you are going to have a shower check to see who is able to watch you from outside if you turn the light on.

Room Tip: In any other hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john1946066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Torquay hotels

Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stopped at this hotel on a bus tour with David Urquhart. The food was good basic british food,
the bar and dining rooms were clean and the staff were very quick to serve you.The entertainment was great with a diffirent act every night and a game bingo.The rooms were dated but were clean and were cleanand towels changed every day.

Room Tip: Ask for a low floor no lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank havenlady72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merseyside
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a holiday at the Burlington. Firstly the holiday company Travelstyle, we had no problems here and the driver ( Phil) was outstanding.
The hotel--- the staff were very helpful especially in the dining room and the meals were good and always served hot. The room was nowhere near standard, the beds were as hard as rock, so hard in fact that we slept on top of the duvet to try and soften things. The base on one of the beds appeared to be broken and rocked each one turned over. The bathroom was not the cleanest and we refused to take a bath in such a poor piece of equipment plus the fact there was no shower . The entertainment was generally good. We enjoyed the holiday despite these setbacks but will never again use this hotel. One good thing was that we had a lot of fun with a number of friendly guests and if Terry and Sheila from Accrington read this please get in touch, we could not have met two nicer people.

Steve & Jean

Room Tip: Our room 62 forget it, and room 52 we were shown a large patch of black damp along one wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MerseysideRelaxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

On arriving , given key to room on 4th floor. (no lift ). Receptionist said it was on 3rd floor . Four flights of stairs. to get to it. I took one look and walked out. No windows just a glass fire escape door. Complained to the receptionist and was given key to first room on ground floor next to stairs to restaurant. A bit small for a double room . old chipboard wardrobe , bed was so and so. Settled in then went into bathroom, curtains were not hanging straight( missing hooks) and black mould spots along the bottom. The bathroom needed complete revamp including the shower as the base leaked and flooded the floor. Cleaner only came in once in 5days and never went into bathroom. No towels or Sheet change. At the meals the food was good and plentiful served quickly. The Entertainment was very good , different entertainer or duo each night . But the state of the rooms and cleanness let the hotel down.
.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We arrived on bank holiday Monday at the Burlington. Staff were friendly but when we received the keys to the room .... oh dear! The bedding was clean and spotlessly white towels to be fair but the bathroom was another story. Filthy black grime behind and around the front of the toilet, filthy, dusty floor behind the wash basin and some soap that looked as if it had been dragged around the floor. The bath had no shower and not even a shower attachment which resulted in me having to buy one - not impressed at all. I was awoken every morning at around 5 am due to squeaking floorboards from the upstairs room. There were absolutely no facilities for disabled people. The restaurant was down two/three flights of stairs. On the whole I found the meals not bad. Apart from cooked stewed sprouts and cauliflower (which undoubtedly were frozen veg) the meals on the whole were ok. The waitress on our table was lovely. The only entertainment that was brill was "Barry" - superb act - the rest was dire. Drinks from the bar weren't too badly priced (I would have expected them to be far more due to it being a hotel) although selection wasnt brill. Hotel has a pool which I didnt use but looked relatively clean - on the other hand the sauna and changing rooms were rather unpleasant. The sauna was out of order and on the floor there was some nasty brown looking muck (god knows what that was) and the changing rooms were awful (broken benches and generally unclean). To be perfectly honest the Burlington needs closing down and refurbishing from top to bottom and definitely needs alot of modernising!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Do not have room 5 or 6 - no showers!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KMW1711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.0 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#86 of 87 in Torquay
1,238 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Richmond
Hotel Richmond
#74 of 87 in Torquay
368 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ashley Court Hotel
Ashley Court Hotel
#83 of 87 in Torquay
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Anchorage Hotel
Anchorage Hotel
#72 of 87 in Torquay
386 reviews
1.2 mi away
Abbey Court Hotel
Abbey Court Hotel
#73 of 87 in Torquay
92 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#54 of 87 in Torquay
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Burlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Burlington

Property: Hotel Burlington
Address: Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Burlington 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Burlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burlington Hotel Torquay
Hotel Burlington Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing