We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend Break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Burlington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Burlington
Ranked #87 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Brynmenyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Weekend Break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

We booked a long weekend with leisuretime in February it was a comedy themed weekend. after reading the comments about this hotel we had some misgivings. On arrival we were greated with a glass of sherry and a friendly welcome. beds and towels were very clean, food good, all staff were friendly, and the comedy entertainment was excellent. Colin our coach driver was very pleasant and obliging when we arrived at the hotel on friday the 3rd of february 2012 our driver told us if we had any complaints to tell him or the hotel staff straight away. As far as we know the only complaints were that the bedrooms were cold, this was rectified a.s.a.p. and the heating was left on for 24hrs. we really enjoyed our weekend and would return to this hotel. Elaine and Ron Brynmenyn Bridgend.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the back they are a lot quieter than the ones in the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rtalbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    79
    81
    62
    72
See reviews for
41
138
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

two friends and i have just spent five days at the burlington with sunrise and it was four days too long. the rooms were grubby. dusty and mouldly. i even had the previous tenants sweet wrappers on the foor . t v had one channel which didnt matter too much to me but the worst was the bathroom which only had a bath .and a plastic hand shower attachment and as the taps had black gunge coming out of it when put on i resorted to putting the attachment on the sink taps and trying to shower.i was luckier than my friend who had no attachment..food was ok but a word of warning dont be late or else you will be herded down as we were one evening and the food bought out before you have time to sit down.most of the staff were friendly but does this make up for cobwebs everywhere,

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maggoo94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Torquay hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
england
Level Contributor
118 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2012

We have just had a 5 day coach holiday, staying at The Burlington.
First let me give its positive points - The staff are lovely and put themselves out for you, the Domestic Staff, Waitressess, Night Porter and Reception Staff are really nice and friendly, and make you feel at home.
The food was adequate, and varied, and there was always enough of it.
The Entertainment was good, and the place was neat and tidy.

Unfortunately we went during the recent cold spell (February) and the negative point was that the room we stayed in was absolutely freezing cold, and we had to sit in our room with our outdoor coats on, as the heating did not work.
We requested a heater but were told we could not have one, and the room being like a fridge ruined our stay.

Even the staff agreed it was below par in the central heating stakes and appologised.

The heating was on a timer and was only on for a short time, but our radiators did not work.

We couldnt have a bath then step into a warm room, it was a trial just to have a wash.

If the heating was updated and fixed, we would return again, but that did ruin it for us this time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with working heating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westy58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

Anne:
Just returned from a long weekend away at Torquay with Leisuretime. We stayed at the Burlington- Had a great time, entertainment was excellent. Food was very good. Staff were very pleasant. Room very clean along with bedding - lovely. I appreciated your hospitality and would stay there again. Excellent value for the money paid.

Room Tip: Request the advice from reception staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carmarthenshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

ju st come back from a weekend break at the burlington had a wonderfull time hotel rooms were basic clean and warm . Staff were friendly and helpfull
food wasgood and plentyfull entertainment exellent all in all a very good 3 star hotel For all the moaners try the 5 star hotels in torquay then you can moan about being ripped off WILL CERTAINLY STAY IN THIS HOTEL AGAIN

Room Tip: Try and get a 1st floor room if you are not very agile
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ROGER E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

My Wife and I had read the reviews of this hotel and were dismayed at first as we had already booked and paid for the 4 day stay.When we arrived we were met by the hotel staff,who were very friendly and obliging,we were checked in at reception and offered a glass of sherry and some mince pies,very nice! We stayed in room no.34,which was overlooking the main road,which was quite busy and noisy at times.If there had been double glazing or secondary glazing it would have improved the situation.The food was excellent and the staff at all levels very friendly and efficient.
The central heating was on in our bedroom,it was not as warm as we would have liked,but I blame the single glazing,it could be improved by double glazing/secondary glazing.
The entertainment was first class and bar prices kept low £2.40 for beer and £2.50 for Stella.All in all for a 2 star hotel it was good value for money,we paid £89.00 each for a 4 night stay and that included the return travel by coach from S.Wales plus 2 day trips to Plymouth anf Dartmouth,bargain!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at rear of hotel traffic noise can be heard from front facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2011

Room was cold, damp patches on wall, filthy windows with curtains that didn't close..Terrible mouldy smell too. Not enough hot water for a wash. BUT the staff were peasant. Pity there was no lift, we had elderly guests on our Coach trip.

Room Tip: Another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welshwitch05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
Ashley Court Hotel
Ashley Court Hotel
#81 of 89 in Torquay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#58 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
1.0 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#89 of 89 in Torquay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Red House Hotel
Red House Hotel
#55 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Richmond
Hotel Richmond
#65 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
1.2 mi away
Abbey Court Hotel
Abbey Court Hotel
#70 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Burlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Burlington

Property: Hotel Burlington
Address: Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Burlington 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Burlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burlington Hotel Torquay
Hotel Burlington Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing