We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RELAXING BREAK IN A REALLY WELCOMING HOTEL”
Review of Hotel Burlington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Burlington
Ranked #86 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
cardiff wales
Level 4 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“RELAXING BREAK IN A REALLY WELCOMING HOTEL”
Reviewed March 20, 2011

Stayed at The Burlington Hotel on trip with Leisuretime.
Our room was small but comfortable and had everything we needed in it.
Staff were very friendly,bar prices were very good. Pint and large wine £4.90.
Food was well presented and tasty.
Did not watch evening entertainment as we went for a walk into centre of Torquay but those that watched it said it was excellent.
It has a heated indoor pool and sauna with plenty of white fluffy towels available.
The harbour and shops are approx 15 mins walk away.
Would definately return and make sure I took bathers next time.
The only downside was that not all rooms had showers but they did have a bath, it was not a problem for us as we were only there one night and it would not put us off staying there again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank red_dragon1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    83
    84
    64
    81
See reviews for
43
147
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
newport gwent
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2011

Thank you for a wonderful stay ...clean...warm.....lovely food .....only one tiny gripe please ensure the TV's are tuned in properly other than that i nothing but praise and that includes Diane the lovely lady that did our room ......i will be back

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moogieenglish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2011

Recent visit to the Burlington Hotel in Torquay.
We arrived as part of a coach tour, welcomed by staff, given keys to rooms fine no problems
with that at all. Did ask for a quiet room on low floor but that waSs ignored.
The room next to the entertanment room so at night it was very noisey, if you wanted an early night no chance.
Food was very good but basic no frills, restuarant staff very good, drinks very good fair price.
Hotel all in all was fair rated at 2 star only just, ok for a few nights but no longer.
The best part was the entertainment, very good but a bit loud for the size of the room.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tkw397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Torquay hotels

Swansea, Wales
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2011

Hotel is only a short walk down the hill to town, on No 12 bus route. Main problem the hotel was very cold, the central heating was not effective (outside temperature very low). Bedrooms small. Staff great, friendly, food okay but basic and small portions. Saying that you get what you pay for and all in all for the weekend, it was okay. Cleanliness good, entertainment enjoyable, company great, thanks Marion and Dave, wish we had more time to get to know you both.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GingeSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2011

Stayed here on coach tour. Great location. Very clean hotel with excellent service. The staff could never do enough for you. The only down sides are the decor is very dated and the shower cubical in my room was so small opening i scraped my belly and back to get in and out. Ok i have a 42 inch waist.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank markr1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2010

This is without doubt the worst hotel I have ever stayed in, but to be fair to the staff they tried very hard to make us welcome and give good service. But everything was stacked against them. Our room was on the top floor, it was clean but very dated. The water ran so so slow we couldn't have a bath. We never seemed to have any hot water. There were set times in the restaurant for breakfast and dinner. This put the staff under enormous pressure. The entertainment on Saturday evening was good. Santa visited and gave all the guests a small present. I must say the comedian was good.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterthePainter80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2010

This is definately one for the Hotel Inspector! Lets start with the pre 1970s tele wired to a light switch with a green line down the middle and flickering from black and white to colour. A room not much bigger than a rabbit hutch, curtains one patterned and one plain. A toilet where you have to take your trousers down prior to entering as it was to small. It was a work of art to have a shower. Green bacon for breakfast one morning and the smell in the dining room was appalling. A swimming pool which was broke for 3 days butmaybe that was a blessing! Entertainment well i wont go there. Will not be revisitng!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaRichardson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Richmond
Hotel Richmond
#70 of 87 in Torquay
357 reviews
1.0 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#87 of 87 in Torquay
1,206 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ashley Court Hotel
Ashley Court Hotel
#82 of 87 in Torquay
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#57 of 87 in Torquay
778 reviews
1.2 mi away
Abbey Court Hotel
Abbey Court Hotel
#72 of 87 in Torquay
91 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#32 of 87 in Torquay
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Burlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Burlington

Property: Hotel Burlington
Address: Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Burlington 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Burlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burlington Hotel Torquay
Hotel Burlington Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing