We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No wish left”
Review of The Marstan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Marstan
Ranked #2 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 6, 2014

It was a short but absolutely perfect stay! Hospitality and breakfast a++, Tolerant if you are late. I guess Graig is the best "Landlady" in the world. Both are very polite as expected in a lovely house like the Narstan. What is better after a long days walk, than sitting in a hot tub with a drink in my hand. This is an old victorian Hotel as we (wife and I) love it. We promise to come back!
Andy & Susanne

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andreas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (562)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

318 - 324 of 562 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2014

We use trip advisor a lot, and the reviews were excellent, so was our stay.
Warm and friendly check-in with lovely cuppa, we'll needed after long journey.
Rooms were very clean and nicely decorated.
Bed was just the right softness / firmness, very comfy good nights sleep.
Pool and Hot Tub area is a wonderful sun trap and well worth using, hot tub especially.
Good variety of choices at breakfast, cooked for you, and to your liking.
Craig and Ian are the best hosts ever, warm, friendly, very helpful, whether you need a taxi calling or swapping tips about the iPad and it's apps.
We even had a couple of lovely tunes on the piano from Craig whilst waiting for our taxi.
Very accommodating, nothing is too much trouble.
Would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiggipop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Wow!! With such a warm friendly welcome from comfort to relaxation all the way through our stay. This hotel was by far the best we could have hoped for. We have already booked to go back. Breakfast superb and very relaxing atmosphere. Craig was the best host we've ever experienced. Ian was great and very welcoming. Room was clean. Bed very comfortable and room well decorated. Shower room clean and modern- Hot tub was lovely. Pool my husband enjoyed. Surroundings in garden beautiful. Can't fault it at all !! Wow wow wow...........

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank kirsten h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We chose the Marstan as from the reviews it sounded lovely. The pictures of the rooms looked inviting. We opted for their most expensive room the premier double as this was my birthday weekend. We arrived in Torquay early, and my husband called in at the hotel and they sais we could check in at 2pm. So we went off to do some sightseeing. When we returned to check we noticed the place was very decorative or very Liberace.. We were greeted by Craig, who seemed nice offered us a hot drink while we filled in the paper work. Then as the conversation started about where was good to go and where we had been in the morning Craig started to become a little over familiar. We mentioned that we'd been down to the beach at Mead foot bay for walk to which he started telling us that in the evenings in the car park dogging went on (not a conversation we really wanted to enter into) also that there was a gay night club next door and that if we were going to roll in at 3 in the morning we have a key.. (not what our break was about). Finally we got to our room. First impressions was very nice well.. Good bathroom although a lot smaller than it looks on their photos. We had complimentary tea and coffee so made ourselves a nice brew put the tv on and had a rest after a long drive and had been up since 4am. We then got showered and changed ready to go out for a evening meal.
At which point I went to straighten the top pillows on the bed and noticed that underneath they had what I could only describe as dribble stains. They had definitely not been washed. I went downstairs and told Ian he apologised and when we returned that evening the pillows had been removed. Unfortunately they were never returned which was a shame as they matched the bed spread which was all part of the décor and ambience in the room.
We were also given a welcome letter on arrival which stated that if we required fresh towels to put our used towels on the bathroom floor and they would be replaced. This did not happen. When we returned after a day out in bad weather wet and cold we wanted a nice hot shower but our towels had just been picked up off the floor and rehung on the towel rail not even folded nice like they were when we arrived and still damp. So we decided to go over to the Osborne Hotel and use the health club and indoor pool and get a shower there. In fact when we saw the Osborne we wished we'd booked there as there was not much difference in the price and the use of the health club would have been free. We also had complimentary still and sparkling water we used the still and this was not replace either.
There was a hot tub and out door pool neither of which we used, the hot tub due to the weather and the pool because it hadn't been cleaned.
Breakfast was really nice and Ian's service was second to none.
All in all a very expensive room that did not meet our expectations from what we had seen and read. Sadly disappointed with things that could have been easily rectified if they had put as much attention to detail in the room service as they have in the décor of the house.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian1970, Owner at The Marstan, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2015

Dear Jan M

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a review. We are sorry that we fell short of meeting your expectations.

Please bear in mind that outdoor swimming pools are only open in the summer in England. It is not possible to heat them to a comfortable temperature, particularly when it is stormy as it was when you stayed. We clear the leaves once a week in the winter.

We apologise for the housekeeping issues that you experienced during your stay. We have spoken with the member of staff concerned, and we hope that there will not be any further problems for future guests.

Regarding the conversation about "dogging.” We feel this is taken out of context. Craig mentioned that the car park was a dodgy place to go at night, which it is, for many reasons, including gangs of youths congregating. We recommend that our guests avoid it. You chose to think that he was referring to more unsavoury activities. I feel it is slightly unfair to make this kind of inference and post it on a prominent site such as this and several other review websites. We are a small family owned business and undoubtedly, it causes us considerable embarrassment and consequently a probable loss of bookings.

We are a small boutique hotel, not a large corporate chain; therefore, the staff and owners have an informal and friendly demeanour towards our guests. While we are attentive and approachable, we always endeavour to be professional and not overbearing.

I appreciate that given your perceptions, you may choose to give our hotel a wide berth. However, if you are prepared to give us a second chance, then please do contact me directly and I will endeavour to personally ensure that you have a better stay.

Ian Krender

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in room 10 - had everything we needed and a few bits extra too. Ian and Craig are the perfect hosts and we left feeling like we had stayed with friends - Thanks for having us , we will of course be back - if you'll have us :-)

Room Tip: Great breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Bless these guys we arrived needing to go to a wedding 15mins later, they helped us as much as possible, were very welcoming and friendly too! The rooms are lavishly decorated, and spacious, the lobby and breakfast room is beautiful too.
My only gripe was the bedding. The first night I just couldn't sleep at all, the room was freezing and the bed was too, the pillows were hard and flat, and I'm used to fluffy ones, and a thicker duvet too. By the second night I was so exhausted I slept, but still woke up with a crooked neck.
Breakfasts was what make the beds up to me, staggering quality and atmosphere.
Honestly we would stay here again but I would just bring my own pillows and something warm to sleep in.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Squishy_panda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

A fantastic 3 day break at the Marstan, from the moment we arrived till the minute we left Ian and Craigs attentive service and hospitality was second to none, great clean rooms, superbly furnished throughout and a breakfast to savour! This is top draw make no mistake.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank garyweston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#6 of 85 in Torquay
520 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,078 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 85 in Torquay
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cary Court Hotel
Cary Court Hotel
#3 of 85 in Torquay
541 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 85 in Torquay
908 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marstan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marstan

Address: Meadfoot Sea Road, Torquay TQ1 2LQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#3 Business Hotel in Torquay
#3 Family Hotel in Torquay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: $116 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marstan 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marstan Hotel is an elegant mid-Victorian Villa peacefully located along Meadfoot Sea Road in a conservation area. The harbour and town are approximately ten minutes walk with the blue flag awarded Meadfoot Beach and its stunning views being less than five minutes on foot. An extensive refurbishment program saw The Marstan achieve a five-star guesthouse rating in 2007. In keeping with the period of the building, the hotel is traditionally furnished with antiques complemented with modern amenities such as contemporary bathrooms, flat screen televisions, wifi and ipod docking stations. The Marstan is the only five star guesthouse in Torquay to benefit from a combination of an outdoor swimming pool, hot tub and a licensed bar. The owners and staff endeavor to provide an attentive and personal service without being intrusive, with the aim of creating a luxury boutique hotel ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Marstan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marstan Hotel Torquay
Marstan Hotel Torquay
Marstan Boutique Hotel Torquay
The Marstan Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing