We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great experience”
Review of The Marstan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Marstan
Ranked #3 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“What a great experience”
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at The Marstan for 3 nights and wish that it had been for longer. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome and were given a complete run down on all the local restaurants by one of the owners, Craig, and also given some great ideas of where to go during the day. We opted for the Premier Room and it did not disappoint. Breakfast was especially enjoyable and I would have no hesitation in recommending this lovely friendly hotel to anyone. We will definitely be back again soon.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TheHootsLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    60
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
58
345
16
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We made a late booking for a 2 night break late October after reading other Trip Advsor reviews.
We were met by Ian, who made us a welcome cup of tea.Our case was taken up to our room.There were lots of nice touches.We know the area reasonably well and Ian offerred local information, where to eat etc..The Hotel is furnished to a very high standard with some lovely antiques. Our room was spacious, a great ensuite and immaculately clean.Breakfast was delicious,a great choice and all very fresh and tasty, very relaxing and no sense of being rushed.
All in all a great Hotel in a great location, attentive hosts, excellent food, which all go to make a perfect break. Would recommend and next time we stay in Torquay, it will be here. Superb value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SAWitham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Intergalactic Cruise
2 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2013

What a surprising little gem this hotel is. We were made to feel very welcome indeed. Lovely rooms and pleasant atmosphere. This is the place to be in Torquay. We would definitely come back.
The breakfast is just what you need and do try the bar - it's an experience not to be missed. :)

Helpful?
Thank Heebeejeebee
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2013

From the moment we arrived we were made very welcome. Nothing was too much trouble. Taxis were called for us, whenever we wanted. Craig & Ian took a genuine interest in where we going/what we were doing and offered suggestions too. We had the premium room which lived up to photos and was spotlessly clean, as was the en-suite. We used the hot tub. & pool, towels & robes supplied. The breakfast choices were wonderful something for everyone. The ambiance of the hotel is enhanced by the antiques and lovely furniture in the rooms and throughout the hotel. All in all we had a lovely time.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanDickins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Visited last week stayed for 2 nights, Very clean hotel, very peaceful stay, in fact we thought we were the only ones there until we went to the breakfast room and saw several others. The owners Ian and Craig are very friendly and nothing was too much trouble, as a previous reviewer mentioned they gave us a list of good local restaurants and said they were happy to book a table if we wanted to eat at any of them. The hotel is luxuriously furnished and well maintained and the breakfast was lovely. I would happily recommend to anyone asking where to stay in Torquay. Lynne and Andy, Beacon Vaults, Exmouth.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tweety118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Stayed for a weekend in September. Hotel is set in a quiet location but only a 10 minute walk into Town.
Free parking at the hotel or if full ample on street parking outside on a wide quite road.
Hotel is very clean, comfy bed and large spotless bathroom. Bedroom furniture is a little shabby but is of good quality.
Breakfast was superb with a great choice and a few homemade extras such as marmalade, stewed Rhubarb.
They opened the hot tub for just and it was lovely to sit and have a drink in there just the 2 of us.
The hosts Craig and Ian are very friendly but professional.
We will return!.

Room Tip: Choose a king size room as these are of a standard size
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RedOne147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I have been to some of the world's most beautiful and expensive hotels - from the Venetian in Las Vegas to the Palace of the Lost City in SA, but The Marstan is by far the friendliest and most comfortable stay that I have ever experienced.
The rooms are tastefully appointed, and extremely clean. I usually hate sleeping in a hotel bed and thoroughly clean a hotel bathroom before I use it, but my room was absolutely spotless.
The rest of the hotel is also really lovely, with good parking.
The hosts, Ian and Craig, were helpful and friendly. Unpretentious professional service.
You cannot find a better hotel at any price.
I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#23 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,661 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#6 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#2 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cary Court Hotel
Cary Court Hotel
#8 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#9 of 88 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marstan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marstan

Property: The Marstan
Address: Meadfoot Sea Road, Torquay TQ1 2LQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#3 Business Hotel in Torquay
#3 Family Hotel in Torquay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marstan 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marstan Hotel is an elegant mid-Victorian Villa peacefully located along Meadfoot Sea Road in a conservation area. The harbour and town are approximately ten minutes walk with the blue flag awarded Meadfoot Beach and its stunning views being less than five minutes on foot. An extensive refurbishment program saw The Marstan achieve a five-star guesthouse rating in 2007. In keeping with the period of the building, the hotel is traditionally furnished with antiques complemented with modern amenities such as contemporary bathrooms, flat screen televisions, wifi and ipod docking stations. The Marstan is the only five star guesthouse in Torquay to benefit from a combination of an outdoor swimming pool, hot tub and a licensed bar. The owners and staff endeavor to provide an attentive and personal service without being intrusive, with the aim of creating a luxury boutique hotel ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Marstan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marstan Hotel Torquay
Marstan Hotel Torquay
Marstan Boutique Hotel Torquay
The Marstan Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing