We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Marstan
Nearby Hotels
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Belmont(Torquay)(Great Value!)
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$212
$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Yardley Manor Hotel(Torquay)(Great Value!)
$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Imperial Torquay(Torquay)
$103
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$85
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (571)
Filter reviews
571 results
Traveler rating
493
65
9
4
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
493
65
9
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubgrand pianohomemade granolameadfoot beachrestaurant recommendationscup of teaon arrivallocal areaguest housefabulous breakfastcooked freshwarm welcomequiet areaperfect hostslocal knowledgecoastal pathfull english
Filter
Updating list...
341 - 346 of 571 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I have been to some of the world's most beautiful and expensive hotels - from the Venetian in Las Vegas to the Palace of the Lost City in SA, but The Marstan is by far the friendliest and most comfortable stay that I have ever experienced.
The rooms are tastefully appointed, and extremely clean. I usually hate sleeping in a hotel bed and thoroughly clean a hotel bathroom before I use it, but my room was absolutely spotless.
The rest of the hotel is also really lovely, with good parking.
The hosts, Ian and Craig, were helpful and friendly. Unpretentious professional service.
You cannot find a better hotel at any price.
I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed for a weekend at the beginning of September 2013 as a last minute booking. Beautiful room, lovely public areas, nice little pool (sensible temperature) and quiet locale. Five to ten minutes walk from Meadfoot beach and fifteen to the town centre. Ian and Craig great hosts. Breakfast perfect, service from Trish outstanding.

Hard to fault the hotel so I won't.

That said.... only disappointment/surprise related to guests was seeing two members of a family group pitching up for breakfast bare foot - lovely?

We'll be back.

Room Tip: Booked a premier room that was a really good size. Overlooked front of property and pool. Little or no traffic noise. Big bed, great linen, couch and chairs, enormous wardrobe, flat screen TV, tea/coffee. Bathroom was shower cubicle only but was immaculate.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaybeeSouthWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

second visit this time for our wedding anniversary , made us feel very welcome, great breakfast, and a lovely beach near by. there are great places to eat all within easy reach, 15 mins walk to town , a couple of places you can have afternoon tea just a few minutes walk. in the evening they have a small but friendly bar where you can relax before bedtime .

Room Tip: there all nice.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This hotel is situated in a very pleasant area of Torquay. Very warm welcome. Breakfast was excellent both mornings. Room was clean and cosy. The pool area looked great although we didn't get a chance to use it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pepperpot888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Such a wonderful place to stay. The service is fantastic, nothing was too much trouble, the accommodation is exquisite with great attention to detail and I would thoroughly recommend a visit. Close to the town and a superb beach - I really felt at home here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews