We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great weekend” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Marstan

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Marstan
Ranked #4 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

This hotel is situated in a very pleasant area of Torquay. Very warm welcome. Breakfast was excellent both mornings. Room was clean and cosy. The pool area looked great although we didn't get a chance to use it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pepperpot888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    60
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
57
334
16
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Such a wonderful place to stay. The service is fantastic, nothing was too much trouble, the accommodation is exquisite with great attention to detail and I would thoroughly recommend a visit. Close to the town and a superb beach - I really felt at home here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

I finally had the opportunity to stay here as my boyfriend stays quite regularly for work. Thank you to Craig, Ian and Trisha for their wonderful hospitality. What a fantastic stay!
I was warmly greeted on check in with a nice cup of tea and information from Craig on the local area and the house (and a spelling test!) Then luckily the sun came out for us so we were able to sunbathe by the lovely pool (with Ian and Craig acting as amazing poolside hosts topping up my glass of wine throughout the afternoon!)
The bedroom was fab with a lovely comfy bed. Even better the bar was right next door so I could sleep soundly whilst the wonderful hosts entertained my boyfriend or visa versa!
Breakfast was amazing with so much choice and beautifully cooked by Craig. Definitely a highlight!
My only complaint is that we couldn't stay longer! I can't wait to return and now I finally know what all the hype is about!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chloesouthorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

The Marstan has so much to recommend it; friendly atmosphere, lovely people, quiet and as others have said, spotlessly clean. It is just the right size - small enough so that you can you really get a personal service and chat to other guests in the bar or round the pool but big enough so that you can be on your own if you prefer. Craig and Ian and the rest of the staff make everyone welcome and nothing is too much trouble. Oh -and breakfast is wonderful too!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertPN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Although I only stayed for one night I would have liked to have stayed longer but they were fully booked, which is a good sign. As other people have said the hotel was spotless and there is great attention to detail...even a doily under your tea cup! I agree that the staff were lovely and very helpful but I especially loved the location. Just a short stroll down to a great beach where you can go scuba diving and a 10 minute walk into town. The breakfast was delicious. It was obvious that they used the finest ingredients....gorgeous. I would love to return and sleep in that four poster bed!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenniferjuniperx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for the weekend 19th-21st July 2013 in a king room and our stay was just fab!! From the minute we arrived to the time we left we were welcomed by the friendly owners, Ian and Craig. Nothing was too much trouble!
Our room was spotlessly clean and the bed super comfortable!!
The swimming pool, hot tub and sun terrace were a bonus in the beautiful weather and the iced water brought to us by Ian whilst sunbathing was a welcome gesture :-)
Breakfast was just such a treat....gorgeous jams and homemade marmalade and homemade granola was divine.....and the scrambled eggs the best I've EVER tasted!!
All in all a great stay......go, you won't be disappointed.....and tell your friends, they won't be either!! ;-)
Thanks for a great stay Ian and Craig....and good luck with the degree!! Xx

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katielou28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We can only recommend this hotel to any traveller who wishes to have a home away from home while exploring South Devon. Extremely friendly and helpful hosts who provide excellent advice as to where to go and what to do, excellent breakfasts and lovely, comfortable rooms! After staying there for 8 nights in a row we know we'll be back! Thank you very much, Ian and Craig!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank petra d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#24 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,532 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#2 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#7 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cary Court Hotel
Cary Court Hotel
#3 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#9 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marstan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marstan

Property: The Marstan
Address: Meadfoot Sea Road, Torquay TQ1 2LQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#3 Business Hotel in Torquay
#3 Family Hotel in Torquay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marstan 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marstan Hotel is an elegant mid-Victorian Villa peacefully located along Meadfoot Sea Road in a conservation area. The harbour and town are approximately ten minutes walk with the blue flag awarded Meadfoot Beach and its stunning views being less than five minutes on foot. An extensive refurbishment program saw The Marstan achieve a five-star guesthouse rating in 2007. In keeping with the period of the building, the hotel is traditionally furnished with antiques complemented with modern amenities such as contemporary bathrooms, flat screen televisions, wifi and ipod docking stations. The Marstan is the only five star guesthouse in Torquay to benefit from a combination of an outdoor swimming pool, hot tub and a licensed bar. The owners and staff endeavor to provide an attentive and personal service without being intrusive, with the aim of creating a luxury boutique hotel ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Marstan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marstan Hotel Torquay
Marstan Hotel Torquay
Marstan Boutique Hotel Torquay
The Marstan Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing