We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect.....hospitality and relaxation at its best!!”
Review of The Marstan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Marstan
Ranked #2 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for the weekend 19th-21st July 2013 in a king room and our stay was just fab!! From the minute we arrived to the time we left we were welcomed by the friendly owners, Ian and Craig. Nothing was too much trouble!
Our room was spotlessly clean and the bed super comfortable!!
The swimming pool, hot tub and sun terrace were a bonus in the beautiful weather and the iced water brought to us by Ian whilst sunbathing was a welcome gesture :-)
Breakfast was just such a treat....gorgeous jams and homemade marmalade and homemade granola was divine.....and the scrambled eggs the best I've EVER tasted!!
All in all a great stay......go, you won't be disappointed.....and tell your friends, they won't be either!! ;-)
Thanks for a great stay Ian and Craig....and good luck with the degree!! Xx

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katielou28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (562)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

341 - 347 of 562 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2013

We can only recommend this hotel to any traveller who wishes to have a home away from home while exploring South Devon. Extremely friendly and helpful hosts who provide excellent advice as to where to go and what to do, excellent breakfasts and lovely, comfortable rooms! After staying there for 8 nights in a row we know we'll be back! Thank you very much, Ian and Craig!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petra d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Ian and Craig were both extremely friendly and helpful from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. The hotel itself is lovely, and is spotlessly clean. Our room had plenty of storage soace and the bed was incredibly comfortable.. Lovely and peaceful area too, no disturbances. There are ample breakfast choices and good quality food. Enough space for several cars but also the road is not restricted so can park there if needed. Really enjoyed our stay here and we will be returning again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amelia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Ian and Craig will do their best to ensure your stay is a pleasant one and this starts from the first moment you enter the door. The hotel is sophisticated and spotless, with grand furniture and plush carpets. Ian welcomes you with a map of the area, a great welcome and is full of local knowledge. There is a list of local restaurants which have all been tested personally and recommendations made as to the best (based on their opinion). This information was a great help and we totally agreed with their findings. Th facilities available are great including a heated swimming pool, hot tub (robes and beach towels are available), hospitality tray in your room, large soft bath sheets (towels) and excellent breakfast with a large choice and items made to order. Parking on site is a little limited but parking on the road is ok as there is plenty of space. We stayed in room 5 which was a double room. The only downside with this was the large cracks in the bathroom walls and there was limited space to put your toiletries (but for an old building this can only be expected). The hotel is located at the top of a steep hill if you are walking from town and therefore maybe not ideal for those with mobility issues (but there are buses available, so dont let this put you off). Unfortunately, we did find one day that we returned late at night to find our room had been left unlocked all day by housekeeping. We received a sincere apology from both Ian and Craig. Overall this was a great hotel in a superb location with good hosts. Its not a massive hotel and has therefore kept its intimacy and charm.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Ian and Craig made us feel very welcome and their guest house provided our spring break in Torquay with an excellent base. Our arrival was comfortable, friendly and informative with Ian wecoming us with a cup of tea.The car park is small but on road parking outside is no problem at all if necessary.

Our four poster room was clean, spacious and warm. The only negative being lack of hot water pressure when everyone wants a shower/bath in the early evening.

Super little bar, well stocked and very good for a nightcap whilst reviewing today's activities and tomorrow's plans with both Ian and Craig.

Their list of local restaurants sheet is very helpful, just be careful on sundays and mondays as several of the "better" restaurants are not open. The Old Vienna was good, Jingles very good (very large portions) and the Orange Tree good but with poorer than expected service and relatively quite expensive for what we got, albeit a nice touch was the hand written, in chocolate, wedding anniversary plate at the end plus truffles.

The guest house really is only a 10 minute walk to Torquay harbour, downhill there but uphill back. The walks around and about are superb and we also did a "Round Robin" trip starting from the harbour including an open top bus to Totnes, river cruise to Dartmouth and steam train from Kingswear to Paigton which was well worth the £25 each.

The guest house has an outdoor pool/patio area which we didn't use but looked clean and well kept. Breakfast was good, not the best and certainly not the worst we've ever had.

The four poster room was £124 per night B & B. Its a bit expensive, but saying that it is the kind of place you keep a note of in case you go back to the area and want somewhere you know is good.

All in all a good guest house, well kept, comfortable, warm and friendly.

Room Tip: The four poster room was very nice albeit a little on the expensive side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Have stayed at the Marstan three times and will be returning again. Craig and Ian are perfect hosts and are there to help with all your needs. Rooms are stylish and are always very clean, breakfast is excellent and plenty of choice. The Marston is great for a quite peaceful break and an exceptional place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Couldn't have asked for a better birthday. We found The Marstan on line, had a weekend recce to be sure and were thrilled to find somewhere so personal. Taking the whole place over, Ian and Craig were the perfect hosts, quietly making sure everything was going well. We loved their bar which was just a fun place to finish off the evening, and the great breakfasts helped a few sore heads the next morning too! Following the coast away from Torquay is lovely and recommend walking to The Carey Arms for a drink with fab views. All in all a perfect place to stay. Thanks guys for a bday to remember!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wiltshire4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#6 of 85 in Torquay
520 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,115 reviews
3 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 85 in Torquay
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cary Court Hotel
Cary Court Hotel
#3 of 85 in Torquay
541 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#11 of 85 in Torquay
914 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marstan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marstan

Address: Meadfoot Sea Road, Torquay TQ1 2LQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#2 Family Hotel in Torquay
#3 Business Hotel in Torquay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: $118 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marstan 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marstan Hotel is an elegant mid-Victorian Villa peacefully located along Meadfoot Sea Road in a conservation area. The harbour and town are approximately ten minutes walk with the blue flag awarded Meadfoot Beach and its stunning views being less than five minutes on foot. An extensive refurbishment program saw The Marstan achieve a five-star guesthouse rating in 2007. In keeping with the period of the building, the hotel is traditionally furnished with antiques complemented with modern amenities such as contemporary bathrooms, flat screen televisions, wifi and ipod docking stations. The Marstan is the only five star guesthouse in Torquay to benefit from a combination of an outdoor swimming pool, hot tub and a licensed bar. The owners and staff endeavor to provide an attentive and personal service without being intrusive, with the aim of creating a luxury boutique hotel ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Marstan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marstan Hotel Torquay
Marstan Hotel Torquay
Marstan Boutique Hotel Torquay
The Marstan Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing