We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great welcome & location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Marstan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Marstan
Ranked #5 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Great welcome & location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Ian and Craig will do their best to ensure your stay is a pleasant one and this starts from the first moment you enter the door. The hotel is sophisticated and spotless, with grand furniture and plush carpets. Ian welcomes you with a map of the area, a great welcome and is full of local knowledge. There is a list of local restaurants which have all been tested personally and recommendations made as to the best (based on their opinion). This information was a great help and we totally agreed with their findings. Th facilities available are great including a heated swimming pool, hot tub (robes and beach towels are available), hospitality tray in your room, large soft bath sheets (towels) and excellent breakfast with a large choice and items made to order. Parking on site is a little limited but parking on the road is ok as there is plenty of space. We stayed in room 5 which was a double room. The only downside with this was the large cracks in the bathroom walls and there was limited space to put your toiletries (but for an old building this can only be expected). The hotel is located at the top of a steep hill if you are walking from town and therefore maybe not ideal for those with mobility issues (but there are buses available, so dont let this put you off). Unfortunately, we did find one day that we returned late at night to find our room had been left unlocked all day by housekeeping. We received a sincere apology from both Ian and Craig. Overall this was a great hotel in a superb location with good hosts. Its not a massive hotel and has therefore kept its intimacy and charm.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    60
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
55
334
16
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oxted
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Ian and Craig made us feel very welcome and their guest house provided our spring break in Torquay with an excellent base. Our arrival was comfortable, friendly and informative with Ian wecoming us with a cup of tea.The car park is small but on road parking outside is no problem at all if necessary.

Our four poster room was clean, spacious and warm. The only negative being lack of hot water pressure when everyone wants a shower/bath in the early evening.

Super little bar, well stocked and very good for a nightcap whilst reviewing today's activities and tomorrow's plans with both Ian and Craig.

Their list of local restaurants sheet is very helpful, just be careful on sundays and mondays as several of the "better" restaurants are not open. The Old Vienna was good, Jingles very good (very large portions) and the Orange Tree good but with poorer than expected service and relatively quite expensive for what we got, albeit a nice touch was the hand written, in chocolate, wedding anniversary plate at the end plus truffles.

The guest house really is only a 10 minute walk to Torquay harbour, downhill there but uphill back. The walks around and about are superb and we also did a "Round Robin" trip starting from the harbour including an open top bus to Totnes, river cruise to Dartmouth and steam train from Kingswear to Paigton which was well worth the £25 each.

The guest house has an outdoor pool/patio area which we didn't use but looked clean and well kept. Breakfast was good, not the best and certainly not the worst we've ever had.

The four poster room was £124 per night B & B. Its a bit expensive, but saying that it is the kind of place you keep a note of in case you go back to the area and want somewhere you know is good.

All in all a good guest house, well kept, comfortable, warm and friendly.

Room Tip: The four poster room was very nice albeit a little on the expensive side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Have stayed at the Marstan three times and will be returning again. Craig and Ian are perfect hosts and are there to help with all your needs. Rooms are stylish and are always very clean, breakfast is excellent and plenty of choice. The Marston is great for a quite peaceful break and an exceptional place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Couldn't have asked for a better birthday. We found The Marstan on line, had a weekend recce to be sure and were thrilled to find somewhere so personal. Taking the whole place over, Ian and Craig were the perfect hosts, quietly making sure everything was going well. We loved their bar which was just a fun place to finish off the evening, and the great breakfasts helped a few sore heads the next morning too! Following the coast away from Torquay is lovely and recommend walking to The Carey Arms for a drink with fab views. All in all a perfect place to stay. Thanks guys for a bday to remember!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wiltshire4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montréal
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

We arrived late at the Marstan from a long drive to be welcomed with a good cup up tea, all relaxed through check in. Can it be better than this? Our room was clean and beautifully appointed, with a view of the lovely garden and pool. Although the weather outside was chilly, it was warm and cozy inside. Breakfast was also excellent. We were able to walk to the center of town. It was a good base to explore the Torbay area, Greenway and even the Dartmoor. Our hosts were most helpful in finding a good restaurant and arranging for our visits. The Marstan is clearly an excellent choice in a great location with great hosts. Thank you Ian and Craig.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arundel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights on business. I've always tended to avoid guest houses - The Marston has changed my opinion completely.
Tea on arrival when being checked in. Very comfortable and clean room. Perfectly cooked breakfast and hosts that clearly enjoy what they do. They couldn't be more accommodating, helpful or friendly.
Next time I'm here it will be my first choice.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank IanDBArundel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Lovely warm welcome. We were met at the door and supplied with tea/coffee whilst our bags were taken up to our room giving us the opportunity to sit in comfort and unwind from the journey which was a very nice touch leaving us feeling relaxed and unrushed. After that we were provided an information pack and local area map including an explanation of additional facilities and where to go for them and also a fact sheet listing recommended local eateries etc. The only meal supplied at the hotel was breakfast. We didn't mind this at all as we would be off travelling/exploring the surrounding area during the days we were there and had our meals at restaurants anyway. We were shown to our room which was an excellent king room with ample storage and more than enough hangers in the wardrobes, a comfortable fresh bathroom and a very nice large comfortable bed with a flat-screen tv on the wall. Room refreshments consisted of a small kettle with tea/coffee and hot chocolate. There was also some bottled water and wine but we did not try these. The water, one still one sparkling, provided at check-in were complimentary but subsequent replacements were chargeable. Once the tea/coffee and sugar supplied daily had been used however it took about a minute from a phone request for more before they were happily re-supplied to the room which was again an example of the excellent and personable service provided. We both had an extremely refreshing sleep in that room. There was absolutely zero road noise/outside noise to be heard which made sleeping there even more tranquil and special. Breakfast there was another real treat. Spacious comfortable dining room, we were met at the door and shown to a table of our choosing and supplied with menu's and tea/coffee. There was a buffet table with home-made granola and home-made yoghurt which were both delicious. Fresh fruit salad and extremely tasty orange juice. There was also cranberry juice and a selection of cereals and individual jars of wilkin & sons honey. There were rounds of toast supplied at request and very tasty individual pots of butter on each table. Their grilled full English breakfast is definitely recommended as was their fresh bagels supplied with smoked Scottish salmon and the best tasting scrambled egg I have had to date. All in all, we both thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Marstan and highly recommend it to all. If ever we require accommodation again whilst in the Torquay area, this will be the only Hotel we would consider staying at. Thank-you to Ian and Craig for providing such a wonderful welcome and an excellently relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Only stayed in one of the King rooms and highly recommend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#24 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,513 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#2 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#7 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cary Court Hotel
Cary Court Hotel
#3 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#9 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marstan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marstan

Property: The Marstan
Address: Meadfoot Sea Road, Torquay TQ1 2LQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Torquay
#3 Family Hotel in Torquay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marstan 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marstan Hotel is an elegant mid-Victorian Villa peacefully located along Meadfoot Sea Road in a conservation area. The harbour and town are approximately ten minutes walk with the blue flag awarded Meadfoot Beach and its stunning views being less than five minutes on foot. An extensive refurbishment program saw The Marstan achieve a five-star guesthouse rating in 2007. In keeping with the period of the building, the hotel is traditionally furnished with antiques complemented with modern amenities such as contemporary bathrooms, flat screen televisions, wifi and ipod docking stations. The Marstan is the only five star guesthouse in Torquay to benefit from a combination of an outdoor swimming pool, hot tub and a licensed bar. The owners and staff endeavor to provide an attentive and personal service without being intrusive, with the aim of creating a luxury boutique hotel ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Marstan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marstan Hotel Torquay
Marstan Hotel Torquay
Marstan Boutique Hotel Torquay
The Marstan Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing