We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't recommend the Marstan more highly - first class!”
Review of The Marstan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Marstan
Ranked #2 of 86 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 5, 2008

My husband and I took my parents to Torquay to celebrate their wedding anniversary in April and we stayed at the Marstan for 2 nights. The welcome we received from Ian and Craig (the owners) on our arrival set the standard of service for our entire stay. We were made to feel very special - a refreshing cup of tea served in the lounge, before being shown to our rooms. My parents were able to stay on the ground floor as they have difficulty negociating stairs. Both rooms were spacious, well-equipped, tastefully decorated, sparklingly clean and extremely comfortable. Ian and Craig were able to recommend excellent restaurants throughout our stay and were full of useful local knowledge to make our time there even more enjoyable. One word of warning -the breakfasts are excellent! I particularly enjoyed Craig's homemade grenola and my Mother, who normally only nibbles a small piece of toast, tucked into a nearly full English breakfast on both mornings - even asking for an extra sausage on day 2!
To finish off their stay my parents were spoilt with a piano recital as they waited for us to complete the packing. They were thrilled and are still talking about their wonderful second honeymoon. We had no complaints whatsoever and would go back tomorrow.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank froggy07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (561)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

515 - 521 of 561 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2008

From the moment we walked through the door we were impressed by the warm welcome from the owners of this hotel. After a long journey it was lovely to be greeted with such friendliness. Nothing was too much trouble and the owners' local knowledge really added to the holiday.
Our room was very impressive, spacious, very comfortable and tastefully furnished and above all immaculately clean. The breakfast was first class and again the staff were wonderful. It was really useful to be able to park off-road and really near to the hotel entrance.
This is an excellent hotel and it really lives up to its web-site specification. We look forward to our return to the Marstan Hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizguf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2007

We stayed here weekend of 27th October 2007, we were greeted by Craig who was excellent, extremely friendly with helpful knowlegde and tips on local attractions and a good guide on the best local restaurants, we took up their recommendations and found an excellent Indian. Breakfast was excellent and it was clear that alot of thought and effort had been put into the menu, the sausages were to die for !!
Very clean, extremely comfortable beds set in a very attractive period building. Top Notch

Overall an excellent stay, wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

Matt & Lynne, Cheshire

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Mattylad-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2007

Got off to a bad start as we arrived to check in at 10.30am (didn't realise check in was at 2pm, it did not mention this on reservation form) after a trans-atlantic flight, we were totally exhausted and were looking forward to some English hospitality.

We were turned away and pointed to the direction of town, wouldn't let us unload our luggage or anything. Wouldn't have bothered to check in at 2pm if they didn't have my credit card details. Upon check in we were informed our room was ready earlier but the landlord was not at home to receive us.

Useless facilities in an otherwise charming room.
Situation just out of the town was great and I'm sure we would have enjoyed our stay had it not been for our first day.

Stayed: September 2007
1  Thank ukwelsh_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian1970, Proprietor at The Marstan, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2007

We would like to thank the reviewer for their positive comments and would like to take the opportunity to respond to the negative ones and correct some incorrect information in the review.

The reviewer booked via our online booking system. During this process one is asked to tick a box agreeing to our terms and conditions. This includes our cancellation policy and clearly indicates a check in time of 2pm. A copy of our terms and conditions is automatically emailed once the booking is complete and is also available online.

Given our checkout time is 11am and that the housekeeping staff require time to clean all the rooms, we are unsure as to how we could have given the impression that we could check someone in at 10:30am. Additionally the owners need this window between check-in/outs to run errands.

We appreciate the frustration experienced by the guest at not being able to check in after an arduous journey but they gave no indication to us that they intended to arrive so early. Although we wouldn’t have been able to check them in we would have ensured one of the owners were present and would have offered refreshments and taken luggage. I reiterate that we were given no indication whatsoever of the arrival time.

We would respectfully point out that we know of no hotel in the world that has a check in time of 10:30am at any price level. The industry norm is 10am check out and 3pm check in, a standard that we exceed.

I hope that provides our perspective on events. We genuinely look forward to welcoming trip advisor users in the future from all over the world.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2007

We just got back from our holiday in Devon & Cornwall.
The Marstan Hotel is a very good small hotel with good service.
It is in a quiet neighboorhoud and just a short distance from the town center and the beach. Rooms are spacious and very clean. There is a heated pool and a hot tub available for the guests.
Recommendable. Great value.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dd220786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2007

A very impromptu trip to Torquay was enhanced beyond all measure by the efforts of Ian and Craig, the proprietors of the Marstan Hotel.
Despite the short notice and the holiday season, we were fortunate enough to be given the Regal room (room 4) which was beautifully appointed and ridiculously large, given typical UK room sizes. The en suite shower room had obviously been recently refurbished and everything simply gleamed. One of my first points to evaluate a hotel's quality is checking the standard of provided toiletries and Taylor's of Harrowgate hardly disappoints!
As we drove up to the door, Craig was standing in the porch to welcome us with a refreshing cup of tea and run through the details of the house. Ian and Craig take a lot of pride in their concierge service and they are right to - they have put a lot of effort into trying various restaurants and bars around the town, including sample menus and recommendations. We elected to visit No 7, a fish restaurant in Torquay, and Craig was not only knowledgable about the time of each sitting, but managed to get us a table in about ten minutes. It wasn't until we reached the restaurant and realised how very packed it was that we appreciated how he must have pulled a few strings to get us in!
Nothing is too much trouble at the Marstan - we borrowed needle and thread, had cups of tea in the jacuzzi and played (badly) on the grand piano. The beauty is that all this attention is remarkably unobtrusive - it was much like having your own personal genie who would suddenly appear!
The location of the hotel might not suit all people - it is up quite a steep hill from Torquay, but despite my walking difficulties we managed to conquer it once or twice. Clearly the beers beforehand gave us added strength. The hotel is five minutes walk downhill from a really beautiful coastal walk around the headland and the associated Meadfoot beaches, or ten minutes from Torquay town centre. We tended to walk down and then consider a taxi back - it was only a few pounds each time. However, the walk helped us to burn off some of Craig's delicious breakfasts!
We cannot recommend this hotel enough and we will doubtless be back again in the future. An absolute gem - we feel very lucky to have found it!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vorlina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2007

We have just come back from a brilliant stay at the Marstan. This hotel is in a great location only a 10 minute walk into the centre of Torquay. The hotel has a real charm and ambience. Rooms were spacious and very clean. The breakfast was to die for - all freshly made by Craig. I couldn't say a bad word about this hotel. We were made to feel extremely welcome, nothing was too much trouble. Owners were excellent for giving recommendations for places to visit and to dine. Highly recommended by all in my party (5) wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TeddyHolywood_CoDown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#5 of 86 in Torquay
508 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 86 in Torquay
3,016 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 86 in Torquay
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 86 in Torquay
655 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 86 in Torquay
2,465 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 86 in Torquay
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marstan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marstan

Address: Meadfoot Sea Road, Torquay TQ1 2LQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#3 Family Hotel in Torquay
#3 Business Hotel in Torquay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: $116 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marstan 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marstan Hotel is an elegant mid-Victorian Villa peacefully located along Meadfoot Sea Road in a conservation area. The harbour and town are approximately ten minutes walk with the blue flag awarded Meadfoot Beach and its stunning views being less than five minutes on foot. An extensive refurbishment program saw The Marstan achieve a five-star guesthouse rating in 2007. In keeping with the period of the building, the hotel is traditionally furnished with antiques complemented with modern amenities such as contemporary bathrooms, flat screen televisions, wifi and ipod docking stations. The Marstan is the only five star guesthouse in Torquay to benefit from a combination of an outdoor swimming pool, hot tub and a licensed bar. The owners and staff endeavor to provide an attentive and personal service without being intrusive, with the aim of creating a luxury boutique hotel ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and Orbitz so you can book your The Marstan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marstan Hotel Torquay
Marstan Hotel Torquay
Marstan Boutique Hotel Torquay
The Marstan Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing