We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Down to Earth Proprietors - Truly remarkable!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Marstan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Marstan
Ranked #5 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Down to Earth Proprietors - Truly remarkable!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

Humbleness in a Victorian House! wow!! Superb treatment the moment you walk through their romantic lounge area. It was like walking back in time as you could really appreciate their efforts restoring this place and all the little perks show their passion in antique furniture and history. Starting it off with a warm welcome and a lovely cup of tea as they take your luggage to the room. You could tell from as early as this part of our stay that this is going to be a good one! Ian was very helpful with giving as tips of the place and even gave us some "alone" time to enjoy our cup of tea and have a feel of the place. After a long trip this is definitively what you need! Thank you Ian for all of that. After this, we were shown to our room which was just the same as what I saw on their very professional website. Things are just getting better... ;)

We didn't waste any moment as the sun was still out so we explored as much as we could. We had Fish and Chips for dinner at The Harverster and it was amazing... so fresh and tasty. We then decided to try other fish restaurants during our stay as we couldn't get fresh fish as good as that.

Every evening, we would always return to a very clean room -all refreshed and turned down. Special requests were always a priority to them.

Breakfast was at its finest with a Victorian lady who served us at times and that reminded me of a film I once saw. She made me feel we were back in the Victorian ages. Breakfast was presented in a very classy and professional way as well as the taste and presentation. Well done Chef!! Even the jam, Muesli and fruit bowl was personalized to great standards.

We even had a lovely chat with Craig and he took photos of us near the grand piano etc. Relaxing near the pool is a must especially when the weather warms up.

Checking out was sad as you didn't wanna leave. Craig was very generous in offering to keep our luggage as we strolled one last time while waiting for our train. He even offered the use of the hotels umbrella as it was showering at the time. Later on, Ian bid as farewell... but deep within... I knew this is not goodbye but see you in the near future.

Again many, many thanks for being very kind and making us feel at home and relaxed... ;)

More power and God bless!

Kind regards,
Leigh and Jo
xxx

PS. Trip Advisor is a very helpful website and I hope by sharing this; I can help you narrow down your search.

Room Tip: room 7- sea view and very big, bathroom is amazing! ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jachy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian1970, Owner at The Marstan, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
We thank this guest so much for their kind review. It means so much to us when people appreciate the building and our endeavours to make their stay enjoyable. We did chuckle at the reference to our waitress as the Victorian lady – she is not quite that old! We look forward to welcoming this guest back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    60
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
57
334
16
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

From the moment we were welcomed by Craig with his friendly character to the moment we sadly had to leave, we were delighted with the Marstan. Whether it was the Granola (and indeed huge variety of choice) for breakfast, the interior decor or the conviviality of the hosts, myself and my partner really did love our time staying and would happily do so again! Our only regret is we didn't get to use the pool or hot tub, but that was due to our schedule and the weather, neither of which the Marstan could do anything about. Oh, and their recommendations for restaurants were spot on, Amici was a delight we ended up sampling twice! And the price was remarkably reasonable we thought!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NickinOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

What a fantastic place in Britain. I am a true Londoner a Professional Project Engineer in the construction and electrical industry working at the stressful London Olympic Site, having never seen a location as beautiful as Torquay wiped away the eye sore of London. I stayed 3 nights here to view and experience the Devon style of things. The Beach, Cream Tea's and scones, The Tavern Cave, the Garden landscape paint brushed on Britain by Gods.

So my stay at the Marstan, a lovely place with ample amounts of character, indulging historic looking decals and antique furniture. Located on quiet and stone throw from the beach and town. Staff 10x better than several London 5 Star hotels i have stayed at. To be honest for what the Marstan is, if its your taste of surroundings an absolute beauty. For me on the other hand not my kind of place not by the quality of people or decals. I felt a little let down by a few things mainly operative items but didn't spoil my trip at all, I found my room clammy with a little dampish feel, even with the windows open. An electric wall socket fan heater had to be used to help get rid of the steam generated by a low pressured electric shower and a noisy extractor fan that didn't help much. The size of the room was great and my partner I spent time in the room as well as out in town. Spending lots of time outdoors doing activities day and night romance meant waking up late to miss breakfast..but hey after a long day and night we wasn't prepared to wake up between 8-10am to have breakfast, that's life and down to us if we wanted breakfast indoors or outdoors. it was a bonus in way, as it meant we got to try late breakfast out in the town and tried different types of cafes and restaurants that are not as common in London.

Would we come to Torquay again ..YES!! even move here YES!!
To the same hotel ... maybe when getting there early and checking the appliances and room before unpacking.

Room Tip: Always turn up early to check in to make sure you don't end up with a shabby room that is the la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smoovee187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

I have spent a three fantastic nights at the Marstan, the location where we stayed was great with a wonderful atmosphere, not to forget the beach a couple minute away from the hotel (in car) was amazing and breathe taking away. I couldn’t fault the location where we stayed; there is so much to do and so much to see in this beautiful place. I almost felt I was in another country.

Although the only downfall, the Marstan hotel itself did not feel like a 5* hotel. The room where we stayed appeared to be a 3* instead and appeared to be extremely basic with old antique equipment. The room did not meet the standards I was expecting. The bathroom shower head was also another problem as there was hardly any water pressure when having a shower. The room also felt moist/ dampish/clammy a lot of the times, heating up the room was required on daily basis.

Other then that the hotel is extremely clean and the staff were extremely friendly especially Jim. The staffs were courteous and tried there best to make you feel comfortable and discussed the main attractions to visit. I would recommend anyone to view the main attractions, it is a must go and see!...

I would indeed be retuning back to this beautiful location during the summer period but would venture out to another hotel instead.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sh11n3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian1970, Owner at The Marstan, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
We thank this reviewer for their positive comments but would like to take the opportunity to address some issues.

Firstly we are rated under the guest accommodation scheme, it is important to understand that a five-star hotel would cost at least double the rates that we charge. When the guest refers to old antique equipment – they are absolutely right, the furniture in the room is antique (except obviously for the flatscreen television, bed and contemporary bathroom). It is frustrating that we would be marked down for this as we provide pictures on our website – we are a Victorian building and have refurbished the building in this style collecting antiques over the years and do not claim to be modern. We appreciate that this is not to everyone’s taste but why book?

With regards to the clamminess/damp in the room. During this guests visit to us they only made it to breakfast once, instead preferring to spend all day in their room, which of course we have no problem with – I believe these guests lived with their respective parents so naturally were enjoying their own space. Unfortunately it meant that the housekeeping staff could not access their room to clean it/change sheets/air it and so on for their entire three-day stay. This combined with a unusually cold weekend for May meant that when we did eventually get into the room it was indeed very stuffy. The windows had not been opened, the guests had eaten their dinners in the room and there was a lot of condensation in both bedroom and bathroom. It is important to us that we emphasise this point, as we do not have damp problems in the hotel, I can guarantee this to any prospective booker.

The shower in this room is electric, as with all electric showers the pressure is average but the previous non-electric shower in this room was far worse.

Again we thank this guest for their other positive comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Can't praise this bb enough .... They even booked the resturants for us ...the place was spotless and nothing was to much trouble

Room Tip: All nice but premier is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LbrLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012

We spent three fantastic nights at the Marstan, and it was absolutely faultless. The welcome was warm, the room we had was comfortable and tastefully decorated, with a great little bathroom. The weather didn't faze us, and the hotel's location is great for walks in and around Torquay. It didn't put us off the hot tub either, which was sublime.
Special mention must be made of the breakfasts, which were spectacularly tasty - I can highly recommend the stack of pancakes!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nj1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

We recently spent 3 nights at the Marstan with some of our friends. It was the fifth time my husband and I have stayed there and once again we were so pleased we did. Ian and Craig know how to make their guests feel welcome from the minute they walk in the door. Tea or coffee is provided along with a chat and luggage is transported to your room while you sit in the lounge overlooking the pool, hot tub and garden.

One of our friends hadn't stayed there before and she was particularly impressed with the breakfasts which are always impressive. My husband and I really enjoyed one of the new additions to the breakfast menu which was pancakes with maple syrup and bananas, which were delicious. It was nice to see Jean again serving us at breakfast; she always seems to know when you need additional coffee, tea or toast before you do and is very knowledgeable about the local area.

We like to have a drink in the bar before going out for dinner and Ian and Craig always ensure that everyone is included in the conversation. They are happy to make suggestions for places to eat and encourage feedback regarding how you found local restaurants, bars and attractions.

We love the location as it is near to Meadfoot beach if you turn right out of the Marstan or if you turn left and head down the hill to the harbour there are restaurants and shops by the clock tower. The round robin trips, Kent's Cavern and Sharpham Vineyard near Totnes were attractions we enjoyed visiting this time round. Further along just past the newly renovated rock gardens an 18 hole adventure golf course with lagoons to trap poorly hit balls was also a good laugh despite the sudden rainfall when we were there.

We would thoroughly recommend the Marstan as a great place to stay in Torquay and one of the friendliest and relaxed places we have ever stayed.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZacAbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,523 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#2 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#7 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cary Court Hotel
Cary Court Hotel
#3 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#9 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marstan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marstan

Property: The Marstan
Address: Meadfoot Sea Road, Torquay TQ1 2LQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Torquay
#3 Family Hotel in Torquay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marstan 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marstan Hotel is an elegant mid-Victorian Villa peacefully located along Meadfoot Sea Road in a conservation area. The harbour and town are approximately ten minutes walk with the blue flag awarded Meadfoot Beach and its stunning views being less than five minutes on foot. An extensive refurbishment program saw The Marstan achieve a five-star guesthouse rating in 2007. In keeping with the period of the building, the hotel is traditionally furnished with antiques complemented with modern amenities such as contemporary bathrooms, flat screen televisions, wifi and ipod docking stations. The Marstan is the only five star guesthouse in Torquay to benefit from a combination of an outdoor swimming pool, hot tub and a licensed bar. The owners and staff endeavor to provide an attentive and personal service without being intrusive, with the aim of creating a luxury boutique hotel ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Marstan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marstan Hotel Torquay
Marstan Hotel Torquay
Marstan Boutique Hotel Torquay
The Marstan Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing