We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our short stay at The Marstan, Torquay”
Review of The Marstan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Marstan
Ranked #3 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our short stay at The Marstan, Torquay”
Reviewed September 25, 2011

The owners of The Marstan were extremely welcoming and pleasant and nothing was too much trouble. The design of the hotel was classy and authentic to the age of the building and the room was comfortable and spotless and very pleasant to stay in. The breakfast was good with plenty of extra tea and toast when requested and we would have no hesitation in returning there again. The only one fault we could find was that the carpark was too small, if you can class that as a fault. The hotel gave a warm and oldey worldley charm, well done.

Room Tip: Book the king size bedrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    61
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
60
360
16
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2011

This was our third visit to the Marstan and it was as enjoyable as ever. Ian and Craig are wonderful hosts and nothing is too much trouble for them. As soon as you walk into the Marstan you feel relaxed ,you are made to feel at home ,your dietary requirements are catered for and your room is spotlessly clean and comfortable. Breakfast is very relaxed , a varied choice and the service is excellent. If you want a relaxed holiday in a peaceful area of Torquay the Marstan is for you !

Room Tip: all rooms are good but the king siize room is particularly good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Forest
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

It’s always much more pleasurable to write a good review than one that falls short of expectations - but here we go….

We obviously don’t always agree with other reviewers (such as The St James and Albany Hotel in Paris, which we loved but many guests didn’t!) and I’m afraid we were disappointed with our stay at The Marstan, where the majority of reviewers are happy.

Ian’s greeting was very welcoming and the hotel itself was as expected. However, the room was rather less than impressive and smaller than we’d assumed from the website photos. We felt the room was tired and the curtain at one window was far too long and dragged on the floor but at another it finished about 15” above the windowsill. The pillows weren’t very fresh smelling and I’m glad I’d taken my pillow spray with me. The wardrobe had umpteen different types of hangers - plastic, wooden, metal - but they all seemed too long to fit sideways so every time you used one it banged against the back wall and probably irritated the neighbouring guests as much as it did us. We also felt the room was overpriced.

We were hoping that the breakfast would be the saving grace but, again, we were unimpressed. I accept that there was fresh fruit but not in a form that could be easily added to cereal and yoghurt like a fresh fruit salad – and the breakfast at Hallwood Farm Oast remains the gold standard against which to judge others.

I think the thing that saddened us most was that The Marstan has an AA 5 star rating, implying that you can do no better – and we think they can.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newforestpony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Friendly efficient welcome and service throughout. Hotel properly looked after and rooms well appointed. Minor leak in bathroom but otherwise all well. Very good breakfast. One night stopover much enjoyed. For dinner, the Orange Tree restaurant nearby is a a real hit.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muchtravelled2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Management very friendly and accommodating. Craig provided useful tips on local places to visit and dine out, thank you! Breakfasts were very good.

However:
The B&B itself is quite old (with beautiful character and amazing collection of furniture!)However it is in need of some renovations in the rooms, and they are not all the same quality. We had two rooms, ours was reasonably clean but had a terrible musty smell to it, the bed was not comfy and not sturdy, small TV on wall did not work. The bathroom while clean, was very dated and pink! The other room we used was very different, and looked like was (more recently well at least in past 5 years) had been renovated and had a flat screen TV.

As this B&B was highly rated we were somewhat disappointed with the overall quality of the hotel, as we previously stayed at a very nice B&B in Dartmouth and think our expectations were too high when we looked for similar quality!

Room Tip: Choose the king size room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian1970, Owner at The Marstan, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
We thank this guest for taking the time and trouble to write a review and for their broadly positive points.

The negative comments regarding the family room cause us some embarrassment but are sadly justifiable. This is the only bathroom in the hotel that we have not refurbished and whilst clean and in good working order is indeed a rather fetching 1980’s pink. The reason we have not done this is purely down to finances. All other bedrooms, bathrooms and public rooms have been completely refurbished and we have invested huge sums bringing a dilapidated seaside guesthouse to it’s current standard which in addition to the cosmetics includes major structural work, upgrading of fire protection systems and a new swimming pool.

For future guests considering making a reservation with us, this room and bathroom (the family room) will be totally renovated in November 2011 in time for Christmas and the next season (the builder is already booked). Despite the refurbishment we intend to freeze our prices on this room for 2012. The renovation will include a new television although the current old fashioned one does work we accept that it can be a little confusing to operate.

We hope that this addresses the main points of this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

What a find! Ian and Craig are a class act; helpful and hospitable in spades. Beautiful house. Considered kidnapping Craig to my breakfast forever.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hellie47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

we stayed for five nights, we were made to feel very welcome, good accommodation, excellent breakfasts, excellent recommendations for dinner and days out.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flyinggull78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,759 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
500 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#2 of 87 in Torquay
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
0.5 mi away
Cary Court Hotel
Cary Court Hotel
#6 of 87 in Torquay
503 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#11 of 87 in Torquay
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marstan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marstan

Property: The Marstan
Address: Meadfoot Sea Road, Torquay TQ1 2LQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#3 Business Hotel in Torquay
#3 Family Hotel in Torquay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marstan 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marstan Hotel is an elegant mid-Victorian Villa peacefully located along Meadfoot Sea Road in a conservation area. The harbour and town are approximately ten minutes walk with the blue flag awarded Meadfoot Beach and its stunning views being less than five minutes on foot. An extensive refurbishment program saw The Marstan achieve a five-star guesthouse rating in 2007. In keeping with the period of the building, the hotel is traditionally furnished with antiques complemented with modern amenities such as contemporary bathrooms, flat screen televisions, wifi and ipod docking stations. The Marstan is the only five star guesthouse in Torquay to benefit from a combination of an outdoor swimming pool, hot tub and a licensed bar. The owners and staff endeavor to provide an attentive and personal service without being intrusive, with the aim of creating a luxury boutique hotel ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Marstan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marstan Hotel Torquay
Marstan Hotel Torquay
Marstan Boutique Hotel Torquay
The Marstan Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing