We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless-A perfect advertisement to holiday in Torquay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kethla House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kethla House
Ranked #29 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
redditch worcs
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Faultless-A perfect advertisement to holiday in Torquay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2009

If you want a real holiday we would recommend staying at the kethla.Superb breakfasts Spotless room .Excellent hosts full of local knowledge. Great location two minutes to local pub fish & chips taxis newsagents etc. Five minutes to sea front & beach.Will definitely revisit in the very near future.We were treated like family rather than paying guests.Downside its not nearer to where we live.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colinb1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    14
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
42
89
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2008

What a lovely Bed and Breakfast! I have stayed at K'ethla House many times. Andy and Lisa made us very welcome and it felt like home from home. The position of K'ethla House is fantastic and there are awesome sea views as you walk down the road towards the beach and town centre. The rooms are really lovely. They are very clean, bright and have creature comforts - everything you need for a very pleasant stay. The food is great and was prepared to suit the needs of each guest. Andy and Lisa were extremely helpful and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this Bed and Breakfast to anyone. There is a lovely atmosphere to K'ethla House which is all down to the manner in which Andy and Lisa make their guests feel so welcome! Thank you for another enjoyable stay!

  • Liked — Fantastic welcome, cleanliness and presentation of the rooms and the food
  • Disliked — having to go home!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nat1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glos
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2008

Having stayed at the Kethla once before and knowing the position of it in Torquay we decided it would be nice to revisit it although we knew it was under new management. On arriving we felt as though we were not really welcombe. They were helpful in that we needed a groundfloor room which was clean and tidy. There were many small jobs that needed attention to make the stay better. The food, although edable was rather megre and the service was slow and poor. There is only car spaces for three cars and further parking is on roads in surrounding area. We were told to leave after spilling water in the room. Money was taken from my visa card without my consent, and we had to contact the police two weeks after this a letter arrived telling us it was for cleaning up the damage we caused. I will not be visiting this establishment again.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank hawkeye008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2007

A very warm welcome great with children - room bright, airey and clean. Beds were really comfortable & breakfast was good. Catered for children - my son had a 'boiled egg & saussage' which he thoroughly enjoyed!

Location is within walking distance to all amenities & beach.

Really enjoyed our stay - although not licensed can recommend the pub 50 yds from the hotel 'The Bull & Bush' - again nice and clean.

If we return to Torquay in the future we will definitely contact Andy & Lisa the owners of this hotel.

  • Liked — Location, rooms & being made welcome
  • Disliked — Leaving at the end of the holiday
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad_leeCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2007

We spent just one night in Torquay en route to southern Cornwall. Keth'la House fitted the bill very well - clean and fresh with friendly, welcoming hosts who made a point of addressing us by our first names. We had a small, but spotless room with all we needed for a night's stay. The optional vegetarian breakfast included meat-free sausages and bacon, which was a welcome change to just a standard breakfast minus the meat! Get there early if you can as there isn't enough parking space for all the guests - I had to dash off in the middle of breakfast to move my car from a yellow line as local parking regulations kick in at 8am (9am on Sundays).

  • Liked — Clean facilties & friendly hosts
  • Disliked — Parking somewhat difficult
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitty73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
Mariners Guest House
Mariners Guest House
#62 of 153 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harmony Guest House
Harmony Guest House
#28 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Chesterfield
The Chesterfield
#60 of 153 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Cleveland
The Cleveland
#8 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Norwood Guest House
The Norwood Guest House
#54 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.4 mi away
Burleigh House
Burleigh House
#26 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kethla House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kethla House

Property: Kethla House
Address: 33 Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kethla House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, LateRooms and Hotels.com so you can book your Kethla House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kethla House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing