We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”
Review of Kethla House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kethla House
Ranked #34 of 150 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights as a bit of a mini-break and were really happy we chose this B&B. Andy and Lisa were very welcoming, and made a point of remembering your name which I found really impressive. The room, although not huge, was very well appointed and had everything we needed - including a proper hairdryer - not one of those appalling ones that are screwed to the wall and about as powerful as a summer breeze! The room was spotless, the bed was comfy and a fan had also been provided in case the room became to warm. The breakfast in the morning was really good, and Andy managed to remember what everyone staying liked / disliked - not bad considering they were full! I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Ke'thla House, and if we find ourselves back in Torquay would more than happily stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 520Nita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    15
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
43
94
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
clevedon
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Recently stayed at the kethla for a birthday weekend,got a great welcome room was clean and well maintained,nothing was to much trouble for the owners,only 15 min walk to town and beach,had a nice meal in the bull and bush near to hotel.great value for money andy and Lisa deserve a lot of credit will def return soon

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iveandjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcester
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

It was our 10th wedding anniversary and lisa and andy were brilliant from start to finish.We arrived late thursday 9th may kept lisa and andy updated on our arrival,on calling lisa on thursday at 16.30 to arrange some flowers for my wife,she did not hesitate to get them for me which i was extremley grateful for.The room we stayed in had recently been reffurbished to a very high standard,the ensuite bathroom was to die for,breakfast very good selection,after a lovely day out on our anniversary,we returned to our room to find a bottle of wine and a card from lisa and andy which we thought was a lovely gesture.In all we stayed 4 nights and had a great time we will definatley return in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smithy2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lydney, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed for one night in late May in the family room. The hosts Lisa and Andy were extremely friendly and welcoming. The room was spotlessly clean, nicely decorated and very comfortable. Breakfast was perfect - good choice and cooked to order. The location was five mins walk from the beach and bars and there was free parking on site. We couldn't fault it. A very enjoyable stay. We would highly recommend it and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Andy and Lynn were perfect hosts at the great B and B in the centre of Torquay. They even saved a parking space for me and my wife so that we didn't have to walk far with our little girl. Place was spotless, quiet and breakfast was good, I'd definitely recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil_Hanvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnet, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed for two nights in mid may, i wished the weather was as warm as our reception, Andy and Lisa are very friendly and helpful, the room was very clean and fresh, we had breakfast which was really good (not cutting corners like most b&bs) if we could go regurely we wouldnt want people to know of this little gem, but as we live in London and work weekends its a struggle to get away a big thank you to Andy and Lisa, and to any one thinking of Torquay give this place a try We have two children who enjoyed it too.

Room Tip: Our room was was very good and those people that we spoke to all said that theres was the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inthesun09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milton keynes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Myself and my partner stayed for 2 nights , we were upgraded rooms as the hotel wasn't fully booked, this was a lovely surprise. Within 10 minutes of us being in the room my partner needed the toilet ( we had been driving for 4 hours) the door handle broke and my boyfriend was stuck !!! We tried for 10-15 minutes to pull/ push and open the door, in the end I had the embarrassing moment of going down and asking for some help to free my boyfriend!! Lisa and Andy were fantastic they managed to free my boyfriend- had to remove the whole handle!!! They were very apologetic but it was more funny than an inconvenience. We finally went out and enjoyed the weather and Torquay sites. When we returned we had a ice cold bottle of wine and a card apologising for the toilet incident - which was lovely but really not needed. But small touches like that really improve your experience. Breakfast was lovely and Andy remembered exactly what we wanted the following morning which was nice. The room was lovely, clean, and had the most comfortable bed!!! Overall the whole experience was fantastic. Great welcome, friendly , clean and in the heart of Torquay. Would recommend and stay again!
Sarah & Jay

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunlovers31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.0 mi away
Shirley Hotel
Shirley Hotel
#21 of 150 in Torquay
651 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Montana
The Montana
#23 of 150 in Torquay
110 reviews
0.3 mi away
Garway Lodge
Garway Lodge
#31 of 150 in Torquay
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mariners Guest House
Mariners Guest House
#68 of 150 in Torquay
109 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harmony Guest House
Harmony Guest House
#26 of 150 in Torquay
188 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Berburry
The Berburry
#29 of 150 in Torquay
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kethla House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kethla House

Property: Kethla House
Address: 33 Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kethla House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Kethla House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kethla House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing