We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheeky weekend away”
Review of Kethla House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kethla House
Ranked #33 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Just got back from a cheeky weekend away in Torquay and stayed at Ke'thla House B&B. Lisa and Andy are fantastic hosts and nothing is too much trouble for them. The rooms are very clean and nicely furnished with everything you would expect or want, the bed was very comphy. Breakfast each morning was excellent and pleanty to keep us going all day, with extra provided if we so wished. I mentioned I like Marmite and it appeared especally for me at breakfast the next day - magic! Lisa and Andy remembered everything we like and don't like/can't have and used our first names throughout which is a great touch. Looking forward to our next cheeky weekend away and wouldn't think of staying anywhere else from now on where we go to Torquay. I highly recommend this B&B to anyone wanting to visit Torquay. It is in a great location and if you don't fancy the walk back from the harbour then a taxi only cost us £5. Well done Lisa and Andy, fantastic place you have and long may you continue.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaHandChrisM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 172 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2013

This was my second short-stay at the wonderful Kethla house on Belgrave Road, Torquay with my family. The hosts are peerless when compared to other establishments I have stayed at throughout the UK, warm and friendly with kind-hearted helpfulness, they maintain the homely atmosphere that one craves when enjoying short English seaside breaks. Being a small B&B, I had to share a room with my brother out on the front of Kethla House (I should mention I am 18 years of age, and this is to be expected with most accommodation-providers) but we were still able to be in close-proximity to our parents. The breakfasts at Kethla house are top rate. A wide range of cereals and fruit to accompany the choice of a hearty full-English, or the more continental option are available. The beds are comfortable, the rooms spacious and immaculately clean, the placement of the B&B in a walkable distance to the bustling Torquay town centre shops or the beach.
Thank you Andy and Lisa for another great stay!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpiderFromMars94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

we stayed at kethla house in september for our 25th wedding anniversary, we found andy and lisa extremly wlelcoming and friendly , i am wheat intolerant and lisa provided me with lovely gluten free sausages and wheat free bread. the breakfast were superb and nothing was too much trouble for either of them. the room was very clean and well furnished , this b and b is only five minutes from the beach and would recomend to anyone . my husband and i both felt it was the best ever b and b we have stayed in and we will definitly go back

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

FAWLTY TOWERS LIVES ON!.................
But not here. ……….We stayed at the KE`THLA guest house in Torquay for eight nights in Sept . From our initial wonderful welcome from Lisa and Andy to our last breakfast and our reluctant departure everything was just as it should be. Our room was immaculately prepared and was serviced to the same high standard each day. Breakfasts were brilliant, with a choice of drinks available, and our hosts were prepared to offer less well known alternatives to suit the individual. The attention to detail, their willingness and enthusiasm to help was a master class in guest satisfaction. In the virtual world we live in it is possible to almost visit a place without actually going, what you cannot see or assess is the happy factor and this guest house had it in bucket loads. The measure of a place like this is, would you recommend it to your best friends? Would you go back? A very big yes to both.
A quick scan through the visitor book will confirm our opinion.
Thank you Andy and Lisa for playing a big part in the success of our holiday.

Room Tip: If you are used to a quieter location request a room at the rear of the guest house, I can`t remembe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorris3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at kethla house, it was a well run b&b excellently located to explore Torquay. The breakfasts were very nice and the rooms were lovely and clean. The reports on here about bad experiences at kethla do not seem founded as Lisa clearly explains (and there are signs up) about any peculiarities about the plumbing and not bringing back hot food, all of which are nothing which you wouldn't expect to do in your own home. This was a very good b&b which I would recommend.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Louise_hilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Exellent clean B&B with brilliant family room. Hosts Andy & Lisa very warm and welcoming as was the lovely room we stayed in. Lots of information available about the local area at the B&B and Lisa & Andy very knowledgable too. Breakfast was excellent. Fab base both for local trips or venturing further afield. Would definitely recommend and hoping to return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FunkyDiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We have spent many years holidaying around Torbay, the last five years spending time at Kethla House. Just arrived home after spending ten days there. The reasons we go back every year are as follows, Lisa and Andy are fantastic hosts, welcoming, understanding,helpful and always willing to listen.
The breakfasts are great, the bedrooms are bright, neat , very clean with lovely showers.
The many positive reports I have read are well deserved.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
Mariners Guest House
Mariners Guest House
#65 of 149 in Torquay
119 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Chesterfield
The Chesterfield
#67 of 149 in Torquay
155 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harmony Bed and Breakfast
Harmony Bed and Breakfast
#24 of 149 in Torquay
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Avron House
Avron House
#26 of 149 in Torquay
216 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,079 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#31 of 85 in Torquay
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kethla House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kethla House

Address: 33 Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: $75 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kethla House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kethla House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kethla House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing