We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful bed and breakfast set back in a leafy lane whilst just a two minute walk from the coast”
Review of The Charterhouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Charterhouse
Ranked #5 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2010

My partner and two very young children have just returned from The Charterhouse. Les and Marion were so charming. We were made to feel right at home from the second we parked up (literally - as Marion came and met us in the drive as soon as we arrived!). We were delighted with the room (no. 9) as it led directly on to the patio which leads on to the garden. This was fantastic for us, for it meant my partner and I could sit out on the patio in the evening whilst the children were asleep - you can't do that in most hotels and keep your room in sight. Breakfasts were great, organic sausages and free range (I think) eggs along with all the trimmings - tomatoes, breads, cereals etc. Room was very clean and had just been refurbished. Location is wonderful, three minute drive to Torquay Harbour and five minute drive to Paignton beaches. Marion made us all feel 'part of the family' and we would have no hesitation in recommending The Charterhouse to any of our friends.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marcmillar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (813)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

672 - 678 of 813 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2010

It was our first visit to The Charterhouse and after reading all the reviews we were not disappointed.
Marion & Les are very welcoming and help in anyway they can- be it looking up train times to booking taxi's. They had a good knowledge of the local area which was invaluable when it came to eating out.
The rooms were tastefully furnished and spotlessly clean.
Evenings were very quiet as guests tended to turn in early. There was minimal noice from the road and railway.
Marion & Les are building their business on good old fashioned value and service- how wonderfully refreshing.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2010

We had a lovely stay in a clean hotel within walking distance of Cockington village. The hosts, Marion and Les, were friendly and welcoming to us and our two cocker spaniel dogs. The breakfast was huge and the dogs enjoyed their sausage for breakfast each morning! We would highly recommend this hotel and will return in the future for another enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebbieandJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2010

We have just arrived back home after our 3rd visit to the Charterhouse having had yet another wonderful stay. Marion and Les are so accommodating and such obliging hosts nothing is too much trouble. Already looking forward to visiting again next summer.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeicestershireRufus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2010

My Father and I had yet another wonderful stay at the Charterhouse Hotel in Cockington Lane this year. Each year Marion & Les work hard to make the hotel even better than the year before, newly decorated rooms, work in the gardens and wonderful breakfasts, catering endlessly for specail requests of any guest and much appreciated. The welcome is like going home to an extended family or friends. Because this wonderful little hotel seems to be getting booked up early we made sure we booked for 2011 before we left after a truly wonderful holiday. Thank you so much Marion & Les, see you June 2011.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TulipLily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2010

I don't normally bother to write a review, but this lovely hotel deserves all the praise possible, we stayed for a few days and found the hotel to be a little gem all the reviews I had read were very true.
Marrion and Les go out of thier way to make you welcome and nothing is too much trouble, the lovley Marrion will give you loads of local information.
The breakfasts are mega, you WILL put on weight while staying here if you manage to eat all on offer.
The gardens are lovely so is the pool although we didn't use it during our stay, Cockington Village is a short walk away, with craft shops and park.
We hope to return again soon just like many of their other returning guests. Well done Marrion and Les, don't change a thing.
Carol & Martin

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank jessieMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2010

We stayed with my elderly parents-in-law and two boys aged 9 and 11 for 3 nights and were very impressed with the Charterhouse. Marion and Les are very good hosts and could not do more for my elderly parents-in-law whilst also making my active boys feel very welcome. They loved the pool and the garden. We had two family suites. The family suite we had on the top floor was perfect and I was particularly impressed with the cleanliness of the hotel and the quality of the beddings and towels. The breakfast was excellent every morning. I can highly recommend this hotel and will be returning. Thank you.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redevilCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,235 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Somerville
The Somerville
#4 of 149 in Torquay
1,126 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Redholme B&B
The Redholme B&B
#3 of 149 in Torquay
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 149 in Torquay
306 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Cleveland
The Cleveland
#6 of 149 in Torquay
393 reviews
0.8 mi away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 149 in Torquay
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charterhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charterhouse

Address: Cockington Lane, Torquay TQ2 6QT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: $75 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Charterhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run B&B with a warm welcome and delicious breakfasts. Just a short stroll from Country Park, Thatched Village and Beach. Available for short breaks or longer stays. Please ring for further information or visit our website. Within walking distance of Torquay. Large car park, beautiful gardens and in quiet location. Free wifi throughout and small heated outdoor swimming pool open in the summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Charterhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charterhouse Hotel Torquay
The Charterhouse Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing