We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing - lived up to our every expectation.”
Review of The Charterhouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Charterhouse
Ranked #7 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 30, 2010

What an amazing place to stay. Marion and Les were very welcoming and helpful. We were greeted personally, and given a pot of tea and biscuits in the lounge. Les showed us some information they had collected of local places to visit and restaurants to eat in. For breakfast, I had a veggie breakfast made for me, and they were very helpful with my dietary needs. Our room was lovely - clean, large, very quiet, and very homely. When we had a problem with our kettle, they were more than happy to help out, and provided another kettle almost instantly. We stayed for 2 nights and has our room cleaned during our stay.

Overall, the Charterhouse is more than step above other small b&b's/hotel, and made special by Marion and Les.

I am planning on returning to visit here. It was every bit as good as we hoped for our relaxing weekend away - and more!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stubeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (800)
There are newer reviews for The Charterhouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

684 - 690 of 800 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2010

The welcome at the Charterhouse is second to none. Marion & Les go out of their way to make sure your stay is the best it can be. The rooms are excellent, tastefully done and extremely clean. Lots of little thoughtful touches are added to make your stay special. The house is so well situated so much to see ans do, take a ride in horse and carriage around Cockington village and through the park, it was wonderful. We have already booked to return.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leachar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2010

I read previous reports on this hotel and I must say I was a little dubious. So many praiseworthy comments, could they all be true. Well have no fear reader. This hotel is as good as the reports. We have never stayed in such a friendly hotel. Marion was there to greet us and made us feel very welcome. We were the only guests staying for the short break we booked and although we had her undivided attention, I would be very happy to visit at the busiest time of the season and know we would receive the same care and attention.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2010

We happened upon Charterhouse completely by chance and spent our stay marvelling at how lucky we had been. Marion and Les made us feel most welcome and were very helpful in suggesting possible outings and supplying directions.

The family suite was smartly decorated, cosy and comfortable. The selection and quality of food on offer at breakfast was very good and a lot better than we've had in large hotels.

Conveniently located and tucked away in a quiet leafy corner of Torquay, it is simply one of best guest houses we have stayed in. If we visit the area again, we wouldn't want to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lois15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2009

My partner and I took a weekend break in Torquay and were lucky enough to stay here. We were made to feel exceptionally welcome right from the start, were given lots of great recommendations for things to do and places to see, and the breakfast was absolutely fantastic! We had such a good time, we're looking forward to going back again!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluelightsolutions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2009

Superb Friendly Family run Hotel in Cockington ...between Paignton and Torquay ..very warm welcome on arrival and the rooms are very clean, very comfortable ,spacious and recently refurbished.. Lovely big shower !!
Tea and coffee making facilities available in the rooms , and the finishing touch is a small bar of chocolate hidden in your towel !
Excellent Full English Breakfast - not to be missed....sets you up for the whole day...
The Hotel is in walking distance of the Beach and Cockington Country Park...
Would recommend this Hotel to everyone !!!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sidnac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2009

Love this b+b.
Pot of tea on arrival,lovely.
Dog lovers,friendly,lovely food,clean and tidy.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nilsson_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,954 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 87 in Torquay
2,430 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#5 of 87 in Torquay
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 149 in Torquay
290 reviews
1.2 mi away
Haytor Hotel
Haytor Hotel
#6 of 87 in Torquay
1,066 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Marstan
The Marstan
#2 of 87 in Torquay
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charterhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charterhouse

Address: Cockington Lane, Torquay TQ2 6QT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: $83 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Charterhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run B&B with a warm welcome and delicious breakfasts. Just a short stroll from Country Park, Thatched Village and Beach. Available for short breaks or longer stays. Please ring for further information or visit our website. Within walking distance of Torquay. Large car park, beautiful gardens and in quiet location. Free wifi throughout and small heated outdoor swimming pool open in the summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Charterhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charterhouse Hotel Torquay
The Charterhouse Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing