We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great find.”
Review of The Charterhouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Charterhouse
Ranked #5 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2009

We have just been to the charterhouse hotel for a short break and what a great find.The hotel is in a good location within walking distance of town and all its restaurants and attractions.The owners are very friendly and on our arrival made us feel welcome straight away.The hotel has a lovely home from home feel and is very quiet and relaxing. We both enjoyed a lovely home cooked breakfast made with tasty local produce with lots of choice. We would recommend anyone to give this hotel a try - you will not be disappointed. Thanks Marion and Les for your kindness and hospitality we would love to come back next year.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matthew92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (813)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

710 - 716 of 813 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2009

With friends we visited the Charterhouse in September 2009, chosen because it was number 1 in visitors recommendations. It was not our original choice.
The pluses are the welcome, very warming, but personally a little too welcoming, it clearly suits many as evidence by guests cards of thanks.
The rooms are adequate, nothing special, and maintaining an Edwardian house with its inherant design problems, is not easy, and therefore the decor certainly requires upgrading.
We had rooms 1 & 3, Room 1 being in the undercroft of the house and stepping out onto the garden, it was small and rather dark, adjacent to the kitchen, adequate, but would not suit some. Room 3 was on the ground floor, a large room, again adequate, but lacked sparkle, needed decorating, as did the shower room.
Outside the garden apart from the lawn area, was somewhat overgrowm, not an easy site to maintain however, due to a heavy slope. The swimming pool is really a childrens paddling pool, I planned swimming but soon realised it was impossible.
The location is quiet, but a taxi, or bus ride into Torquay is needed, a town that the ladies in our foursome considered very disappointing.
Finally, and without any doubts is the breakfast. For a B&B it is without question exceeds many that I have enjoyed. I have had breakfast in many hotels, in many countries, and the options that Charterhouse offers is without doubt, exceptional, and this is the probable reason for the number of guests who return.
Regretable, however it would not be mine, but the proprietors work very hard at their business, and I trust it all works for them.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clementMonmouthshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2009

All that is said about the hospitality and welcome from Marion and Les we totally endorse. The breakfasts cannot be beaten - Les... what a cook!
Marion is for ever on the go to ensure every thing is available that you could want as a guest - she never stops! Amazing hosts and very well upkept and spotless property.
Our only slight downside was that the bedroom was small as a double, but we did book fairly late; we know from talking to Marion that they have plans to improve this, even though this room had the most fantastic views of the coast - even from the bathroom!
We looked into some other rooms when their guests had left and we really but book earlier if we are down that way again.
WELL RECOMMENDED!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ARGENT126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2009

Marion and Les make you feel like family from the moment you walk in the door. The rooms were extremely comfortable and bright. Les adds his expertise to every breakfast, especially his home made bread and marmalade. Marion's bubbly personality and charm makes you feel so welcome. The Charterhouse is charming and quiet and just one block off the main road.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrayHairedLady82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2009

Having read the reviews we had no concerns about this hotel and we were right not to. Excellent Hotel run by genuinely nice, caring people. When we stay in Torquay again I do not intend to waste my time looking at other hotels. The hotel is clearly no.1 for a reason. We had a great time at the Charterhouse. Thank you Al and Joanne

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlNic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2009

Marion and Les Ward (hosts/owners) are two of the nicest, most accommodating, thoughtful people you will ever meet. Because of their genuine enthusiasm for this spacious property, and the guests who make their way here, you will feel like you are staying with good friends.

Our double room (15) done up in natural earth tones, had plenty of natural light and fresh air; a comfortable king size bed; a large shower (low water pressure) ample wardrobe and storage space for two. Everything in the room was in excellent repair.

The pretty garden and two charming terriers (Toffee and Phoebe) add to the homey feel of this welcoming place. Big, buffet style breakfast offered every morning. Weather permitting, best enjoyed in the garden.

Was not able to connect to wi-fi during two night stay. The Ward’s were responsive to this issue, but neither of us could figure out what the problem was. If you don't absolutely need your computer, you will be happy here.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarshaCoupe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2009

Having read all the other reviews we had high expectations and we were not disappointed. Marion and Les made us very welcome and were very keen that we had everything we needed. Great breakfast,as every one has said...especially Les' homemade marmalade!
We had a newly refurbished room which was lovely.
Parking was no problem and the free WiFi was very useful

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark8jagman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,186 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 149 in Torquay
304 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Somerville
The Somerville
#4 of 149 in Torquay
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Redholme B&B
The Redholme B&B
#3 of 149 in Torquay
526 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Cleveland
The Cleveland
#6 of 149 in Torquay
390 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kings Lodge
Kings Lodge
#7 of 149 in Torquay
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charterhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charterhouse

Address: Cockington Lane, Torquay TQ2 6QT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: $73 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Charterhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run B&B with a warm welcome and delicious breakfasts. Just a short stroll from Country Park, Thatched Village and Beach. Available for short breaks or longer stays. Please ring for further information or visit our website. Within walking distance of Torquay. Large car park, beautiful gardens and in quiet location. Free wifi throughout and small heated outdoor swimming pool open in the summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Charterhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charterhouse Hotel Torquay
The Charterhouse Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing