We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An truly exceptional hotel”
Review of The Charterhouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Charterhouse
Ranked #5 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Well this is the 5th consecutive year that we have been to this wonderful small hotel, again staying for a week in our favourite room the Riviera Suite. For those of you who have been there already, we are preaching to the converted but for those of you who are contemplating a first visit don't hesitate even for one moment. All the positive reviews you can read on this site really do accurately portray this brilliant hotel....... no one is exaggerating!

The Charterhouse is spotlessly clean throughout, the bedrooms are so comfortable the guests lounge is very relaxing and the breakfast is just awesome, all the food is locally sourced and is complimented by Les's delicious home made breads and marmalades.

Marion and Les have made many improvements to the hotel itself over the years the latest being a complete repainting of the outside, it looks fantastic. However it is the couple inside the four walls who really make the difference. Marion and Les work so very hard to make guests'
visits memorable from the moment they arrive to the time they leave, nothing is too much trouble for them. They are amazing hosts very user friendly and helpful and richly deserve all the accolades and we thoroughly recommend this splendid hotel. We are already looking forward to returning once more in 2014.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ecclescakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (812)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

382 - 388 of 812 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2013

Having stayed here a year ago and had a great time we decided to head back for a weekend break. They're clearly still working hard on the refurb (I'd imagine that it's probably a never ending process with the wear and tear of a b&b) and recently had the exterior of the property repainted. We were in the downstairs garden room which had it's own external door that was great for ease of access. The bed was firm but comfortable and the en-suite was very clean with a good size shower.

The breakfast was just as awesome as we remembered and you can definitely fill yourself up for the day. The cooked options were all very tasty, and the homemade breads and jams top notch and the hosts were their usual friendly and helpful selves (despite suffering from colds).

All in all a lovely stay again, and very good value, so I'm sure we'll be back again soon!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TWH_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This was our first visit to The Charterhouse and both loved it. Marion and Les made us feel so wecome. Charterhouse is a short walk from Torquay, with comfortable and clean ensuites with sea views. Breakfast was also great! Would very much recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olivia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This was our second visit to The Charterhouse, and will not be our last. The accommodation is of the highest standard, the breakfast to perfection and Marion and Les are both outstanding hosts. You are really close by to Cockington Village which is adorable. You are a short drive from Paignton, and only around 15 minutes walk away from Torquay town, which after the fantastic breakfast, you welcome the leisurely walk along the beach. The Charterhouse is a place not to be missed, and guaranteed that after your first visit you will return. Well done Marion and Les for getting it 'spot on'.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor, which gave us a view of the garden and the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Can we move in please?
This was our 5th visit to the Charterhouse ( 15th-22nd July) and will definately not be our last. Marion and Les have become friends so going back each time is like visiting old friends! We stayed in the Riveria suite and you couldnt wish for a more comfortable, relaxing room- it has everything you need and more- with a gorgeous en-suite complete with a bath large enough to swim in!! The room was immaculately clean, very well presented and had beautiful views of the tropical garden and the sea.
The breakfast was the best we have ever had and the choice was endless- (no good if your trying to diet!!!!- although even then you would be catered for!) There was everything from fresh fruit salad, every cereal you could name, fruit juices, freshly cooked homemade bread, james and marmalade, to yoghurts, muffins, croissants and their amazing cooked breakfasts. If there wasnt anything to take your fancy Marion or Les would cater for your choice. Marion and Les are both lovely, warm, friendly people who are a joy to be around and will do whatever it takes to make your holiday the best it can be. Their hotel is 5 mins walk from the sea front and a slightly longer walk to the village of Cockington-which is 3/4 mile up the road-well worth a visit. Torquay town is about 20 or so minutes, so you get the best of both worlds- quiet yet not too far away from everything. The Drum inn in Cockington also serve lovely food if you fancy a walk in the evening and the staff are very welcoming. If you visit Torquay, the only place to stay would be the Charterhouse- and see for yourself why everyone raves about it!- Its the best place we have stayed in and we have been visiting Devon & Cornwall for 24 years! Thank you Marion & Les for all you do and making the charterhouse such a wonderful place to visit. xx

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent- the riveria suite has loads of room with a huge bath and mood lighting!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neilbevkma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We were going to a Wedding at the Grand Hotel so wanted a hotel within walking distance, so after reading the reviews on the Charterhouse we gave it a go, we couldn't of been more pleased from the moment we arrived we felt so comfortable Marion and Les were the perfect hosts, they couldn't do enough to make you welcome, Marion explained with a map where places of interest were and where you could get the perfect Devon cream tea. The house was spotless and the breakfast was stocked like a supermarket, everything was there and Les made a variety of breads yum so tasty. The house was in an elevated position, and looked beautiful it was surrounded by lush gardens and a small swimming pool. Just up the road was Cockerton Manor which has beautiful houses and a craft centre. We have only just come back from Torquay and plan to go back to the Charterhouse as is possible. There was ample parking too, sorry to come home. It was such a peaceful spot no noise at all, no houses too near as the gardens around are large.

Room Tip: There are a choice of rooms so one should suit your needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vonnie12333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Peter & Val stayed at Charterhouse in mid August 2013. This is a brilliant venue. Marion the proprietor was a wonderful host, it felt like staying at a friends.
The breakfasts were 1st class and even home made breads and condiments were supplied. There was more than ample parking with a costal bus route nearby. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,121 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 149 in Torquay
303 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Redholme B&B
The Redholme B&B
#3 of 149 in Torquay
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kings Lodge
Kings Lodge
#7 of 149 in Torquay
430 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Somerville
The Somerville
#4 of 149 in Torquay
1,116 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Cleveland
The Cleveland
#6 of 149 in Torquay
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charterhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charterhouse

Address: Cockington Lane, Torquay TQ2 6QT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: $71 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Charterhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run B&B with a warm welcome and delicious breakfasts. Just a short stroll from Country Park, Thatched Village and Beach. Available for short breaks or longer stays. Please ring for further information or visit our website. Within walking distance of Torquay. Large car park, beautiful gardens and in quiet location. Free wifi throughout and small heated outdoor swimming pool open in the summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Charterhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charterhouse Hotel Torquay
The Charterhouse Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing