We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of The Charterhouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Charterhouse
Ranked #7 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Warton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights with my partner. Cant really fault this place. Excellent! Really friendly owners with high standards and really nice location. Pool was great!

Rooms are very clean, towels soft and large. Everything is comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    732
    35
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
222
448
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westerham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed at The Charterhouse with friends for New Years Eve 2012/13. What a great time we had! Lovely food. Friendly and welcoming hosts, lovely clean rooms with tea-making facilities and a great location - very close to beaches, walks and good pubs. Les and Marion made us so welcome. We will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Some of the higher rooms have great sea views. The garden rooms are suitable for people with a dog a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
136 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband and I were looking for a break in between entertaining family over Christmas and back to work; came across the Charterhouse by chance and discovered they were doing a New Year break. As with all the other reviews the magic of this place is Marion and Les-they must be the best B & B owners around! They are faultless in their hospitality and genuinely seem to want to please-others take note please! We had a lovely room clean and well appointed room ( a slight quibble might be that the bathroom is a tad cold and a heated towel rail might help to get towels dry in winter). I loved the fact that the sheets were cotton and the towels large and soft! Les couldn't have been more helpful in telling us where to go on a very rainy New Years' Eve. Lots to do in the area though Torquay town isn't that great.That evening though they surpassed themselves in entertaining 12 very different people in their dining room where we had a lovely meal and drinks and saw in 2013. Their hosting skills were second to none. We also had a fun night getting to know one another; next morning scrambled eggs with salmon and of course the famous bread! We will return at some point and will highly recommend the hotel to friends and family.Gold stars all round!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonLal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Stayed here for three nights with my partner back in September and had the best stay ever!

It was a last minute booking and when we turned up Marion and Les offered us some tea and explained we had been upgraded as they were quiet that weekend. We had the top room in the house (includes seperate kids room) and this has a fabulous view across to the sea and Torquay.

The room was super peaceful and perfect size for two. It was a nicely decorated en suite and included some nice little snacks and biscuit bits along with TV.

Marion and Les were incredible and from the moment we arrived made us feel very welcome. They asked if we knew the area and what we were looking to do and made recommendations accordingly. (Angels tea house is worth the visit for sure). They were up to speed on what was happening in the area too.

We had never stayed in a B&B before so weren't planning to head down for breakfast but Marion advised the times and said we were welcome to. We ended up being tempted down by the smell of it and it was very worthwhile. On the lower floor is the breakfast room where a massive range of awesome food was served.

Was a number of choices of full English breakfast or cereals and juices and also amazing home-made breads and jams (made by Les). The food was spectacular and we made sure we made it down every day.

The location itself is slightly out of the centre of Torquay but I think this is part of the charm, we didn't want to be in the very centre and it was a nice walk along the beach to get to the centre.
It is located on a quiet little lane and is still very accessible with off road parking and nice garden and pool in the grounds.

All in all we couldn't have asked for a better stay and would always recommend the Charterhouse to stay.

We are hoping to return very soon!

Any questions please ask!

Room Tip: Top floor room has view of sea and en suite with a seperate room for kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saz1241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Our Family stayed with Marion and Les for a long weekend at the end of July 2012. We stayed in one of the Garden rooms and had a fantastic time. We have 3 children and the room was big enough for all. The kids loved the pool and garden and the breakfasts are a great treat. The Charter house is a perfect place to stay to go on to explore the area. Hats off to Marion and Les for keeping such a high standard, welcoming and friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Just got back from a three night stay and we have to reflect the positives from previous reviews - it was everything we had hoped and then a little more.
A very warm welcome, tea & biscuits and some local info, and we knew we had come to the right place. Ours was only a smallish room, but it is only for sleeping in so was more than adequate, and it was spotless with all the facilities you would expect, including the delightful touch of a bar of chocolate on the bed. Yes, it is not the most modern place in the world, but if you want that, Torquay is not for you - it's a quintessential english sea resort, and we loved it, and over modernising the hotel would spoil it.
As everyone has said the breakfast is fantastic, as much as you can eat and of superb quality, and the finishing touch of fresh cooked bread every morning & home made jams is to die for.
My wife usually struggles to sleep well when we go away, but not here. Very good bed so a good sleep, and I find it incredible someone coplained of noise - could only have been their partner snoring!
We found it was about a 30 minute pleasant walk to the centre of Torquay, which we did several times, but from a bus at the end of the road you can get a dayrover ticket which means you can flit around as much as you like.
Whilst there, you must try the fish restaurants. We tried Man Fridays & Fish No 7 and both were absolutely amazing, again recommendations from Marion.
A fantastic stay, courtesy of two of the nicest hosts you are ever likely to meet .... lovely!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TimboTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed at The Charterhouse for a short break in mid October. We had a fantastic few days. We were welcomed by Marion with a very welcome pot of tea and biscuits when we arrived, from that moment we had a perfect stay - even the weather was good!
We stayed in the Riviera room .. it's a large room with a lovely bathroom,the mood lighting was really relaxing, there was lots of tea and coffee etc .supplied,and the little fridge was a nice touch.
Breakfast was excellent, freshly cooked, and lots of choice, the additional luxury was home made bread,and Jams from Les you just couldn't ask for more.
What more can we say, Marion and Les made us feel like part of the family,we really hope to be returning very soon. Thank you for a great break.
Julie & Dave

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieandDave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,754 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,280 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 149 in Torquay
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Redholme
The Redholme
#3 of 149 in Torquay
463 reviews
0.8 mi away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 149 in Torquay
304 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kingsholm Hotel
Kingsholm Hotel
#8 of 149 in Torquay
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charterhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charterhouse

Property: The Charterhouse
Address: Cockington Lane, Torquay TQ2 6QT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Charterhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run B&B with a warm welcome and delicious breakfasts. Just a short stroll from Country Park, Thatched Village and Beach. Available for short breaks or longer stays. Please ring for further information or visit our website. Within walking distance of Torquay. Large car park, beautiful gardens and in quiet location. Free wifi throughout and small heated outdoor swimming pool open in the summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Charterhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charterhouse Hotel Torquay
The Charterhouse Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing