We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Class of a Hotel with the Friendliness of a B&B”
Review of The Charterhouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Charterhouse
Ranked #8 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Class of a Hotel with the Friendliness of a B&B”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We stayed at the Charterhouse Hotel for one night in June 2012. On arrival Marion was made us feel so welcome - showing us to our room and then making us a delicious pot of coffee to enjoy in the lounge while she went through lots of helpful information about the local area. This really was a lovely touch and so nice to chill with a brew after our long journey.
The room was modern and clean. The bed comfy, the towels fluffy. I loved the little extra touches like the chocolate on the bed and the tea and coffee facilities included herbal tea and biscuits.
The following morning breakfast was served down stairs and everything was fresh and locally produced. My only complaint was that I wish we'd stayed for a week!
Charterhouse offers the comfort and class of a hotel with a lovely, friendly host! I would definitely return here and would recommend this hotel highly.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CharlotteJamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    752
    36
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
229
462
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Our third visit held no surprises other than the fabulous renovations which have been done! A great bed and breakfast which I highly recommend for anyone looking for something a bit more special than typical seaside B&B. Loved the extra touches with tea making facilities, toiletries and big white fluffy towels! Lovely rooms, comfortable beds, amazing breakfast. Marion and Les are great hosts, very helpful and knowledgable about events in the area and some great recommendations for evening dining. I won't stay anywhere else in Torquay, so peaceful and relaxing. the kids even got in the pool....on a cold June day! See you next year!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parsonsathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Marion and Les were so hospitable and patient with our two grandsons in spite of the rain and wind which made our three day stay difficult. Great breakfasts and spotless rooms and bathrooms. We would certainly recommend Charterhouse as a well run and welcoming B & B.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
2 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2012

A late honeymoon only 34yrs later and was'nt it worth waiting for. The hotels host's Les and Marion made us trualy welcome.our room a delux seaview kingsize was decorated beautifully like being at home but without having to do the housework everywhere clean, the lounge is very cosy and the breakfast was great Les make's the most wonderful marmalade -jams and chutney also fresh bread each morning, lovely cooked breaky all fresh produce locally sourced great! would i return oh! definetly can't wait. If you read this les and marion Thankyou once again. Shirley and Kelvin x

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shirley g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We were a family of 5 adults visiting England for the first time. Stayed at the Charterhouse and had a wonderful visit. The innkeepers Marion and Les made us at home. The rooms were spectacular with Hollywood bathrooms. The breakfasts were very hearty with eggs, bacon, grilled tomatoes, potatoes, cereal, fruit, etc etc. Marion went out of her way with each guest to make their stay memorable. Torquay was a delightful city with palm trees and hills dropping into crashing surf. We were a short drive from the spectacular Devon countryside --moors, hedgerows, seaside villages, car ferries. Be sure to make the Charterhouse your lodging while visiting spectacular Devonshire and Cornwall.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nottingkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobble Hill, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We picked Charterhouse based on reviews in Tripadvisor and were happy we did. Marion and Les were the perfect hosts - lots of advice on restaurants and things to do - and we loved the room we selected. We stayed in 4 B&B's over a week and this was by far the best and would gladly stay here again if we came back to Torquay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012 via mobile

Stayed Friday 1st June to Wednesday 6th June

Just returned from a relaxing 5 day break at The Charterhouse, we booked as a result of the reviews on Trip Advisor and in general were not disappointed.  The external areas of the hotel could do with some attention and the garden appears a little overgrown and untidy.  The hotel is well situated and Torquay centre is a short walk away, the local bus service stops at the  end of the lane and the pretty village of Cockington is a stroll away through the water meadows.  The hosts Marion and Les are really friendly, with Marion offering plenty of advice and tips on what to do or see in the local area.  Les produces a truly magnificent English breakfast with homemade bread, jam and chutneys.  Our room had not been refurbished but was lovely and clean with an adequate shower room, lovely towels, comfy beds and good in room facilities.  The TV was a little on the small side but I assume this will change when the room is refurbished, I did ask Marion to show me the Riveria Room which was lovely and now I know they also get bath robes I am just a little bit jealous, I know what to book next time!  Wi Fi available in every room. 

In summary, a pleasant B&B with caring hosts, which is well situated for a short break, worth a stay for the breakfast alone. 
A special thank you to Marion and Les, and we hope to see you again.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Verykeengolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#34 of 87 in Torquay
2,363 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,876 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#4 of 87 in Torquay
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 149 in Torquay
262 reviews
0.8 mi away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 149 in Torquay
338 reviews
1.2 mi away
Haytor Hotel
Haytor Hotel
#6 of 87 in Torquay
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charterhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charterhouse

Property: The Charterhouse
Address: Cockington Lane, Torquay TQ2 6QT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Charterhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run B&B with a warm welcome and delicious breakfasts. Just a short stroll from Country Park, Thatched Village and Beach. Available for short breaks or longer stays. Please ring for further information or visit our website. Within walking distance of Torquay. Large car park, beautiful gardens and in quiet location. Free wifi throughout and small heated outdoor swimming pool open in the summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Charterhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charterhouse Hotel Torquay
The Charterhouse Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing