We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”
Review of The Charterhouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Charterhouse
Ranked #8 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
Reviewed February 19, 2012

A lovely location and good value hotel with excellent breakfasts. Located at the "better end" of Torquay just 2 minutes walk from the sea front the hotel is in a quiet spot and is 10 minutes walk from the lovely thatched village of Cockington via the water meadows. The whole area is dog friendly with many of the cafes, pubs and inns accepting dogs. Lots of good walking in the vicinity - be prepared for a few hills! Marion and Les are particularly friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Dog friendly rooms (2) are on the ground floor and have exits directly into the garden area. Our roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJandGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    752
    36
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
229
462
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tarporley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

Stayed for two nights on the weekend of February 11th/12th in the Riviera Room. Received a really warm welcome from Marion and Les, as well as advice about worthwhile coastal walks.
The room was spacious, comfortable and tastefully furnished; the ensuite bathroom, with bath and shower - likewise. We had good views of Torquay and the sea from the dual aspect windows. Choices for breakfast were plentiful, and included freshly baked home made bread and home made marmalade and chutney. The cooked breakfast was delicious. Certainly somewhere we wil return to.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ned R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2012

our last visit was the fourth we have done and it never dissapoints.Well run, lovely and clean,pleasant service,,, a pleasure, we have already booked for next year.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Duncan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlington, Bedfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2012

We stayed for a week at the Charterhouse for the 4th consecutive year in 2011 on this occasion in the new Superior room. Each year it actually becomes more and more difficult about what to write because everything is just fantastic in every respect, the hotel is spotlessly clean throughout, the bedrooms are so well appointed, the cooked breakfast is to die for, but above everything the hospitality is just amazing, we have said this before but it just does not feel like a hotel at all. Les and Marion work really make you feel so welcome from the minute you walk in until the minute you leave, you feel like you are staying with friends or relatives (the ones you like that is !) We have just read that they have been awarded the No 1 Travellers Choice Best Hotel for 2012, this is an award that they so richly deserve. We are already looking forward to staying at this wonderful hotel once again in 2012.

Jenny & Phil Eccles

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ecclescakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

This was our 4th visit to Marion & Les's and as always Marion greeted us with a pot of tea and home made mince pies(it was the week before Christmas) look out Delia Smith you have competion.The garden room was ours as we have 2 four legged friends,laminated floor in case of muddy feet and a outside door which opens directly onto the patio also one directly into the hotel.Breakfast was as always fantastic and the choice of menu was never ending.Marion now makes her own bread "which complements" Les's homemake three fruit marmalade( sorry Les) all the rest of the produce is locally sourced.We had a great four days and were made to feel so very welcome as always, cannot wait for later in the year 2012 for our fifth and hopefully six visit.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

We recently spent 3 nights at the Charterhouse whilst visiting the area. Having spent countless nights in countless hotels around the world including some of the very best, we can honestly say we have never received such warm and genuine hospitality as we did from Marion & Les.

Room Tip: Choose the Riviera Suite if it's available, beautifully appointed and with a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ADN001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

Last week I stayed for two nights at this hotel.I hold a national role so therefore travel frquently alone.
This can sometimes be rather daunting, but The Charterhouse is the exception to the rule .
There was a lovely friendly greeting from Marion who showed me to a beautiful room with magnificent bay views from all three windows.
Breakfast cooked by Les ,Marions husband was the most delicious I have eaten in many years of travelling, all locally sourced produce.
After my meetings I returned to relax and feel at home,just wish Les would cook Dinner.
Absolutely lovely would go back tommorrow.
Kindest Regards
Junus

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Junus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 87 in Torquay
2,886 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#4 of 87 in Torquay
483 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#34 of 87 in Torquay
2,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 149 in Torquay
268 reviews
0.8 mi away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 149 in Torquay
340 reviews
1.2 mi away
Haytor Hotel
Haytor Hotel
#6 of 87 in Torquay
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charterhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charterhouse

Property: The Charterhouse
Address: Cockington Lane, Torquay TQ2 6QT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Charterhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run B&B with a warm welcome and delicious breakfasts. Just a short stroll from Country Park, Thatched Village and Beach. Available for short breaks or longer stays. Please ring for further information or visit our website. Within walking distance of Torquay. Large car park, beautiful gardens and in quiet location. Free wifi throughout and small heated outdoor swimming pool open in the summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Charterhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charterhouse Hotel Torquay
The Charterhouse Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing