We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but fun and lively!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Torquay Backpackers Hostel
Ranked #30 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Torquay
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

This hostel does what it says on the tin.. If people want incredible accommodation they've gotta pay for it. This is for the holiday goer on a budget & it's a great hostel.

It's lively and fun, staff are helpful & friendly and I loved hearing stories from fellow travellers.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClareyMcbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 110 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013

me and 13 friends stayed here for my stag weekend and everything here was spot on.the people who worked there were brilliant and hopeful.the rooms were clean and well worth the money.the hostel is 2-5mins walk down the hill (its not a steep hill).i would stay here again if i was to return to torquay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nibber1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I stayed at this hostel with a friend for a couple of nights and couldnt have asked for a better stay!! The hostel is in a great location with the beach just 5 minutes away!! :) Everyone was really nice and we had a good time hanging out with all the long timers there. But the best thing was how clean this place was!! The staff really do an exceptional job keeping the place tidy and clean. Keep it up guys!! Thanks again for a great stay!!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
Thank ealcoba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed here for 4 months Monday to Friday whilst working away from home. Well equipped and clean with the town centre really close by. Bus stop just outside is handy. I think its really busy at the weekeds but much quieter during the week. Well run place.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tricky157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

My friends and i stayed at this backpacker hostel for a girls weekend and we had so much fun, :D the hostel is in a perfect location with everything just down the road and has a nice home style feel to it with great communal areas and pool table. We met the long term stayers and staff including the owner who is just adorable with his irish accent and had a lot of fun with them before going out! Everything was super clean with plenty of bathrooms and a very reasonable price, will definitely stay here again and recommend it to everyone who would like a fun welcoming hostel to stay at in Torquay :)

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ritadluckie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This hostel was fairly cheap, but I just can't stand dirty linen. I was up all night scratching in sheets that smelt of what can only be described as the sweat of a thousand drunk men. This place is in a good location, and it should have been really good, but I just wish I spent a couple more pounds on something a little better.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanTwomey, Owner at Torquay Backpackers Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

What a bizarre review. Firstly let me clarify that ALL bed sheets, duvet covers and pillow cases are washed after every guest checks out. As we are at the beginning of our season we have replaced all last years bedding so the bed linen in question has only been used a handful of times. Also may I add that our bed sheets are navy and duvet covers and pillow cases are dark red so I fail to see how yellow stains can appear on them. The guest in question failed to mention that he had a 6 bed en suite dorm to himself for £17 so how we receive one star for value is beyond me. As I had personally checked the room before the guest checked in I can clarify that all the sheets had been cleaned and the room immaculate. Even in the unlikely event of there being a stain left after washing, I certainly couldn't see how it would effect a nights sleep, given the fact that there were 5 other beds in the room to choose from surely common sense would lead you to sleeping in a different bed. Also could I clarify that the guest could have got something much better for only a few pounds more, well if you could I would be very grateful if you could let me know where they are as most B & B's in our part of Torquay charge £60 - £80 per person per night, but you are not really comparing like with like as we are a backpackers not a B & B and we offer our guests completely different facilities. Overall I am disappointed that you didn't enjoy your stay with us, we have in the region of 3000 - 4000 people stay with us each year and in all the years we have been here had not once had somebody say the sheets that smelt of what can only be described as the sweat of a thousand drunk men.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Perfect location, anything you need (pubs, clubs, beach :)) is only 10min walking distance from the hostel. Very clean and comfortable. Great atmosphere! You can be sure that you will feel welcome even if you travel alone. Well equipped kitchen. Good facilities: pool table, TV lounge, free WiFi. If you are in Torquay, don't stay anywhere else! :)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zos885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Papillon
Le Papillon
#12 of 36 in Torquay
89 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,082 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#31 of 85 in Torquay
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Iona Torquay
The Iona Torquay
#57 of 149 in Torquay
284 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 85 in Torquay
2,498 reviews
0.5 mi away
Glenorleigh
Glenorleigh
#54 of 149 in Torquay
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torquay Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torquay Backpackers Hostel

Address: 119 Abbey Road, Torquay TQ2 5NP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Torquay
Price Range: $34 - $52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for its relaxed and friendly atmosphere, Torquay Backpackers truly is a ‘home from home’ and a place to make lifelong friends from all over the world. Housed in a listed Victorian terraced building, the hostel is centrally located in the beautiful seaside town of Torquay on the English Riviera. From the Hostel it is a short walk to the beach and harbour. With capacity to accommodate 48 people we welcome both groups and single travellers. We have dormitory accommodation ranging from 4 bed dorms (X4) 6 bed dorm (X1) 8 bed dorm (X1) and 12 bed dorm (X1). We also have a double room and a large family room which comprises of one double and two singles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Torquay Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torquay Backpackers Hostel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing