We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service and charm”
Review of The Palms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Palms Hotel
Ranked #27 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Service and charm”
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Placed within a two min walk from Torquay centre, this family hotel is packed with charm. You step into another decade. Nice, friendly staff. Breakfast served in a small room - with radio BBC2 ("only ch that doesn't offend anyone":) on..

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EivindLa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    39
    11
    0
    6
See reviews for
30
98
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

we just come back from there we had a good time .it was raining but then the sun come out .it we lush and your not far from the shops beach ect I would say its one of the best places we stayed .and we would go back again the room was very nice .too and the food was cooked nice and hot and as for Judith oh my good she nice lady and her hubby is to all ways had time to chat .and give you help were to go .thank you guys hope to see you again xxxxx

Room Tip: abit of hill bit keeps you fit ;]
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lesley k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I think that anyone giving this hotel a bad review must have something clearly wrong with them. My wife, Kimberly and I were greeted by our lovely hosts after a long drive from Scotland. We originally tried to book through laterooms.com but that proved more trouble than it was worth so we phoned the palms directly and were given £20 off straight away. As we were honeymooners our lovely hosts said that they would give us the 4 poster bedroom but it was booked on our first night but we could have it on nights 2 and 3. We were going to wait for the other guests to check out to move our bags but the owners wouldn't hear of it and said that our day should not be put on hold and to go out and enjoy ourselves and they would have the room ready and move our bags for when we return :-)
The breakfasts could beat any 5 star hotel I've stayed in and there is a huge choice on offer :-)
The bedrooms were outstanding and we stayed in 2 different rooms. The location of the hotel perfect only 2 minutes walk from the harbour/marina.
In short, The Palms Hotel is the ONLY place to stay in Torquay.
The owners even left a wee wedding card for us in our room one day :-)
Thank you for a lovely honeymoon

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kevinfinlayson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 2, 2013

me and my boyfriend stayed here over the Easter holidays for a week and we received excellent service from the owners. they were always friendly and helpful and chatted to us about our day when we saw them. the only thing i would say it that our bedroom which was on the top floor got a bit cold and we had the radiator on full all the time we were in our room, it was due to the single glazing windows, which we heard another family talking to the owners of the hotel and they said that there was nothing they could do about the windows as they were not granted planning permission for the change of windows. everything else about the hotel was fab and if i was planning to go back to torquay i would definitely stay there againn

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzanned95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Have just returned from a weekend at The Palms which we found to be very comfortable and friendly. We were greeted by Judy who took us to our twin room just at the top of the landing. A nice size with ensuite, tea/coffee making facilities and small fridge( can squeeze in a few cans and bottles ). Beds nicely presented and comfortable. Would definitely recommend this hotel to others. We will be back :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marcie3103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We recently stayed for two nights and found The Palms to be well maintained, clean and comfortable. Any issues were addressed promptly and the owners were very accommodating. It is well located for central Torquay and we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YesChefThanksChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

When I booked I wasn't expecting much from this small hotel/B&B - the pictures certainly do not show a true representation of the hotel. Upon arrival we were warmly greeted by the owners, who checked us in and showed us to our room. The room was bright with laminate flooring and all you could want. Plenty of Tea, Coffee and Biscuits were available and the beds were nicely presented. The overall cleanliness of the room was fantastic. Bathroom a little small but did the job.

If you need a room, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place. Thank you! :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sebastian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
Harbour Heights Guest House
0.0 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#48 of 87 in Torquay
358 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Barton
Hotel Barton
#40 of 87 in Torquay
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Braddon Hall Hotel
Braddon Hall Hotel
#37 of 87 in Torquay
212 reviews
0.8 mi away
Howden Court Hotel
Howden Court Hotel
#18 of 87 in Torquay
219 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#31 of 87 in Torquay
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Hotel

Property: The Palms Hotel
Address: 537 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Torquay
#13 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Palms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Palms Hotel Torquay in South Devon - truly a "once discovered, never forgotten" place to stay. A delightful retreat where the warmth and friendliness of hosts Graham and Judith is always apparent.Here the guest really does come first and there is no time you will not be made to feel welcome. The Palms Hotel is one of Torquay's top Guest Houses in the heart of Torquay we give the Service of a Small Hotel and the intimacy of a Bed & Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palms Hotel Torquay
The Palms Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing