We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not For The Disabled”
Review of The Palms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Palms Hotel
Ranked #26 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
South Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Not For The Disabled”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

This is a good Bed and Breakfast, that is well worth a visit. Everything is near by, shops, restaurant and harbour.
But this hotel is not for the disabled or to those less mobile, as the steps up to the hotel are quite steep, and once in the B and B there are a few flights of stairs.
parking outside the B and B is on a hill, and only enough room for two cars. Other then that you have to go up a steep road to a car park, which is accessed by a £10 card which is refunded at the end of your stay.

Judith and Graham are very friendly and welcoming. The rooms are very clean and the breakfast very good.
There's also free wifi, toys for the kids and every room as free to view and DVD player with lots of films to watch.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darrenelain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    40
    11
    0
    6
See reviews for
30
104
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Stayed here for one night whilst visiting family,wish i could have stayed longer. everything is just as i like it, proper tea and coffee {pg & Nescafe} and mugs ! Nice soap and very fluffy towels.Breakfast was excellent ,again Heinz, Lurpack and all quality products, fresh coffee on tap and great choice of cerials and yogurts.Judith and Graham are very friendly and welcoming and also offer other little extras IE free WiFi and toys for the kids and every room has a DVD player with lots of films to watch, would recommend this lovely guest house.

Room Tip: we stayed on the top floor, very quiet, but lots of stairs, Judith did stay next time request a lowe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheldonmanchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge
2 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Friendly owners. Good breakfast, lots of choice but no fresh fruit. Hotel 5 minutes walk uphill from harbour [taxi £2.50 from harbour]. Room facilities good (eg: tea/coffee, mini-fridge, TV-DVD). This is an old fashioned B&B (I wouldn't classify it as a hotel). It's a bit stuck in a time-warp, which on the surface is fine... however not much seems to have been done in its upkeep and the hotel feels a bit gloomy and tired. It would definately benefit from a serious spring clean as it's very dusty in places. I had a nice stay, the breakfast was the highlight, but I wouldn't choose to stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suesmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Lovely Break away for Birthday
Super welcome from Brian and Judith,close to , Harbour and Shops only 5 minutes away
very friendly very good breakfast comfty rooms provied with fridge and tea coffe ex.very clean and Brian and Judith are very helpful will go back recomended

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank than2410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Lovely Break away for Birthday/ Anniversary
Super welcome from Judith,super CENTRAL,5 minute walk to Harbour and Shops
Lovely CLEAN, and Cosy Room,COMFY Bed, complete with tea/coffee,shampoo,soap,T V with DVD Player,fridge and Teddy Bear! :)
Enjoyed a lovely Breakfast, with Plenty of choice,
Parking just up the road with a Permit available from reception.
Bar and Bar Meals available too.
we enjoyed Harvester and Shiraz Bar, Torbay Harbour.
Thankyou Palms Hotel,Torquay,we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyDrew7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We have just got back from a two night stay at The Palms Hotel. We had the small double room and although small, it was very cosy. The room and bathroom were impeccably clean and there was plenty of storage space despite the size of the room. The bed was very comfortable (although maybe could have done with an extra pillow or so in the wardrobe for people like me who need that extra boost). The shower was incredible, a lovely size and so easy to work!

The hotel wi-fi was very easy to use and is a great feature for the hotel as so many still don't offer it. We also loved having the tv and dvd player in the room as it allowed us to just chill out after a long day before heading out for dinner. Breakfast was lovely with plenty of options, served perfectly hot and with a smile. The owners were always happy to stop and chat and liked to know how our previous day had been and they were full of recommendations for other things to do.

The hotel itself is on a slight hill that leads down the harbour and shops. However, I am not particularly fit and found it ok (was out of breath by the time I got to our room on the top floor though!). There is plenty to do in the area around the hotel, some lovely restaurants and shops.

Overall this is a lovely hotel and I will definitely be returning, hopefully for longer next time. Thanks for making our weekend so lovely!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jojo1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We have come back from a 5 night stay at the Palms Hotel, we found the owners lovely and they were very friendly asking us how our days out have been and making good recommendations.

The hotel is up a slight hill, but even with a toddler it was fine. The hotel is close to the habour and the beach, also good for restaurants in the evening (though heard no noise from the hotel).

If it is raining and you have a toddler there is a great soft play centre behind the bowling alley.

I would recommend a visit to the Kents Cavern, to visit the caves :O) also a trip over to the paignton peir which has a great park which kids of all ages will enjoy.

Overall a very enjoyable stay :O)

Room Tip: We had the family room, which was a good size :O)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#50 of 87 in Torquay
362 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harbour Heights Guest House
0.0 mi away
Hotel Barton
Hotel Barton
#36 of 87 in Torquay
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#29 of 87 in Torquay
578 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Hotel Balmoral
The Hotel Balmoral
#18 of 87 in Torquay
558 reviews
1.1 mi away
Elmington Hotel
Elmington Hotel
#44 of 87 in Torquay
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Hotel

Property: The Palms Hotel
Address: 537 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Torquay
#13 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Palms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Palms Hotel Torquay in South Devon - truly a "once discovered, never forgotten" place to stay. A delightful retreat where the warmth and friendliness of hosts Graham and Judith is always apparent.Here the guest really does come first and there is no time you will not be made to feel welcome. The Palms Hotel is one of Torquay's top Guest Houses in the heart of Torquay we give the Service of a Small Hotel and the intimacy of a Bed & Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palms Hotel Torquay
The Palms Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing