We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Palms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Palms Hotel
Ranked #28 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and enjoyed our holiday. The room was very comfortable and a travel cot was provided for our 4 month old. Nothing was too much to ask, the owners were very helpful and kind to us. The room was always clean and tidy when we got back from a day out. We were given a hot breakfast every morning, which was gorgeous, there was a close of cereals and toast etc. We will definitely be returning in the near future. A very relaxed and family friendly hotel and worth every penny. Location was perfect, as only 5 minutes away from town centre and restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    38
    11
    0
    6
See reviews for
29
96
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
PJSmart
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

Great location, very close to central shopping/entertainment area. Can't quibble at the price for the location, nice welcome and friendly staff. Great shower and comfy bed. Didn't try the food so can't comment unfortunately.

The only downside is the parking. Don't be fooled by the 'ample free parking available' the parking at the rear of the hotel is inadequate for anything other than a smart car or smaller. There may well be free parking at the front of the hotel, but there may just as easily not be. There is a car park facility, that whilst fine for me, if I were not so steady on my feet, or travelling with people with limited mobility, would think it's a bit far away and a bit too steep. This was the only real downside to the hotel though.

Location is close to the centre of town and some great restaurants, it's quite literally a minutes walk but doesn't seem to suffer from any noise issues.
Bed was exceptionally comfortable, and shower was excellent. Made a really nice change from the usual Premier Inn fare for work trips.

If you're fairly mobile, would happily recommend.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJSmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

My wife and I stayed 3 nights during the Agatha Christie Festival. Our room was well equipped with a four poster bed and included free wifi Internet. Inclusive breakfast encompassed all the usuals, but we were pleasantly surprised to find that they provided hot breakfast for vegetarians as well. Free Parking was a short stroll up the street. Hosts were incredibly friendly and helpful. I'd recommend The Palms to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brendanandmerrisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

Tidy, comfortable twin room available.
There are quite a few external stairs plus the flights inside, so if you are disabled or have problems with stairs, this will be difficult.
There was a lovely comfortable lounge with plenty of room to spread out.
The hosts were friendly and helpful.
Good value for money, with a fitness workout included!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Illawarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

This is a wonderful hotel situated just 5 mins walk to the Harbour.

The hotel is very cosy and Has wonderful surroundings. The breakfast in the morning are great and it's also nice to see friendly owners.

This is a great hotel in torquay!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonbulldog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2011

Very convenient location ideal for all you need in Torquay. Very friendly family run business. Would recommend the four poster bed!! Will definitely return again

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane130373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2011

My partner and I booked 'The Palms' only because of the 'late rooms' mileage guide to the town centre. We wood definitely return this little hotel has all the charm and freindliness of a little B&B but has a lot more facilities. The breakfast was excellent, we didn't have an evening snack 'thought these are available - the one thing Torquay is not short of is places to eat - the rooms are absolutely lovely, when these older houses are knocked about to accomodate en'suite facilities it doesn't always work -it does here - a really good shower room. All the rooms have a small fridge a really good touch. Free Wi-fi and a good conection and impresive speed. All of Torquay is hilly but 'The Palms' is just at the bottom of the hill that leads up from the Harbour area, making it an ideal base to be close to all the shops bars and restaurants on the Torquay sea front. We did have a drink in the little longe bar which again is one of those extras that puts this in the category of a small hotel rather than just a B&B. Really delightful stay in this truely delightful little hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ross-n-dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
Harbour Heights Guest House
0.0 mi away
Hotel Barton
Hotel Barton
#43 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Peppers
Hotel Peppers
#21 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#49 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
1.0 mi away
Abbeyfield Hotel
Abbeyfield Hotel
#5 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
0.1 mi away
Braddon Hall Hotel
Braddon Hall Hotel
#37 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Hotel

Property: The Palms Hotel
Address: 537 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Torquay
#14 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Palms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Palms Hotel Torquay in South Devon - truly a "once discovered, never forgotten" place to stay. A delightful retreat where the warmth and friendliness of hosts Graham and Judith is always apparent.Here the guest really does come first and there is no time you will not be made to feel welcome. The Palms Hotel is one of Torquay's top Guest Houses in the heart of Torquay we give the Service of a Small Hotel and the intimacy of a Bed & Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your The Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palms Hotel Torquay
The Palms Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing