We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay”
Review of Carlton Court

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Carlton Court
Ranked #44 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2009

Stayed with hubby for 1 night whilst touring devon. I can't praise this B & B enough. Room was beautiful, Owners were so friendly and breakfast was superb. Lots of little extra touches made this experience one we will definately repeat. I can't recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bone293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 252 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2009

Well what can we say! The hosts Phil and Helen are the best, they made us welcome the moment we arrived. Our room was spotless and smelt so fresh.Everything was well thought out. Fresh milk in our fridge, a few dvds to watch , a t-towel ( this i thought was great ,as i always have several cups of tea, and usually have to use loo roll to dry after washing )!. Breakfast was amazing . We shall be visiting again very soon and highly recommend The Carlton Court and it is most definatly 5 star .

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ray-sharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2009

One of the best places to stay in the UK. Helen and Phil do a great job down to every detail. I would highly recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TandDonVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2009

Although we only stayed for a short break, we found our hosts, Phil and Helen to be most welcoming and attentive. The bedroom was delightful ,had everything we required and showed attention to detail that was displayed throughout the house. Breakfast was cooked to order and served in a most pleasant room. The location was slightly out of Town, but there were shops, restaurants and pubs within a 5 minute walk. We enjoyed the whole experience from the time of our arrival to our departure. We would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darcybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2009

Ruby Wedding Anniversary treat from son. Excellent service from hosts Phil & Helen. We stayed in the ground floor suite, decor very luxurious. Two TV's and a selection of dvd's. Wine, chocs & red hearts on bed - nice touch!! Fridge/bottled water/fresh milk provided. Luxury towels & bath robes. Suite had temperature control and underfloor heating in the bathroom for your comfort. Breakfast was served in a lovely room, the food was superbly cooked by Phil, and Helen providing the 'good morning greeting'
and first class table service. Everything was perfect, could find no fault at all. Would definitely recommend for that 5 star break!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RetiredWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2009

We have just returned from 3 nights at the Carlton Court. The owners are charming, helpful and make you feel very welcome without being at all intrusive. We stayed in Room 4 which was better than many 4 and 5 star hotels we have stayed in, it was spotless and the bed linens and towels were finest quality. The room had everything you could wish for to make your stay comfortable. If we visit Torquay again, we will certainly want to stay there. We can also highly recommend No 7 Fish Restaurant and Bianco's Italian restaurant.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaffodilWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2009

We have stayed at Carlton Court twice now and would return time and time again, it is a real gem. The rooms are beautiful, clean and spacious. The breakfast was delicious, the service spot on, in fact, we couldn't find fault with anything.
The location is superb, it has the most delightful garden.
Philip and Helen are wonderful hosts and really do look after you well.
We highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting some 5 star treatment!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KentWoodykent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.3 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,119 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Iona Torquay
The Iona Torquay
#57 of 149 in Torquay
284 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#29 of 85 in Torquay
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#30 of 85 in Torquay
2,515 reviews
0 mi away
Glenorleigh
Glenorleigh
#54 of 149 in Torquay
73 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Patricia Guest House
The Patricia Guest House
#49 of 85 in Torquay
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Court

Address: 18 Cleveland Road, Torquay TQ2 5BE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: $111 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Carlton Court 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We like to offer our guests the highest standards of quality and style when staying at The Carlton Court guest house in Torquay as reflected in our 5 star gold guest accommodation award. We are situated in a quiet location just a 10 minute walk from the main seafront and 15 minutes from the town centre with public transport facilities nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Carlton Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Court Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing