We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely stunning”
Review of Carlton Court

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Carlton Court
Ranked #39 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2014

First time to torquay cannot complain about anything the room we stayed in was a great size, extremely clean and we'll presented, breakfast set you up for the day didn't need anything until after lunch time.James and beryl were a lovely couple and couldn't do enough for you made us feel very welcome. A definite must if staying in torquay x

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank becky140888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 252 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2014

I think it has already been said by all of the previous guests but this is a really lovely place to stay. The rooms are beautiful , comfortable and have everything you need even down to a lovely cosy dressing gown , it was also great to have fresh milk every day in the fridge in our room . The breakfast room is modern , relaxing and spotlessly clean just like the rest of the house, the choice for breakfast was amazing with fresh fruit , yogurt and cereal followed by a freshly cooked option which was so yummy I could hardly move afterwards . Our hosts James and Beryl are a delight and should be truly proud of the service they give to their guests . I would not hesitate in recommending this bed & breakfast to anyone and we will return again as soon as we can .
Sue & Mark

Room Tip: Don't worry as all of the rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank east2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

The most immaculate B&B my wife and I have ever found.

James and Beryl were the perfect hosts for our two night stay earlier this week. Their attention to detail is second to none from our immaculate room (Suite 7) to the perfectly prepared breakfast cooked to our liking each morning, to the advice of places to see and good restaurants for meals out. They both had the perfect blend of being very attentive to our needs without becoming invasive in any way. They were a delight to talk to with nothing being too much trouble.
Leaving was like saying goodbye to family!!!

Thank you James.... Thank you Beryl..... We hope to see you again soon.

Room Tip: We were very happy with Room 7 which had a separate lounge area with reclining sofa and double aspec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

This is the best hotel/B&B I have ever stayed in. The rooms are lovely and have everything you need, the breakfast is wonderful, always filled you up until dinner time. The owners, James and Beryl are very welcoming, helpful and cannot do enough for you. Can't wait to come back and stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John09webb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We stayed three nights in of the best hotels we have stayed in. The cleanliness is second to none and the quality of the room/Hotel was superb. We were made to feel so welcome, the suite we stayed in was so nice we wish we could of stayed there longer. I would definitely recommend a stay there and will go back again. Their attention to detail was fabulous and also it is situated in a quiet yet ideal location.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Me & my hubby stayed for two lovely nights and we had a great time best b&b we have stayed in nice welcome and real milk in our room which was great, breakfast was really nice with lots of fresh fruit and fresh ingredients we will be going back very soon beryl and james should be very proud of there b&b as its a stunning place to stay.we will be back soon

Room Tip: We were in room 4 which had lovely garden views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dee w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Having been travelling to Torquay since I was a babe in arms some 40 years ago I can safely say this was the best hotel we have had the pleasure to stay in. We booked a one night stay on a rare child free night as a bit of a treat to ourselves and we weren't disappointed. We booked the suite (room 2, I think) and were overwhelmed by the attention to detail and the high specification of the suite. The hosts Beryl and James were very welcoming and happy to answer all questions and offer advice, James even offered us a lift into town but we preferred the 10 minute walk in as it was a lovely route. Breakfast was lovely and cooked fresh to order, far better than your usual hotel buffet. We will definitely be returning to Carlton Court as it was a relaxing visit from start to finish. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: We had the suite (room 2), but on looking at the brochure all rooms looked beautiful. The hotel is o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mumandfinley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.3 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,079 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#31 of 85 in Torquay
613 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Iona Torquay
The Iona Torquay
#57 of 149 in Torquay
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 85 in Torquay
2,496 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glenorleigh
Glenorleigh
#54 of 149 in Torquay
73 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#26 of 85 in Torquay
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Court

Address: 18 Cleveland Road, Torquay TQ2 5BE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: $110 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Carlton Court 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We like to offer our guests the highest standards of quality and style when staying at The Carlton Court guest house in Torquay as reflected in our 5 star gold guest accommodation award. We are situated in a quiet location just a 10 minute walk from the main seafront and 15 minutes from the town centre with public transport facilities nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Carlton Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Court Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing