We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”
Review of Carlton Court

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Carlton Court
Ranked #36 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Only stayed here for a saturday night. Hotel was very clean and the Large bedroom with nice touches, such as fresh milk in the minibar and a good size bathroom, ensured it 5star atmosphere. It's in a good location about 10 minutes walk inland from the beach, which means you're in a quieter area. Breakfast was excellent and the service friendly. Overall a good value 5 star hotel worthy of its acolades. Our only gripe was that we found the mattress in our room a little soft but that is a personal choice. I'm sure if we were staying longer the owners would have had the opportunity to resolve this. But as we only stayed one night there was little point.
We're back in Torquay end of March and will be booking again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gary117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P_Molyneux, Owner at Carlton Court, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review ,we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us

and hope you visit again

Thank You James & Beryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
179
5
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This B&B has a 5* rating, but deserves a 6*. It is spotlessly clean, very comfortable and in a good position. The owners, Beryl and James can't do enough for you. The breakfast was the best we have had anywhere, including top hotels around the world.

We will certainly be going again.

Room Tip: No tips, all seemed quiet and no complaints from anyone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P_Molyneux, Owner at Carlton Court, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Many Thanks for your kind review. We hope you will visit again ,Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Decided on a few days away before I started my new job and whilst I would normally try and stay in a sea front hotel, I had seen poor reviews of these and better for the B & Bs instead. We were given room 2 on the ground room which is great is climbing stairs are a problem. Wet room style bathroom and a sitting room with separate bedroom. Loads of space and best of all a mirror with a light for putting on make up (yes this was a + for me) oh and decent hair dryer.
Fresh milk in the fridge was a nice touch, plus bath robes.
Breakfast was excellent and a wide range if choice and cooked to order.
Points of reference - 20 minute work to the town, so be warned. However it just costs £5 for a return taxi. Suggest the hosts (who took over 7 months ago) find out from other B&B owners about restaurants so they can advise for their guests, but I am being picky. Finally if you stay in room 2, put on the heated towel rail before you want to spend time in the room. For me it was cold, but the weather was freezing outside and it is an extension with a flat roof, so it may be it cools down faster in winter.
Overall I would go back as the hosts were lovely and they have a great place.

Room Tip: Room 2 if you are less mobile
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janew662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This B&B is wonderful. The hosts are so welcoming and friendly. The room had everything we could possibly need...a large comfy bed, a fridge, tea&coffee facilities, a nice bathroom and shower, decent size wardrobe, TV, plenty of mirrors and plugs... and very clean and bright, it looked newly decorated. The breakfast options were great too; cereals, museli, fresh fruit, yoghurts, plus all the hot cooked ingredients you'd expect. Nothing was too much trouble for the hosts and we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ll0ydie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

My partner and I stayed here February 2012 for two nights (A Christmas gift from my parents in law). We stayed over on the Friday and Saturday night.

WOW, WOW, WOW!!!! It was truly Amazing!!

The room itself was absolutely stunning. A definite 5 star and more!!

The bed was the biggest most comfiest bed we had ever had the pleasure of sleeping in. The room was decorated beautifully it was so breathe taking just to look at, it was Classic.

The room has everything you need - Robes, dressing table, television, separate lounge with second t.v, all tea and coffee facilities, fridge and DVDs. The bathroom was lovely too with a bath and shower. Sorry I cant remember which room we stayed in.

Breakfast in the morning was delicious, so much on offer! The best scrambled eggs I have ever tried! How do they do it?!?

The whole weekend was pure luxury, we were in Heaven the whole weekend and wish we could of stayed forever.

The owners were lovely, attentive and could answer many questioned on things to do and see in the surrounding area.

Thank you, We cannot wait to come back to this wonderful place.

I hope you enjoy my photos.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluebanoonoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

This was only an overnight stopover to visit a relative who ha been moved tothe nearby hospital, and consequently a last minute booking. However, on arrival we received a warm friendly welcome and were shown to room 8, the smallest, but nonetheless very comfortable and spacious kingsized double room in this excellent B&B.
The villa is situated a little out of town with views over Torquay and as a result provided one of the quietest nights sleep I have had in some time. The room had an ample sized shower room , modern T.V,and the the fridge with fresh milk and water was an added bonus.
Breakfast was cooked to order and served in the very pleasant light and airy dining room.
Will not hessitate to book here again, perhaps trying out one of the suite rooms with an added bath for extra space.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jck032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We booked this B&B based on its reviews and location after finding it on Tripadvisor. We were not disappointed. James was very friendly when I initially made contact by phone and I was quick to find out that nothing was too much trouble. We stayed in the ground floor suite, Room 2. It had everything we needed and more and was spotlessly clean. We left our wedding early to come back and enjoy the room in the evening, it was a real treat to be staying there! The breakfast was just lovely and we talked to other guests in the breakfast room who were also really happy with their stay. Carlton Court is a traditional house with tall ceilings and big windows and the owners have mixed the feel of the building well with modern facilities and contemporary furnishings. An absolute gem of a place and I will definitely use it every time I visit my family who all live close by.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.6 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 149 in Torquay
237 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kingston House
Kingston House
#22 of 149 in Torquay
188 reviews
0.1 mi away
Garway Lodge
Garway Lodge
#29 of 149 in Torquay
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Briarfields
Briarfields
#24 of 149 in Torquay
496 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harmony Guest House
Harmony Guest House
#23 of 149 in Torquay
186 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tyndale B&B
Tyndale B&B
#14 of 149 in Torquay
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Court

Property: Carlton Court
Address: 18 Cleveland Road, Torquay TQ2 5BE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Carlton Court 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We like to offer our guests the highest standards of quality and style when staying at The Carlton Court guest house in Torquay as reflected in our 5 star gold guest accommodation award. We are situated in a quiet location just a 10 minute walk from the main seafront and 15 minutes from the town centre with public transport facilities nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Carlton Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Court Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing