We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Got to try the Devon Cream Tea.”

Burridge's Cafe Tearooms
Ranked #5 of 27 Coffee & Tea in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $13
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Got to try the Devon Cream Tea.”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Sat outside looking over the harbour on a sunny day, to have my promised Cream Tea. It has to be done in Devon! I was not disappointed. The tea came in a proper teapot, with tea leaves and a strainer, real fine bone china cups and saucers. The scones came on a tiered cake stand with fresh jam and clotted cream, plenty to go with the scones. It was delicious. The only thing that slightly spoiled it was the scones didn't seem as fresh as I would have thought, but still an excellent cream tea presented beautifully, and in a perfect location.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Abi-Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieSweet, Owner at Burridge's Cafe Tearooms, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for writing a review I'm so glad you enjoyed your visit and Cream Tea. Julie Sweet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    58
    26
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Really worth a visit”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Just in a few words, lovely cakes and proper leaf tea, traceability of produce and excellent service.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LizHue75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieSweet, Owner at Burridge's Cafe Tearooms, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Just two words 'Thank You'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
346 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Superb Clotted Cream Teas.”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

This was a most friendly little cafe and served the most wonderful Clotted Cream Teas I have ever tasted.

It deserves Iconic status.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stranathro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieSweet, Owner at Burridge's Cafe Tearooms, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review I'm glad you enjoyed your Devon Cream Tea. Julie Sweet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fabulous setting”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We had our second visit this week, desperate to try the high tea and we weren't disappointed! Great food, scrummy cakes and 'proper' tea with a strainer. Made to feel most welcome and if you sit outside, what a view! As for a previous comment about slow service.... what's the hurry, sit back and enjoy the experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Solitaire_xxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieSweet, Owner at Burridge's Cafe Tearooms, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you so much for writing such a lovely review we were all glad to meet you and your husband and are so pleased that you enjoyed your High Tea. Julie Sweet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Slow Service.”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Decided to visit after reading all the great reviews. Was rather let down with the slow service! I think they forgot we were sat outside!The cake was nice,although the Eton Mess cake was really Victoria Sponge with a bit of meringue on top.
The latte's would also have been better in a latte glass,rather than a mug.
Been in better tea rooms.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Seasearcher18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieSweet, Owner at Burridge's Cafe Tearooms, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for writing a review I'm so sorry you didn't enjoy your visit some might consider our service slow we like everyone to enjoy the experience of a traditional tearooms so take time with all of our customers we are most definitely not fast food. The Eton Mess Cake has meringue and fresh raspberries baked in the sponge and well as fresh cream, meringue and raspberries as decoration. Julie Sweet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burridge's Cafe Tearooms also viewed

 
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Burridge's Cafe Tearooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing