We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High tea is lovely”

Burridge's Cafe Tearooms
Ranked #6 of 22 Coffee & Tea in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $14
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Bit low on the filling for the sandwiches but the cakes are great, homemade and the staff are nice, nice view of the harbour too

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rustydw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieSweet, Owner at Burridge's Cafe Tearooms, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thank you for writing a review, so glad you enjoyed your tea and cake. Our window seats are the most popular it's lovely to sit and enjoy the view of Torquay's beautiful harbour. Julie Sweet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (298)
There are newer reviews for Burridge's Cafe Tearooms
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

269 - 273 of 299 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

We went to this cafe yesterday and we were greeted in a really friendly fashion. We only had coffee and cake - the coffee was spot on for us, black and stong but we were offered a top upof hot water if we wanted it a little less strong. My cake choice of sponge with blackcurrant and liquorish frosting and filling was inspired, the sponge was light as a feather - delicious! Would heartily recommend a visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Joolsie59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieSweet, Owner at Burridge's Cafe Tearooms, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thank you for writing such a wonderful review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your cake I try to have something a little different along with all of the traditional favourites. Hope you visit us again next time your in Torquay. Julie Sweet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Called in for a Devon cream tea about 1245 Sunday afternoon where the one male assistant was very friendly and took our order. He was quite busy, as he was also having to prepare the food and drinks himself and then deliver to tables in the cafe. There was an anxious 10mins or so while we waited to be served, but it was a nice big pot of tea that arrived, in willow-pattern, matching the crockery. From then on we would enjoy the atmosphere. The scones had no fruit and were rather dry. Not as nice as the fruit ones we'd tried previously at another cafe in neighbouring Paignton.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank KevtheExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieSweet, Owner at Burridge's Cafe Tearooms, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thank you for writing a review I'm glad you enjoyed your tea the Willow pattern set is my favourite too. Our scones were delivered freshly baked on Saturday morning, as all of our food is prepared to order this can take a little time as we like to oven warm the scones. I can assure you I was there preparing the food in the kitchen whist my fabulous assistant was running front of house. I do hope you visit us again when your next in Torquay. Julie Sweet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We called into here looking for a simple lunch of sandwich and drink however, once my family had decided what to order was only then informed they had limited bread and fillings as they'd been taken by surprise by the custom that day. We were not impressed with the service very slow, no real teamwork to serve you as a paying customer and I'm sorry but in this day and age not to be stocked up with bacon, bread, egg mayonnaise or salad is quite poor (or even send someone to replenish stocks as this was at 12.30 lunchtime) then to be told I had to go next door to pay just really ended the lunch on an all time low, such a shame cause its in a lovely position I left thinking I could do better without even trying!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank davisx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieSweet, Owner at Burridge's Cafe Tearooms, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

So sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your visit to Burridge's, however I think you might have visited us later in the day than you remember. We did have one particularly busy Saturday recently and unfortunately ran out of some products, although when I looked in my log of sell outs this didn't happen until 2.45pm. Unfortunately this coincided with our credit and debit card machine not working, as we did not wish to inconvenience customers by refusing card sales the shop next door did offer to allow us to use there machine. I think that this is what you were referring to when you mention paying next door. We are still in our first year of trading and are still learning however we do have a considerable number of local customers and as I can see you live in Torquay I do hope that you will give us another chance. We do appreciate all feedback and have taken your comments on-board and feel that this will help us to improve our customer service in the future. Julie Sweet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

14 family and friends visited Burridges for a selection of cream teas,home made cake and coffee having been turned away by a very unwelcoming female at the tea shop the opposite side of the harbour with the comments "closing in thirty minutes and just cleaned the seating area,so its closed off!!".The gentleman at Burridges gave us a warm welcome,the decor was quaint and traditional,service good,excellent quality and value for money.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank hockey098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieSweet, Owner at Burridge's Cafe Tearooms, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thank you so much for your review and I'm glad you found us on your visit to Torquay another cafes loss was our gain! :-) We do remember you all and appreciate your kind comments. Julie Sweet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burridge's Cafe Tearooms also viewed

 
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Burridge's Cafe Tearooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing