We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good portions but a little pricey!!”

Burridge's Cafe Tearooms
Ranked #6 of 22 Coffee & Tea in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $14
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Good healthy sandwiches in size and filling. Table decor good and service just fine. Thought it a bit pricey.

2  Thank velsatis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieSweet, Owner at Burridge's Cafe Tearooms, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Thank you for writing a review, I am glad you enjoyed you sandwich. The price of £4.85 for a skinny and £5.50 for a doorstep sandwich reflects the quality of the local products that we use and the size of our portions which include a generous side salad and potato crisps. I hope you will visit us again when your next in Torquay.
Julie Sweet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (298)
There are newer reviews for Burridge's Cafe Tearooms
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

278 - 282 of 299 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2012

After a walk along the coastal path a fabulous pot of tea and delicious slice of home made blueberry/cream sponge in pleasant surroundings, bliss.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Janice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieSweet, Owner at Burridge's Cafe Tearooms, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

I'm so glad you enjoyed your visit to Burridge's and your slice of Blueberry and Clotted Cream Cake it's one of our favourites too!
Julie Sweet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We visited one rainy afternoon and had a late lunch with my 5 year old daughter.

Great atmosphere and loved the old fashioned touches like the quaint Torquay victorian pictures, I had a toasted sandwich and my wife had a delicious pumpkin soup with a massive doorstop piece of bread.

Some great home made carrot cake and victoria sandwich cake on offer albeit the portion was a little small for £2.25! We also had to pay full price for a sandwich for my 5 year old daughter.

Overall promising and a refreshing change to Starbucks. Suggest the owners keep refining, increase cake sizes and offer childrens menus.

Recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank LordKixley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieSweet, Owner at Burridge's Cafe Tearooms, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I am delighted you enjoyed your visit to Burridge's and thank you for your suggestions. We are a relatively new business, we opened in April this year so we're still learning but think that a children's menu would be a great idea.
Julie Sweet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

This little tea room on the perfect spot along the waters edge in torquey is possibly the best tea room in Devon (we've visited a fair few of them!) they serve real tea, with tea leaves and porcelain cups and saucers which make the experience feel quite ceremonial. Then there are the scones with generous helpings of clotted cream and jam, served on a quaint 2 tier cake stand all very reasonably priced (in fact compared to others in Devon it was even quite cheap!) it was just under a fiver for a cream tea for 2. The gentleman that served us was polite and welcoming and the place itself was just full of welcoming charm. If carlsberg made tea shops, they would call it Burridges.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank PlaneJane13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieSweet, Owner at Burridge's Cafe Tearooms, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review, we're so glad you enjoyed your visit to Burridge's and hope that when you visit Devon again that you pop in to see us.
Julie Sweet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I came across Burridge's cafe tearoom when visiting friends in Torquay, well we walked in for a coffee and cake and weren't disappointed, found the staff friendly and welcoming and the Cakes were beautiful served with strong coffee. I'm certainly popping back when next in Torquay.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank DaveWik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieSweet, Owner at Burridge's Cafe Tearooms, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful comments we look forward to welcoming you back next time your in Torquay.
Julie Sweet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burridge's Cafe Tearooms also viewed

 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Burridge's Cafe Tearooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing