We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 days with elderly parents”
Review of TLH Leisure Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
TLH Leisure Resort
Ranked #41 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Stourbridge
Level Contributor
157 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“5 days with elderly parents”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Took my elderly, disabled parents for 5 days together with their elderly friends. Asked for a disabled friendly room. The hotel was better than I expected, as it had only 2 stars. Although a little worn around the edges, it was clean and the staff were very pleasant. Food in the restaurant was mixed. Very good breakfast, evening meal with nice the first night but not great thereafter.
There are great facilities, the pools both inside and outside are lovely. There are lots of options for entertainment, and a couple of the nights were really excellent. The hotel itself is not that disabled friendly. There are a lot of steps and although they provide ramps everywhere, I am glad I wasn't pushing a wheel chair. Also my parents room, although it had a walk in shower, it had a step to get into it and a low toilet, so really was not suitable. Nevertheless we had a very pleasant stay, its in a really good location, just a short walk to the sea front (although down a hill, which means uphill on the way back). One other point, it was very hot in the rooms, there was no aircon, and some of the windows opened only a little way. If you go during a hot period, I would recommend taking a room at the front, because at the back, overlooking the big carpark the sun in on the windows and they are very warm.

Room Tip: No great views from any room really, carpark, garden/pool or road. Rear carpark rooms get very hot d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sprogg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    96
    63
    15
    16
See reviews for
141
84
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Came to TLH Leisure Resort for the Dip'N'Dine offer of £10 for swimming and food. The disabled changing room which my Mother & I used as I have problems walking & need help. Found saw dust on floor opposite the disabled change room/ shower room. The toilet had no lid, the towel dispenser was not working, the shower seat was rusty and the actual shower was loose. Lockers are free to use as are hair dryers (only2) went for a lovely swim which was very pleasurable for about half an hour and did my physiotherapy exercises. Then went to use the jacuzzi. The grab bars up to the jacuzzi are a mix of red/ blue paint and needs sanding down and reprinting as are very sticky and horrible to the touch. The actual jacuzzi looks very dated and my friend had to hit the button 3 times to get it to work. I feel a general refit of the jacuzzi and updating of the disabled change is in need as are the bars up to jacuzzi as mentioned before. Once we had finished I had to wait 15 mins for the one disabled change and shower room to wash and change. I was shocked to see a member of staff come out of it when clearly not disabled and I'm sure they must have a staff shower/ changing room so that not using customers facilities. Especially when no seats around to wait.

We then went upto the bistro bar for lunch. Was quite busy with customers outside (being a hot day and using outside pool area) we had a short wait for our lunch and arrived fresh and hot. The doorstep bread was very nice. If improvements are made it would be worth amount paid for the swim & jacuzzi but right now I would say it is exactly like a council run pool which is not good considering it is a hotel!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Gemzap84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broxburn, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Enjoyed a good 7 night break in the Victoria Apartments, part of this huge complex (comprising 4 hotels and apartments). If on a DBB package, you have meals in the hotel or apt linked to, but can visit lounges or bars anywhere, to suit yourself. Most nightly entertainment is in the Starlight Lounge or Alberts Bar. This complex did what it said on the tin, food fresh, very hot and plentiful, staff all pleasant and helpful and service on the whole very good. We used both outdoor pools (you have to take a deep breath even on a sunny day), there is a toddler pool and adults one. The indoor pool complex is amazing, albeit changing rooms a bit whiffy. The indoor bit has one large pool, which is a pleasant temp, then other pools of various shapes, which are warm and very warm (for little people, I think). There is a steam room and sauna nearby, also. There is a full spa at the complex, but I can't comment on this as we didn't use it. You can book rooms on BB or DBB or the apartments can be self catering or as we took, DBB, which included daily room service. Rooms were kept clean and tidy, perhaps a bit jaded in parts, but it isn't advertised as or professing to be 5 star.

There is a games arena, with 10 pin bowling and the usual slot machines, table games etc and an indoor carpet bowls room.

Good location, only 10 mins from the beach.

There is also a Toby Club for children, which is not to be a drop off for children, unsupervised, I think in the height of their season (not sure what this is), there is more going on here, but when we visited we could leave our child at the one session you could leave children at, from 7.30 'ish till 9pm, whilst we had a nice relaxing meal - this was a great service.

Only criticism we had is that when we checked in the receptionist didn't explain the meal situation properly ie told us we could eat in 3 places, when you can only eat in your hotel restaurant if on DBB - but after asking a third person we got this, correct answer.

Enjoyed the break and would visit again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LCS-2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Suns out picked up the phone booked in for three days No problem got exactly what I asked for perfect another great time will be had by me xxx mind you its the only place I go to it has everything you could need lol thl

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jellybelly1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Did said what it said on the tin,
we were going to be late pre ordered our meal
very efficient restaurant staff ( great Restaurant Manager, she really runs a tight ship)
A great budget hotel particularly if in transit

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We booked into the Toorak hotel last Fri. The room that we were given was of a good standard, but was above a large fan that made a noise from 5.30 am. We asked if it was possible to move but were told the hotel was full. Staff seemed uninterested. We have stayed at the Carlton on a number of occasions over 20 years and after a quick visit to them my husband was offered a lovely room there. The staff there were so helpful and friendly and saved our stay. WELL DONE CARLTON. Special thanks to Maggie and Amy.

Room Tip: Ask at the time of booking if you want a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

4 connected hotels in Torquay, Toorak is quiet and has 1st Class food. Derwent and Victoria are closer to the action with adequate food.Carlton ive not tried but appears to be reasonaby quiet with the emphasis on ballroom dancing.Aztec Pool very good but did not experience the Spa. Arena games area quite good.Plenty of bars and lounges although the attached "Alberts Bar" seems to used a lot by non residents and at time of visit was quite dirty eg beer soaked tables etc. There are enough parking spaces but trying to find which car park has the empty spaces is a bit of a lottery and you could end up parked a distance from your chosen hotel. Staff in all hotels were friendly and helpful

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
#19 of 87 in Torquay
1,076 reviews
0.0 mi away
TLH Victoria Hotel
TLH Victoria Hotel
#36 of 87 in Torquay
545 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Toorak Hotel
TLH Toorak Hotel
#28 of 87 in Torquay
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
TLH Carlton Hotel
TLH Carlton Hotel
#30 of 87 in Torquay
580 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,757 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TLH Leisure Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Leisure Resort

Property: TLH Leisure Resort
Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#18 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — TLH Leisure Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 431
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lively resort encompasses the Derwent, Victoria, Carlton & Toorak Hotels with on-site access to an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities, together with nightly entertainment and dancing. Enjoy indoor and outdoor swimming pools, a luxury spa, gym, huge indoor games arena, daily kids club and a daily activity programme. Bowling and dancing holidays a speciality. Close to sea front and town centre, ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your TLH Leisure Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tlh Leisure Hotel Torquay
Tlh Leisure Torquay
TLH Leisure Resort Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing