We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service but room was basic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Ranked #4 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset, UK
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good service but room was basic”
Reviewed July 29, 2010

My partner and I recently stayed at the Riviera Lodge for a short break. The service and the the communal areas were good. Our room was okay but we could hear our neighbours turning over in the night as the walls seem quite thin plus the mattress wasn't very comfortable. The hotel is clean and tidy.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrandMrs_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    567
    59
    11
    2
    5
See reviews for
61
457
22
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2010

After reading other reviews about this hotel my wife and I decided to stay there, it did not disappoint.The owners were realy friendly and helpfull and no matter how busy always found time to talk. Our room was very comfortable and it is fair to say that a lot of investment has gone into making this hotel 1st class. The swimming pool was great and the garden was spotless. We intend to visit Torquay again next year and will be staying at the Riviera Lodge again. Highly reccomended.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dazza95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2010

We stayed here for four nights bed and breakfast in one of the basic double rooms. Even though we had gone on the strength's of the reviews on trip advisor and were expecting the hotel to be good everything exceeded our expectations. The hotel is very clean and tidy and they also run a no under 12's policy so there are no annoying kids running round either. The hotel has a very nice bar, pool and restaurant area. It's nice to sit and have a drink after a long day on the beach or walking around sightseeing. The room we had was very well kept and had a nice en-suite with shower. Breakfast was very nice and there was a good choice of food on offer if you didn't want to have a cooked breakfast. The couple who own the hotel are very nice and polite and will do anything to make there guests feel at home. We would recommend this hotel to anyone and would go back anytime.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markandkirsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2010

My partner and I stayed for two nights at the the Riviera Lodge for a wedding, We received a warm welcome on arrival and were invited to use the heated pool, which was very welcome indeed. The room was spotless and well presented, the bed was comfortable, the ensuite bathroom had some nice toiletries and the owners are really nice, easy going people. Breakfast the following morning was great. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJ76London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2010

Just returned from 5 days here and over all enjoyed our stay. Down sides were the size of our en suite, you could just about turn around in the shower and you could only sit comfortably on the loo with the shower doors open. The walls are thin - our snoring neighbours kept us awake for 3 nights and our bed creaked when you turned over. However the room and hotel in general were extremely clean and tidy having received a refurb in 2007. Lovely pool area and breakfast delicious served very promptly every morning. Staff friendly and chatty which made us feel welcome. Good location for evening strolls along the sea front however the road leading to the sea front is steep at times.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blackjackette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2010

My Wife and I stayed at the Riviera Lodge in June of this year. It was the first time we had stayed there. Previously we have stayed at the Grand hotel and the Corbyn head hotel. To our delight we found the Riviera Lodge to be far superior to either of the former hotels. We stayed in one of the suites which was extremely clean, comfortable, spacious, and well equipped, complete with large screen tv. Our hosts were very pleasant and helpful. Although we only had breakfast at the hotel it was delicious. Value for money was exceptional. We will definitely be returning and would highly recommend this hotel to other travellers.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2wicethefun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMESBURY
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2010

This hotel is the best of the smaller hotels we have stayed in. Lee and Carsten, the owners, were so welcoming, friendly and helpful that it made our stay really relaxing. Both breakfasts and dinners were delicious.....so nice to have fresh food for a change! The hotel was kept really clean and although our room was a little small it had everything we needed for our break (you can upgrade to a larger room but unfortunately there weren't any left). The public areas were well thought out with different areas for eating and relaxing and the pool and the furniture around it were spotless. All in all we had a great time and will not hesitate to book again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meandhimAmesbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.8 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,664 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#6 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#37 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#2 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cary Court Hotel
Cary Court Hotel
#7 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 88 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay

Property: Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Address: 26 Croft Road | Devon, Torquay TQ2 5UE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#4 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#7 Best Value Hotel in Torquay
#12 Business Hotel in Torquay
#14 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish Hotel in Torquay, the Riviera Lodge offers a range of facilities & services to make your stay both pleasant & relaxing.• Located Close to the Seafront, Harbour & Shops• Stylish Bar & Sun Terrace• Heated Swimming Pool & Hot Tub Spa• Free Guest Parking• Premium & Standard Accommodation• Free WiFi and Fixed Internet Access• A great breakfast included • Discounted Rates Available for Longer Stays• No Surcharges for Credit or Debit Card Payment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Torquay
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing