We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, and very friendly owners”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Ranked #4 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great hotel, and very friendly owners”
Reviewed May 10, 2010

I stayed at the hotel for 2 nights in the first weekend of May. The hotel is in a good location, close to both the town centre and bars/restaurants (about a 10 min walk). The hotel is in excellent condition, and was very clean and tidy. The superior double was a great sized room, and had all the required facilities, and as the hotel has been recently refurbished it was styled very nicely.

The breakfast was good, and the owners really made you feel at home.

My one critisism would be the power of the showers, i dont know if this was just our room, but the shower was not very powerful (used to a power shower at home)

Other than that i had a great stay, and would not hesitate to recommend the hotel.

I would also use trip advisor to locate a few restaurants, because if you want to get away from the normal town centre chain restaurants they are a little hidden.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKhattrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    567
    59
    11
    2
    5
See reviews for
61
457
22
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2010

A very clean,friendly hotel. The moment you arrive all your needs are catered for, it is an
ideal base to stay to visit the many attractions on offer. We only ate breakfast at the Hotel but we found this was ample to last us all day.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redtommo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2010

From the moment we walked in the door we were made welcome. The rooms and facilitys where all clean, tidy and confey.
The food was wounderful and cooked to perfection.
Would reccomend the Riviera Lodge Hotel to anyone who wants a nice relaxing stay!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeygold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2010

This hotel is superb spotlessly clean. FOOD FRESH and one of the best breakfast we have had in an hotel. Staff friendly and could not do enough for you.If you are going to Torquay then this is a great place to stay.
Only minus point is that if you are disabled then although there are only about 8 -10 steps to all rooms disabled residents may struggle but even this would be worth the effort to stay at this great hotel
Dave Ann Bedfordshire

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davey12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
1 review
Reviewed April 25, 2010

We booked Riviera Lodge at the last minute when our flight to Tenerife was cancelled due to the volcano.
We picked this hotel because of the great reviews on tripadvisor and we weren't disappointed.The hotel has very high standards and Carston and Lee were excellent hosts.
We only stayed for 4 nights but we left feeling refreshed and happy (we would have been even happier if we could have stayed longer !)
Tip, Lees cooking is the best in the local area,shame we only found out on the last night.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karencollyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2010

We had only a one night stay at the lodge but couldn't have asked for more for the money. The owners take great care and pride in the upkeep and running of the place, and breakfast was prompt and well cooked. First class.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JadeUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2009

I have nothing but praise for this immaculate hotel. Situated in what looked to be Torquays' hotel area it was indeed very pleasing. The hosts were courteous and friendly and as others have reported, nothing is too much trouble. The level of cleanliness was superb, not a speck of dirt, nothing was sticky, the sheets and towels were I have to believe, brand new and the bathroom again, had to be brand new.

Breakfast was lovely, the car park was free and the minibar had very reasonable prices. The decoration of the hotel itself was perfect and very tastefully decorated. The room was well laid out, comfortable and spacious. Overall the hotel had a high quality finish and felt well thought out with attention to detail everywhere.

To sum up then... this hotel is well deserving of the excellent reviews it already has and here is another.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fanny_adams-2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.8 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,663 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#6 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#37 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#2 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cary Court Hotel
Cary Court Hotel
#8 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 88 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay

Property: Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Address: 26 Croft Road | Devon, Torquay TQ2 5UE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#4 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#7 Best Value Hotel in Torquay
#12 Business Hotel in Torquay
#14 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish Hotel in Torquay, the Riviera Lodge offers a range of facilities & services to make your stay both pleasant & relaxing.• Located Close to the Seafront, Harbour & Shops• Stylish Bar & Sun Terrace• Heated Swimming Pool & Hot Tub Spa• Free Guest Parking• Premium & Standard Accommodation• Free WiFi and Fixed Internet Access• A great breakfast included • Discounted Rates Available for Longer Stays• No Surcharges for Credit or Debit Card Payment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Torquay
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing