We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location (and a great hotel)!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Ranked #4 of 86 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 14, 2009

This hotel is a jewel, set just a couple of hundred yards from the seafront on a quiet road it's a pleasant walk to the harbour where there are many restaurants and bars. We ate in the hotel on our first night and the meals were 1st class as were the cooked breakfasts. The owners of the hotel were knowledgable and friendly and the room was great (we had a separate seating area with a sofa where we could sit and watch TV), although the bathroom was a little small, but very clean and modern. We did'nt use the pool but it looked wonderful, a good size and set in lovely gardens and quite private.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StuLux23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (709)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

669 - 675 of 709 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2009

Loverly rooms very highly decorated thro out - very comfortable - didnt want to get out of bed it was so comfy- every where was clean and very well decorated it was a very pleasant and relaxing hotel.The staff were very friendly and helpful ,would definately go there again ,in fact we are planning to take our friends back to this hotel later on in the year.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Litchfields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2009

We were in Torquay for a friend’s graduation, and booked a double, garden room (No.4) at the Riviera Lodge Hotel for the 1 night’s stay.
Located in a quiet road, there was plenty of parking and was only 5 mins walk from the Riviera Centre, and 15 mins from the centre of Torquay.
The staff were very helpful and friendly throughout. We arrived before our room was ready, but we checked in and were given our room key in advance. We were told we could go up to the room after 2pm.
The room and en-suite were both small but perfectly formed: clean, tidy and fresh – absolutely fine for a night’s stay. Just a couple of small negative points; the shower took ages to get hot and the pressure wasn’t brilliant. Our room had a nice view of the garden and outside swimming pool.
Breakfast in the morning was very tasty indeed. An assortment of cereal and juices, tea/coffee, full English and as much toast as you wanted.
If we are ever in Torquay again, we will definitely stay here.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happylady2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2009

Convenient quiet location, spotlessly clean, comfortable rooms, ample parking, excellent food and friendly owners.

Just one grumble .... water pressure in shower could be better.

Easy to see why this place is voted #1 on TripAdvisor.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeekShuv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2009

I loved this B&B! The room was well furnished, clean and comfortable, the staff were great - friendly without being intrusive, and the breakfast was wonderful! I have family in the area, so go to Torquay about once a year, and I will definitely be staying there on my next visit.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynnP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Riviera Lodge hotel in October 2008. We found it to be a very charming and well appointed hotel with excellant customer service.

The bar / breakfast area was very comfortable and welcoming and the breakfast was very good.

The hotel is in a good location with ample off street parking and only a pleasant 15 min stroll from the centre of Torquay.

The only downside was that on the night we visited the bar wasn't open so we were unable to enjoy a drink on the comfortable and inviting looking sofas!

Overall a very clean and tidy hotel that was great value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PauloBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2008

We have just returned from a 3 night break in Torquay, in October.
The hotel was quiet as it was nearing the end of the season, in fact we only saw one person and he was the owner!!!
This did not put us off the hotel.
The service was very good!!, the breakfast was cooked fresh to order and was really tasty and the room (a premium double) was really nice. It was clean and very well maintained with a fresh modern decor. There were nice little touches as well such as, bath robes, toiletries and a soft closing toilet seat (which my husband loved). The bed was lovely and comfortable and the room nice and warm.
The hotel is in a quiet street which is about a ten minute walk from the town and harbour which was good, this meant we were close but had a good night's sleep because there was no noise. It was also about a 15 min walk from the train station too.
All in all we had a great time and would definitely recommend this hotel and we plan to go back again.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Chili-girl33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.8 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 86 in Torquay
3,017 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 86 in Torquay
2,466 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#5 of 86 in Torquay
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#19 of 86 in Torquay
1,151 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cary Court Hotel
Cary Court Hotel
#3 of 86 in Torquay
541 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#55 of 86 in Torquay
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay

Address: 26 Croft Road | Devon, Torquay TQ2 5UE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#4 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#11 Business Hotel in Torquay
#13 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: $113 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish Hotel in Torquay, the Riviera Lodge offers a range of facilities & services to make your stay both pleasant & relaxing.• Located Close to the Seafront, Harbour & Shops• Stylish Bar & Sun Terrace• Heated Swimming Pool & Hot Tub Spa• Free Guest Parking• Premium & Standard Accommodation• Free WiFi and Fixed Internet Access• A great breakfast included • Discounted Rates Available for Longer Stays• No Surcharges for Credit or Debit Card Payment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Torquay
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing