We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 out of 5! A Perfect Baby-moon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Ranked #4 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2014

This hotel is idyllically located a few moments walk from the harbour and well equipped with everything you could possibly need. Our room was a deluxe double with garden view complete with king sized bed, 2 seater sofa, Krups coffee machine and kettle and not one, but two TVs. A friendly and relaxed atmosphere blended effortlessly with clockwork precision and high expectations.

We arrived far too early as we rang the bell (car problems had made us over cautious) and we were greeted politely by the proprietor, Carsten, who politely told us that it wasn't possible to check in any earlier than 2pm. A fact we knew, we just wanted to make sure they knew that we were planning to park on their property as we amused ourselves at one of torquay's many attractions for a while before checking in at the appropriate time.

Upon check in, Carsten helped my husband bring in our luggage noticing that I was pregnant - he wouldn't hear of me lifting anything. He showed us to our room and apologised profusely for there not being a standing fan available (it was particularly warm - but we hadn't asked!) Within a couple of hours, a newly purchased fan was assembled and In our room. They simply couldn't do enough for us. The service here was second to none.

The food was beautiful and plentiful. Again, being pregnant, nothing was too much trouble. All the other guests at the hotel seemed to be having as wonderful a time as us and I can't recommend the Riviera Lodge hotel enough.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (709)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 709 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2014

me and my family all loved this hotel and torquay, the hotel is spotless and a credit to its owners who cant do enough for you . I normally want to come home after a few days on holiday but I wanted to stay longer here! the hotel facilities are all excellent especially the pool and hot tub. The owners and staff are excellent . We would revisit no problem and I would recommend to anyone. well done Riviera lodge!

Room Tip: we had two compact rooms and they were ample for us , the premium rooms looked really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank RolyPounder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

We were more than happy with our room, where the attention to detail even included an ice bucket. The hotel was spotless and the décor impeccable. If there were no parking spaces available at the hotel , other spaces were available at a nearby hotel if you asked. The location was about 10 minutes by foot, up a hill from the nearest beach and restaurants, which being very senior citizens, we did find a bit of a climb. There is however a surfeit of taxis, and non seemed the slightest bothered that the journey only took 3 minutes. There was lots to do in Torquay the surrounding area, which the hotel owners were only to pleased to advise about. We were only there for three days but enjoyed use of the pool and the hot tub. The garden is a sun trap an was hot and sunny into late evening. P & M

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and we had an amazing time. The pool is fabulous and the hot tub is a real bonus. The location is perfect a nice quiet road, with off road parking and just a short stroll to the promenade. The hotel is exceptionally clean and well looked after. The staff were welcoming, knowledgeable, witty and generally lovely. The breakfasts were delicious and set you up for the day. It genuinely is like being abroad when the weather is good I'd go back again and again!

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Nicola_Jo_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2014

You did not want for anything even down to suntan cream
The hotel is run to perfection the hot tub was superb The rooms were very clean the beverages in the room was plentiful The pool was very nice towels were supplied if you asked for them there were even fleece rugs If you were chilly
Jean & Mel

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeannette J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Had a lovely 2 night stay and we were extremely happy with our accommodation, our room was very clean as was rest of the hotel. Carstan was always happy to help and made us very welcome. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 120,371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Ruby & I had a wonderful week with Carlson, Lee & Nick they were the epitemy of the true Host's and the hotel was immaculate and the service was second to none, we will be back that is a guarentee. Wonderful!!!!!

Room Tip: Even the standard double room is higher standard than most in a 5 star hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Hato2296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.8 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,082 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#6 of 85 in Torquay
520 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cary Court Hotel
Cary Court Hotel
#3 of 85 in Torquay
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 85 in Torquay
2,498 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#19 of 85 in Torquay
1,166 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay

Address: 26 Croft Road | Devon, Torquay TQ2 5UE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#4 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#11 Business Hotel in Torquay
#13 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: $113 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish Hotel in Torquay, the Riviera Lodge offers a range of facilities & services to make your stay both pleasant & relaxing.• Located Close to the Seafront, Harbour & Shops• Stylish Bar & Sun Terrace• Heated Swimming Pool & Hot Tub Spa• Free Guest Parking• Premium & Standard Accommodation• Free WiFi and Fixed Internet Access• A great breakfast included • Discounted Rates Available for Longer Stays• No Surcharges for Credit or Debit Card Payment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Torquay
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing