We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Haytor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Haytor Hotel
Ranked #6 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 7, 2008

It was nice to stay in a hotel that had made an effort with the communal decorations as well as in the room..Top marks.....

A great location near enough away from the town but everything within walking distance.

Breakfast was lovely and fresh and kept us going till lunch time.

We use to live in Torquay and came back to reminise and spent many hours at Thatchers and Meadfoot beach..........both nearby.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fizzyisarasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,066)
There are newer reviews for Haytor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,002 - 1,008 of 1,066 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2008

Fantastic hotel in fabulous peaceful place. Owners and staff so friendly and helpful. Very clean and well kept hotel. Have spent time there on several ocassions. Would recommend.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank EllieBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2008

My partner and I had a pleasant stay at the Haytor in August. We were attending a function at an alternative venue and the Haytor was clearly a more comfortable venue to book into – being as it is at the top of the Trip Advisor list for Torquay!

The gentleman who greeted us was extremely helpful and was happy to answer any questions regarding the local area, taxis, and how to get to where we had to be that evening. The room was small, but comfortable. I would imagine that rooms in the main part of the house may be a little more sizable. The room had a plasma TV and the usual tea and coffee making facilities that you would expect. The bathroom was very small, but again equipped with all that you would expect. Unfortunately as we had arrived after 5pm we were unable to order a paper for the morning, this was however, clearly explained to us so no complaints there.

What I did find annoying, and this purely because I have spent time staying in hotels around Europe, was that breakfast was only served between 8.30 and 9.30 in the morning. After a late night this is rather testing. It was a bank holiday, but I would expect this to be even more of a reason to extend the hours for guests enjoying a brief get away. Any other hotel of this class should offer breakfast for more than one hour surely? We had also been told that check out was 10.30 a.m. Another British trait that we seem to encounter all too often. Thankfully this was generously extended to 11.a.m. What is it with UK hotels? I regularly find that check out is 12.pm on the continent and that breakfast is usually always served until at least 11a.m. Rant over.

All in all a lovely place, just let down by those British ways… early birds should book at once

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Nik2740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2008

My wife and I have just spent three nights over the bank holiday weekend at the Haytor Hotel.
Before we booked the hotel we read the reviews in Tripadvisor which were all good, and when we arrived after a long drive from Cheshire we were not disappointed in fact all the reviews and plus points were in our eyes very under stated.
The hotel is spotlessly clean,the furniture is all in very good taste,the staff Chris, Rob and Jean were very pleasant and helpful when it came to recommending places to eat etc, in fact Chris actually booked a table for us on two separate occasions.
The bedroom was fabulous with top quality drapes, bedding and towels.
Taking everything into consideration it is by far one of the best hotels we have been fortunate to find in England,which is a refreshing change from the tired decor and the staff with the couldn't care less attitude that you find all too frequently these days.
We both agree that we would without doubt recommend this hotel to anyone who in contemplating visiting Torquay.

Stayed: August 2008
Thank ossiejolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2008

When we arrived we were greeted by Chris and were offered tea/coffee and biscuits. The décor in the lounge is bright and seating comfortable.

We had the Double Plus room which had a lovely LCD flat screen TV with all the facilities in the room. The bathroom was a real downfall with no shower mat and no rail around the bath – so nothing to hold onto when getting out of the bath/shower. There was two large holes in the wall above the toilet which had not been filled in.

The breakfast was lovely and staff helpful and quick to serve.

Really nice garden but unfortunately due to the weather unable to enjoy it.

Although it calls itself a hotel it is actually a B&B and just under £100 you can get better value elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gingernut_brum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Haytor for 3 nights at the end of June 2008. We had a fabulous, relaxing time and would definately recommend it to a friend. The room/hotel was clean and the breakfast was great! The staff were always friendly and ready to help you in any way possible. The hotel itself is up a hill just 5 minutes walk from the harbour. There are a few nice restaurants near by - we would recommend Biancos and the Legends if you like a good steak! Overall a very enjoyable experience and we would definately go back.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bubblesbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2008

We have just had 4 nights stay at the Haytor Hotel and found everthing was just what we wanted for this Weekend. The Staff and all the suroundings made our stay even more enjoyable. The Hotel has been recently refurbished very nicely.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Moandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,953 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#5 of 87 in Torquay
495 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 87 in Torquay
645 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 87 in Torquay
2,430 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 87 in Torquay
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haytor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haytor Hotel

Address: Meadfoot Road, Torquay TQ1 2JP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Torquay
#2 Family Hotel in Torquay
#2 Business Hotel in Torquay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: $110 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Haytor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury award-winning Torquay accommodation. The Haytor Hotel is an elegant detached early Victorian villa built in 1835 and set in beautiful gardens. The hotel is located in a conservation area on leafy and peaceful Meadfoot Road just 400 metres from central Torquay and the harbour with its many bars, restaurants and shops. A short walk the other way takes you to the award-winning Meadfoot Beach and coastal paths with stunning bay views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Haytor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haytor Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing