We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back”
Review of Haytor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Haytor Hotel
Ranked #5 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 8, 2014

We stayed at the Haytor Hotel on our Wedding weekend and it was fabulous. Made to feel very welcome as soon as we arrived. Room was fantastic - it was so comfortable and clean. We had a lovely view overlooking the garden and Torquay. On the morning of the wedding I didn't go down to breakfast and there was knocked on the door to see if I would like some toast or cereal (which was incredibly sweet). We had a lovely breakfast the following day - cooked breakfast, toast, cereals, juice, tea and coffee. Nothing was too much trouble and would like to thank Roger and Peter so much for a wonderful stay and hope to see you again soon.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhiannon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterandRoger, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Thanks for taking time to leave a review and for your kind comments. We're glad to have played our little bit in your special weekend and wish you the very best for your life together. See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,075)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

507 - 513 of 1,075 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2014

This is a gem of a hotel in a fabulous location only a 10 minute walk away from breathtaking views at Meadfoot beach, and a short walk in the opposite direction to the main promenade. There are some great restaurants very close by and plenty of cuisine's to choose from. The owners made our stay very comfortable and they are doing a great job of running this place. We had a very informative and warm welcome on our arrival and plenty of information about surrounding areas. Our room was spacious and comfortable, the breakfast was grand! A special mention must be given to the lady who serves breakfast and makes sure everyone eats properly. The whole experience was very memorable and we are looking forward to returning to this lovely hotel! :) Excellent in every way.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaunteresque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterandRoger, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review and we're pleased to have helped towards a nice break in Torquay. We appreciate your appreciation of our efforts, we love the business we're in and making people happy! We're just a small team and Jean (our breakfast waitress) is a star! Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

We are a group of older football supporters who stayed at the Haytor Hotel, in Torquay over the May bank holiday weekend, as our team were playing Torquay. We decided to make it a long weekend away, and the long suffering wives could have a weekend away as well. We were greeted on arrival by the owners who made us all feel very welcome. The hotel was very clean and comfortable, and the breakfasts were great, plenty of choice and very well cooked. The rooms were also very comfortable, and again clean. I had a bit of trouble with the tempremental shower, but did get it sorted. The bar is good to come back to for a nightcap.This hotel will be first choice next time we go to Torquay, and will be recommended but us all. Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterandRoger, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review and thank you for your lovely comments.
We really glad you enjoyed your stay and that the match had a good outcome and your team stayed up! Thanks for letting us know about the shower, it was a quick fix and now sorted. I know your team wont be playing Torquay again until we come back up into the same division, but hopefully that wont be too long and in the meantime we'd love to see you again for a non football break!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the haytor this time last year and were keen to go back, (even more so when we received a returning guest discount). The owners are lovely! The rooms are clean and homely and the bed extremely comfortable! Free, fast wi-fi, and a great carpark!
The hotel also has a bar, so it's lovely to buy a bottle of wine and sit out on the beautiful terrace in the evenings before strolling for 3 minutes into the heart of torquay.
When we arrived the owner spent 15 minutes recommending activities to do and restaurants to visit, giving us lots of maps and booklets to keep, which was great, and we took him up on lots of the suggestions.
The only downside was the shower, which dribbled out, even when used at off peak times. But this is the only negative comment we have.
We would definitely recommend it and would go back again!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Sophie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterandRoger, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your review and we are glad you enjoyed your second stay with us.
Apologies for the shower, we're getting this checked out and thanks for bringing it to our attention.
We have a range of rooms from small doubles to our Premier rooms, some with baths, but most with showers (see our website for details). We use a variety of shower types (mains pressure electric, mixer, and tank fed thermostatic), and it looks as if this one needs a tweak.
Best wishes and hope to see you again before long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Small comfortable Hotel. Attentive owners. Car parking. Water in the room. Has a small bar. Lovely gardens. Clean. Great for couples, single people , Gay friendly. They do not take children under 12. Good breakfast

Room Tip: If you have a problem with stairs ask for ground floor or first as second floor stairs fairly steep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterandRoger, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your review and for your comments and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay.
The hotel is located just 400m from the Harbour in a leafy conservation area a short way up Meadfoot Road, which like much of Torquay (and Devon) is on a hill. Fortunately ours is one of the smaller ones and the gradient from the Harbour averages just 1 in 15. Most people leave their cars in our carpark and walk to and from the Harbour, however if you have any mobility issues, you may choose to take a 2 minute taxi back to the hotel (plenty available in the harbour area).
Our rooms are located on three floors and if you book direct with us via phone or our website, we are happy to try to arrange for a particular room / floor. Our Small Doubles (which this review stayed in) and Standard Doubles with Baths are the rooms on the Second floor, however our other rooms are either on the ground or first floor.
Again, thanks for the review and we hope to see you again next time you're in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

I just spent 3 nights there and loved it. Lovely owners and staff. Great breakfast! Beautiful hotel & peaceful grounds. I'll definitely be back. Short stroll to the seafront, shops & restaurants. Wonderful place and super comfortable beds!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterandRoger, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review and for your lovely comments. We actually got round recently to getting one of the luxury mattress toppers for our own bed - having put them in all the guest rooms last year and hearing so many good comments, we decided we were missing out!
Best wishes and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Set in a quiet leafy spot, a short walk from all that Torquay harbour has to offer, as some have already reviewed, it is halfway up the hill, but we didn't find it too bad at all. Its not too steep a hill.
The owners are knowledgeable, very helpful & friendly, Our room was perfect, i'd pre chosen from the images on the hotel website, & was not disappointed. Best described as, luxurious, clean, warm & inviting. The bed was very comfy.
Breakfast had a good selection of cereals, muesli, fresh fruit, yogurts, & juices on the dresser in the breakfast room, cafetiere coffee was a nice touch, before choosing from a menu offering delights from a cream cheese bagel, boiled egg & soldiers (complete with smiley faces ;) ) to a full English breakfast, which was delicious. The lady who served breakfast is wonderful too.
We'd be back in a heartbeat, thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterandRoger, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review - and such a helpful and informative review for future visitors as well.
Best wishes and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
2.9 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
624 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cary Court Hotel
Cary Court Hotel
#3 of 87 in Torquay
541 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#6 of 87 in Torquay
520 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 87 in Torquay
3,242 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 87 in Torquay
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haytor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haytor Hotel

Address: Meadfoot Road, Torquay TQ1 2JP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Torquay
#2 Business Hotel in Torquay
#3 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: $123 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Haytor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury award-winning Torquay accommodation. The Haytor Hotel is an elegant detached early Victorian villa built in 1835 and set in beautiful gardens. The hotel is located in a conservation area on leafy and peaceful Meadfoot Road just 400 metres from central Torquay and the harbour with its many bars, restaurants and shops. A short walk the other way takes you to the award-winning Meadfoot Beach and coastal paths with stunning bay views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Haytor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haytor Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing