We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Break (Birthday & Anniversary)”
Review of Haytor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Haytor Hotel
Ranked #5 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We found the reviews on trip advisor very helpful when looking to book our recent break to Torquay. We booked a small double room at the Haytor and the room was well equipped with everything you need for a comfortable stay. Tea and Coffee making facilities, complimentary toiletries and a comfy bed and lovely pillows.

On our arrival Peter greeted us and provided us with information on the area and quality restaurants well worth a visit. Both Roger and Peter were great hosts and the breakfast room and lounge/bar area were tastefully decorated nothing short of first rate.

Speaking of first rate the breakfasts were full of quality ingredients and were well cooked just what you need to start the day, choice of juices, cerals and yoghurts.

I would most definately recommend the Haytor Hotel to friends and colleagues the property is sitatued on a quiet road and short distance from the main streets and parking was just outside the front door, we will return.....

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Portia196802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterandRoger, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review and for your kind comments, and great useful points for future guests. We look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,075)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

545 - 551 of 1,075 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2014

Great location, can do coast walks and seafront walks all from the front door of the haytor. Really good location for food and socialising, the helpful hosts recommended some, we tried jingles and the elephant -two good meals for different reasons.
The hotel was exceptionally well kept and homely without being intrusive, breakfast great quality and rooms really nice . It was a nice touch to let us leave the car whilst we made the most of the last day and not have to worry about putting in public car park with all our gear in it,

Thoroughly recommend this for a break, something special.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterandRoger, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review and for your kind comments.
Hope to see you again before long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here on my own whilst in the area on business. What a great find!

A beautiful building, plenty of free parking and a warm welcome. It has a nice bar/lounge with a selection of local bottled beers and the public areas are beautifully furnished.

The room was spacious with a good ensuite. The whole place is immaculate.

Breakfast was extremely tasty and served quickly.

A great hotel which I will definitely return to with my family when it warms up!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank tree888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterandRoger, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, and for your kind comments and helpful points for future travellers.
We look for to seeing you again later in the year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

I have just spent a great night at the Haytor. Roger was very hospitable and made the stay very enjoyable. I arrived a little early and the room was available straight away. The room was excellent and I had a good night's sleep followed by a very well cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisPalmer133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterandRoger, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to leave your review and for your kind comments.
We can't always have rooms ready before normal check-in, but if they are, guests are always welcome to check-in early and can always leave their cars and luggage and explore the town until their room is sorted.
We're glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back before too long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

I'm flummoxed. Not often I stay somewhere and truly cannot find a single even slightly negative thing to say. Our hosts were lovely. Our room was comfy, clean, had a lovely view. The breakfast was great and served with good cheer. Bar service really good as well. Nothing was too much trouble. If you're looking for somewhere to stay, ring them.

Room Tip: Ring them to ask about rooms; don't rely on the 'cheap room' websites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amberlight9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterandRoger, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Thanks for your review, we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We could only stay one night sadly, but both Roger and Peter were very welcoming and friendly and couldn't have been more helpful. The bed was super comfortable and in an extremely well decorated room. In fact, all the decor in the hotel is well thought out and soothing. Breakfast was delicious and served in a light and airy room. The location of the hotel is very convenient, just up from The Strand/Harbour but set back from the road in a peaceful location. Definitely recommend.

Room Tip: I think they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneSomerset_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterandRoger, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Thanks for your lovely review, hope to see you again soon .... and maybe for a longer stay as there's lots to explore with Torquay as your base.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

We had booked into a totally different hotel but when we arrived it was not as stated and we left.
We called at the Haytor Hotel where we had stayed before and luckily they had a room.
The room was fantastic, it had a nautical theme but was so tastefully done the bathroom was amazing, the new owners were brilliant, so hospitable and went out there way to make us feel very welcome.
Our breakfast was tip top, as was the service by Jean.
We will return and would recommend.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Thank Kitchener50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterandRoger, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Thanks for your review and we're glad to have been able to "rescue" you after your first hotel didn't work out for you.
So pleased you liked your room, each one of our 15 rooms is different and we try to balance simplicity with style, and those little extra touches (like Aromatherapy Associates toiletries, bottled water and gorgeous mattress toppers) in every room whether its our Small Doubles, Standard Doubles, Executive, Superior, or top of the range, Premier Rooms.
Thanks for your comments about breakfast, and yes, Jean is a Star!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#6 of 85 in Torquay
520 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,119 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 85 in Torquay
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 85 in Torquay
666 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 85 in Torquay
916 reviews
1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#30 of 85 in Torquay
2,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haytor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haytor Hotel

Address: Meadfoot Road, Torquay TQ1 2JP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Torquay
#2 Business Hotel in Torquay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#3 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: $118 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Haytor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury award-winning Torquay accommodation. The Haytor Hotel is an elegant detached early Victorian villa built in 1835 and set in beautiful gardens. The hotel is located in a conservation area on leafy and peaceful Meadfoot Road just 400 metres from central Torquay and the harbour with its many bars, restaurants and shops. A short walk the other way takes you to the award-winning Meadfoot Beach and coastal paths with stunning bay views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Haytor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haytor Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing