We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Owners... But Same Lovely Hotel With A Warm Welcome”
Review of Haytor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Haytor Hotel
Ranked #6 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“New Owners... But Same Lovely Hotel With A Warm Welcome”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We try to visit Torquay at least once a year for long weekend (to enjoy the great variety of bars & restaurants) and The Haytor is always our Hotel of choice.
We have previously posted a review for this hotel, that was sometime ago but I'm please to say very little has changed, it continues to be a great place to stay... offering good accommodation in an ideal central location.
The whole hotel is well presented and of a high standard, from the well tended gardens (with ample parking), to the relaxing bar or the bright breakfast room or your bedroom.... you won't be disappointed.
You're only a short walk form the quayside and there are many good restaurants (and one or two excellent ones) within a matter of a few minutes walk away.
2014 saw Peter and Roger take over the hotel, they might be new to The Haytor but they've settled in well and are very welcoming and helpful (do pick their brains if you want some local advice on attractions, restaurants, etc.)
We've already booked another mini break for this year!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike_Jak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterandRoger, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you for your kind words, and great review.
We are glad to hear you've had another great stay.
We actually took over near the start of the 2013 season, so we are now entering our second year at the Haytor Hotel, and feel so lucky to be able to live in such a fabulous building.
Over the last year we have tweaked a few things with more locally sourced ingredients for our breakfasts to give you a great start to the day, sumptuous new mattress toppers on every bed, and more local beers stocked in our cosy bar to enjoy there or on our garden terrace.
We are really pleased to have recently been winner of Trip Advisor's 2014 Travellers Choice award for both "Small Hotel" and "Romance" and are looking forward to 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    866
    138
    18
    1
    1
See reviews for
80
735
22
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

This is the second time we have visited the Haytor and their standards haven't changed. Owners are very friendly and welcoming, the breakfasts brilliant and rooms spotless. Will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterandRoger, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Lovely to see you again and thanks for making the time to leave a review.
We're proud of both our breakfasts and the standards of cleanliness.
We hold the top 5 out of 5 rating for Food Hygiene run by the Food Standards Agency and source many of the key ingredients from local suppliers, with the sausages, dry cured bacon, and eggs all coming from local farms (as well as a range of local beers for later in the day!).
As far as our cleanliness goes, as well as the Trip Advisor awards we've got, we've also received a "top Clean" award from another body based on customer reviews. We have a small but great team of staff who take pride in their work and are always chuffed to hear good feedback like this. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 10, 2014

This is a small, mid-priced hotel with the owners in residence. I was visiting family and decided to pay a bit more rather than stay at the budget end of the market.
The extra was easily worth it. The hotel is well presented with an excellent attention to detail. High threadcount sheets, great English breakfast (with emphasis on quality rather than greasy quantity), personal requests catered for (eg soya milk) and the hosts are friendly without being in your face.
There are lots of restaurants and the harbour within a 5 or 6 minute walk and yet the location is quiet.
Hard to find any negatives: the bed (double) could have been larger (although it was very comfy) and the walk from the harbour is uphill (not a problem unless old or infirm).
Overall I highly recommend and would stay here agin.

Room Tip: I was on the ground floor and I could hear people walking in the room above although it was not exce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterandRoger, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thanks for your great review and the time taken to write it. We're really pleased we "hit the spot"!
We also think attention to detail is the key, and we've recently introduced new luxury matress toppers to make the beds even more snuggly, and this week are introducing new, extra long pillows for our rooms with twin, king and superking beds.
We also think our Full English Breakfasts are worth shouting about, with good quality local eggs, bacon and sausages at their heart, but that's not all we can offer, there is vegetarian and gluten free options as well and, as you say, soya milk for those that want it.
As well as the double that you stayed in, we also have Twins, Kings, and superkings available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Both I and my partner stayed in the Haytor for a two night get away in December. Peter and Roger are great hosts and made us feel very welcome during our stay over the festive period. Breakfast menu was varied and we opted for the full English which did not disappoint. The room was spacious and contained brew making equipment, water and biscuits. The bathroom was en-suite and the shower was great. The location itself is lovely, very leafy and the house is very very nice (not your typical Torquay hotel). Would have stayed forever but real life beckoned, can't recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damon_Sad_Tiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterandRoger, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thanks for your lovely review and we are please to hear we helped make the festive season a little bit more special.
Best wishes for 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at The Haytor Hotel from December 27th-31st 2013 and were hugely impressed.

The owners Roger and Peter were really friendly and warm and couldn't do enough for us. They gave us recommendations on local restaurants and attractions, none of which disappointed.

The hotel's location is wonderful as is it up a quiet road so there is little noise, however, it is only a 5 minute walk away from loads of the restaurants/bars and a short drive from many other key places in Torquay. Perfect!

Our room was lovely and comfortable and was cleaned everyday. The decor was great- very stylish. Breakfast was also lovely- we sampled the full english and the porridge and thoroughly enjoyed both.

Should we ever decide to visit Torquay again, we would definitely be happy to have a second visit to The Haytor Hotel!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Naomi_Arabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterandRoger, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thanks for your review and we're please we helped make your xmas stay one to remember, and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Very friendly and warm welcome from the host. Very clean and spacious room, comfy bed, nicely furnished and bottles of water very handy. Usual tea and coffee and some biscuits too. Nice and quiet, good variety of breakfasts on offer, and very flexible (nice and full every morning!). Plenty of local information available, and host very knowledgeable. Lots of restaurants and bars within a stones throw of the hotel, but it's just far enough away from the town to avoid any late night noise. Perfect location to venture out from, easy to pick up the trail of coastal walks, and 5 minutes to the harbour for trips (note: most boat and tourist trips stop at end of October - so we missed them, but plenty of other things to do and see, and eat!).

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterandRoger, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thanks for your review, packed full of useful information for future guests.
Torquay is a great location to explore Devon, and our location in a conservation area 400m from the harbour means you are close to the town which you can walk down to leaving the car in our carpark or venture our for a coastal walk, or drive out into the moors. For those without transport, the harbour is a key stopping point for a range of bus services including the No12 which serves the whole Bay giving easy access to Paignton and Brixham and other bus services going to the charming village of Cockington and the clifftop resort of Babbacombe. As the reviewer mentioned, in Summer there are also a range of boat trips including trips to Dartmouth and the home of Agatha Christie, and a regular service to Brixham and Paignton.
Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a weekend in December. Very friendly welcome from Peter, we were sat down offered information on the area for food etc which makes a nice change.
Decor throughout was very nice including rooms.
Breakfast was cooked perfectly. Roger was also very friendly amd kept us entertained one evening after returning from a meal.
Overall very nice experience, my only personal opinion to make it better would be to have some background music playing on entrance and also in the bar area of an evening.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TheGoodwins_plymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterandRoger, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review.
You'll be pleased to hear we now do have the background music in the (residents only) Bar and Lounge, and although its only on quiet so as not to be intrusive (and can be turned off on request for guests who prefer complete quiet) we do agree it makes a difference. Thanks for the suggestion. We're also proud to support the music industry by holding both PRS and PPL licenses for playing music in public areas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,808 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
508 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#2 of 87 in Torquay
474 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#36 of 87 in Torquay
2,324 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 87 in Torquay
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haytor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haytor Hotel

Property: Haytor Hotel
Address: Meadfoot Road, Torquay TQ1 2JP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Torquay
#2 Family Hotel in Torquay
#2 Business Hotel in Torquay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Haytor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury award-winning Torquay accommodation. The Haytor Hotel is an elegant detached early Victorian villa built in 1835 and set in beautiful gardens. The hotel is located in a conservation area on leafy and peaceful Meadfoot Road just 400 metres from central Torquay and the harbour with its many bars, restaurants and shops. A short walk the other way takes you to the award-winning Meadfoot Beach and coastal paths with stunning bay views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Haytor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haytor Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing