We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just checked out from 2 amazing nights sleep.”
Review of Haytor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Haytor Hotel
Ranked #7 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
2 reviews
“Just checked out from 2 amazing nights sleep.”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Having stopped in a few hotels in Torquay over the years the Haytor has been one of the best. With its stylish decor its a breath of fresh air. Staff are friendly and welcoming and we have had 2 of the best nights sleep in a long time. Would come back in a heart beat!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Akwelshman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,015 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    857
    138
    18
    1
    1
See reviews for
80
726
22
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stourport on Severn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We called in on spec and stayed from 14-17 May. Although the only room available was a standard double it was excellent. Peter and Roger were wonderful hosts even printing boarding passes for the next part of our journey.

Parking was good, the only slight drawback was the hill when walking the short way back from the front. I would certainly go back next time I am in Torquay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwent
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed here from 24 to 27 May and had a perfect weekend. The owners were very welcoming and Jean was more than helpful. The hotel is spotless and the decor very tasteful. The location is fantastic, very close to the bars, restaurants and marina but also in a very quiet location. We parked the car and didn't have to use it all weekend.
Our room was lovely and even though we were at the front of the hotel it was so peaceful we had the window open all night.
We would definitely stay again and have already recommended it to friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GwentValleysgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed at this Hotel from Friday the 24th of May until Monday the 27th 2013. I was in room 14 which was perfect for just me.

This is a really excellent Hotel and I was very comfortable there. The Staff / Owners were very welcoming and friendly. The decor throughout is very tasteful and all the public areas were spotless and clean. There is a nice bar area though I did not use it and the gardens are very nice. There is plenty of car parking.

If I come back to Torquay I would like to stay in this Hotel.

Room Tip: Not able to comment on the other rooms but 14 was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We would highly recommend this hotel for the high quality service and delightful accomodation. The hospitality from the new owners, Peter and Roger was incredibly welcoming and personal. One of our favourite long weekend locations.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shi shi r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Our second stay at this hotel. New owners Peter and Roger were very friendly and have great ideas to improve and already excellent hotel. Jean still waiting on and Sue looking after the bedrooms help to maintain standards. We wish them every success.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We have stayed at the Haytor once before and were most impressed..The new owners Peter and Roger are maintaining the high standards set by there predecessors who developed the excellent reputation the Haytor enjoys... Our party of 10 were all impressed with the venue, location and the bedrooms.The breakfast menu is excellent. We will return to this excellently run establishment.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gowercoast1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,757 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
499 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,284 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#2 of 87 in Torquay
470 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 87 in Torquay
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haytor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haytor Hotel

Property: Haytor Hotel
Address: Meadfoot Road, Torquay TQ1 2JP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Torquay
#2 Family Hotel in Torquay
#2 Business Hotel in Torquay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#5 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Haytor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury award-winning Torquay accommodation. The Haytor Hotel is an elegant detached early Victorian villa built in 1835 and set in beautiful gardens. The hotel is located in a conservation area on leafy and peaceful Meadfoot Road just 400 metres from central Torquay and the harbour with its many bars, restaurants and shops. A short walk the other way takes you to the award-winning Meadfoot Beach and coastal paths with stunning bay views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Haytor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haytor Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing