We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Boutique Hotel”
Review of Haytor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Haytor Hotel
Ranked #5 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 22, 2013

It had been some years since we last visited Haytor and the hotel, with its current owners, is even better than we remembered. Our room was tastefully decorated and luxuriously equipped - the bed super comfortable and fitted with high quality linen. There was a choice of pillows which meant that whether you prefer a firm or super soft option you are well catered for. Nothing seems to be too much trouble to make your stay memorable. Breakfast choice was good, quality produce and very tasty - and always piping hot. The location is ideal for the town and as a base for walking.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,075)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

671 - 677 of 1,075 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2013

This was our first visit to The Haytor and it won't be our last. It is very tastefully furnished, comfortable, spotlessly clean and co-owner Chris is welcoming and helpful. All the rooms are different but are decorated to the same high standard. The Haytor is set in attractive gardens about five minutes from the centre of Torquay and is ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera (and relaxing afterwards). Breakfast is cooked to order and plentiful. It's good to stay in a hotel and be treated as a valued guest rather than an inconvenience. The Haytor merits its TripAdvisor awards.

Room Tip: In summer, some rooms are cooler than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank winchesterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Went July 2012 for my 50th, for a weekend. Really enjoyed our stay. We had been a few years before, and our choice was based on location and quality. The hotel is nicely near the town centre, however the only slight minus point is your short walk back from the town is up a steep hill. The owners are friendly and very welcoming. The lady waitress for breakfast is the best we have come across (and she loved her job!). The room was 100% clean, as was all the hotel. All facilities were of a high standard and wifi as well. The front car park is enough for all guests, and there is a small garden area next to it. If your looking for a hotel close to the front, shops and good pubs/eating houses, this is for you. The Haytor is just out of reach of noise and the area gives a calming feel. If you want quality and a quiet stay, book early!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank touchline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We visited Torbay last summer while touring the southwest. Haytor Hotel is smart, tidy and clean with welcoming and helpful hosts. Breakfast was well presented, tasty and served with a smile. The hotel is a handy 5 minutes walk to restaurants and town centre. The room was comfortable and clean and we sleep very well. All in all we enjoyed a nice stay and would recommend the Haytor. Apologies for late review.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Have stayed here several times and as usual 'an excellent experience'. Clean warm rooms, lovely setting in well kept gardens, great breakfast and friendly owners and staff with nothing too much trouble. As someone once said "We will be back"

Room Tip: Speak to Christopher or Robert regarding your preferences
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trev b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

This is a large guest house. Room 1 wasn't big enough to swing a cat. You needed to duck to get underneath the TV on the wall. It also has poor sound proofing as we could hear other users chatting, using their bathroom toilet, or opening and closing doors. These were the downsides. The good bits were, it was clean, the breakfast was lovely and the lady serving was very pleasant, it has good parking and it is close to the sea front. Based on the room size I would say we were overcharged.

Room Tip: If you are couple then avoid room 1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob-Oxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisnRob, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

I am very sorry that this guest had such an awful experience, certainly no complaint was ever put to anybody at the Hotel. I have raised a query with Tripadvisor regarding this review as i am uncertain of its authenticity. However, I will respond. Room 1 is a standard double room with ensuite shower. Room sizes, as well as noise, is very subjective. If you live in a large house with large rooms in the middle of a field then anything else can feel less comfortable, and if you aren't used to sharing your space with others you may be sensitive to noise.The Haytor is in a very quiet area which is mentioned often on most other reviews and we have excellent soundproofing to all of our rooms. Our standard double rooms offer everything you need for a stay in Torquay. I am 6' tall and certainly do not have to duck to get past the TV. As i say, I have raised a query with Tripadvisor regarding this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed at the Haytor for the weekend with some friends. Beautiful building set in lovely gardens, super interior and a few minutes from the town. Lovely, clean room which overlooked the well kept gardens . Great breakfast and good service . Both the proprietors were very helpful and nothing too much trouble. Thanks for the lovely break 'Haytor' - will definitely return - added bonus the weather was beautiful. Happy to recommend

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frances S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
2.9 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#8 of 85 in Torquay
618 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#6 of 85 in Torquay
520 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cary Court Hotel
Cary Court Hotel
#3 of 85 in Torquay
541 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haytor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haytor Hotel

Address: Meadfoot Road, Torquay TQ1 2JP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Torquay
#2 Business Hotel in Torquay
#3 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: $120 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Haytor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury award-winning Torquay accommodation. The Haytor Hotel is an elegant detached early Victorian villa built in 1835 and set in beautiful gardens. The hotel is located in a conservation area on leafy and peaceful Meadfoot Road just 400 metres from central Torquay and the harbour with its many bars, restaurants and shops. A short walk the other way takes you to the award-winning Meadfoot Beach and coastal paths with stunning bay views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Haytor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haytor Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing