We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel”
Review of Ravenswood

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ravenswood
Ranked #49 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night. The owners were very friendly and welcoming. Room was clean and comfortable and we had a smashing breakfast - hot and tasty. My husband and I eat very different things as I am vegetarian and he is not, but nothing was too much trouble and all served in a comfortable, fresh dining room. The owners took over a couple of years ago and have recarpeted throughout and are continually upgrading. Great little place where personal service really matters. We would definitely stay again. Eda

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
avpwilliams, Owner at Ravenswood, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Kathy and I thank you for your lovely review. We try to make everyone's stay as pleasant as possible. We hope you stay again should you be in the area.
Regards Ashley and Kathy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 210 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2014

Second time staying following night out at theatre . Warm welcome spotless room and fab breakfast in a really convenient location . This place is a real gem. Thank you again love from linda and mike xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
avpwilliams, Owner at Ravenswood, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Thank you Linda and Mike for your lovely review. We are so happy you decided to stay with us again and hope to see you again when you next come to Torquay for the theatre.
regards
Ashley and Kathy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Stayed here for just one night and the reviews are true. Welcoming hosts, lovely clean rooms and great breatfast. What more could you ask for. Location is great - near to restaurants and pubs and a 5 minute walk to the harbour and seafront. Made to feel very welcome Great value for money. Would definitely recommend and we will be staying here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pasty66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
avpwilliams, Owner at Ravenswood, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Kathy and I thank you for your lovely review we are so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to greeting you again should you come to Torquay in the future.
regards
Ashley and Kathy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We needed a hotel for the night to attend a funeral service & having researched tripadvisor and studied the reviews we picked the Ravenswood Hotel. Regarding the hotel, all that's been said before is true. A lovely, homely & pleasant hotel situated in a lovely location which was ideal for where we needed to be. Our flights were delayed in getting into the UK, and I know we kept our hosts up vey late, arriving at the hotel at approximately 11:45pm. But we were met by Ashley in a most pleasant & helpfull manner. We found the rooms, though not the largest rooms we ever stayed in, were perfect & snug in every way. The hotel is spotless. It's comfortable, it's like a home from home. The cooked breakfast was substantial and was served a little earlier than normal to accomodate us having to leave for the service we were there to attend. Ashley had printed off the AA route planner giving us precise details as to how get to where we needed. The personal touch at the top level. It was a short stay but perhaps we will get the opportunity to stay here again and enjoy the hospitality in full.

Room Tip: Any room will do but the front rooms overlook a beautiful park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
avpwilliams, Owner at Ravenswood, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

Thank you Tom for your lovely comments. We try to ensure our guests have a pleasant and comfortable stay here and to go the extra mile.
It would be great to see you again sometime soon under happier circumstances and we thank you for taking the time to leave to leave a review for others.
Kindest regards
Ashley and Kathy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Stayed here just for the 1 night earlier this month, and booked a further stay in March before we left, due to how great it was.
The rooms, breakfast room, reception, are all beautifully decorated, to a high standard. We couldn't believe that we had only paid £49 for the room, it could certainly command a higher price, which obviously would be to our disadvantage, but can not remember ever getting such great value for money.
And Kathy & Ashley, the owners, what a great couple, so genuine in their approach, so relaxed, really nice people. They definitely make a huge contribution to stays at the Ravenswood. They have really put a lot of effort into making this hotel work, and it does work too.
Breakfast was great, felt a bit guilty as we couldn't actually finish the cooked breakfast.
Location is really good, minutes to the harbour, shops, pubs, restaurants.
Parking was easy.
Looking forward to returning in March.
Could not recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
avpwilliams, Owner at Ravenswood, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

Dear Cathy, thanks so much for leaving us such a fantastic review.
We are so pleased that you had such a great stay with us and that you booked to come again while you were here!
It's wonderful to get such great feedback as we are relatively new to the business and want to offer our customers something a little bit different and a really comfortable stay.
We are looking forward to seeing you soon,
Kind regards
Kathy & Ashley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Stayed at the Ravenswood Hotel for one night(6th November 2013) as we were watching a show at the Princess Theatre...The room had everything we needed & nicely decorated. The breakfast was perfect. We will definitely stay again if we decide to visit Torquay in the future...thank you Kathy and Ashley for making our stay a pleasant one.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debbie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
avpwilliams, Manager at Ravenswood, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review especially after a short stay.

It was lovely to meet you and we are very pleased everything was to your liking! We hope to see you again!

KInd regards
Kathy & Ashley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I stayed at the Ravenswood Hotel from Saturday 19th October till Saturday 26th October 2013 and it was my first time staying in Torquay,and in Devon.
The Hosts Ashley and Kathy are fantastic,they go out of way.They are very polite and very helpful nothing is too much trouble.The room which i was staying in for the week was immaculate,and bed was very comfortable.
The way this Hotel is situated is also another advantage over other Hotels in Torquay mainly because the Harbour is only 5 mins walk away,from it as well as most other facilities that Torquay has to offer, like the many, shops,dinning establishments,and Buses,is only a few mins walk away from this particular Hotel.
I also used the free-Wi-Fi facilities whilst i stayed at the Ravenswood,as it was in my room.

The Breakfast in the morning was mainly self service in that you helped yourself to cereal or toast and then Kathy asked you whether you wanted a pot of tea or coffee and if you wanted a fried Breakfast as well,then you could have that choice as well.

The cooked Breakfasts in the morning that were cooked fresh every day by Ashley and served by Kathy were great.
I have stayed in a number of Guest Houses and Hotels over the Years on my travels,but i would rate the RavensWood Hotel as being in my top 3.I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to other TripAdvisor travelers.I will be defiantly be returning to Torquay in the near future.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tonybullo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
avpwilliams, Owner at Ravenswood, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Wow, we would just like to say a big thank you for your wonderful, detailed review!

It's lovely to get such good feedback, especially when people have stayed with us for numerous days, and at many other guesthouses. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay, it's location and had a really comfortable bed and room.

Many thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you again
Ashley & Kathy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Barton
Hotel Barton
#33 of 85 in Torquay
154 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Peppers
Hotel Peppers
#19 of 85 in Torquay
290 reviews
0 mi away
The Palms Hotel
The Palms Hotel
#47 of 85 in Torquay
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#48 of 85 in Torquay
368 reviews
0 mi away
Kingsholm Hotel
Kingsholm Hotel
#8 of 149 in Torquay
799 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kings Lodge
Kings Lodge
#7 of 149 in Torquay
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravenswood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravenswood

Address: 535 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: $75 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ravenswood 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sue and Peter welcome you to the Ravenswood, centrally located only 400 metres from Torquay harbour and town centre. We are a B&B, offering clean, good value, non-smoking accommodation, plus an excellent breakfast, served in the dining room, with views over Torwood Gardens. The location of the Ravenswood Hotel is very central, being adjacent to Torquay Museum and on the Agatha Christie Mile. A short walk of 400 metres takes you to the harbour, with its boats, restaurants, shops and Pavilion, or to the central shopping area in Fleet Street and Torquay's nightlife and theatres. Also within a 400 metre radius are over 30 pubs, cafes and restaurants, so you will be spoilt for choice when selecting something to eat. Torquay's blue flag award beaches are but a short walk away, and for the energetic, the south west coast path is a great place to walk and take in the scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Ravenswood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravenswood Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing