We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant. A gem in Torquay.”
Review of Braddon Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Braddon Hall Hotel
Ranked #40 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2014

A warm welcome awaited us and we were very pleased h the classic décor of room 3. The room was clean and fresh with a Kingsize comfortable bed. The floor to ceiling windows allowed good views towards the town.
A highlight of Braddon Hall was the 5 start breakfast. Definitely worth getting up for! The choice and quality of the locally sourced produce was above average and probably the best breakfast we’ve had in a long time.
Overall, a very comfortable stay, great value and highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room 3 Very nice & bright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wayne79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 216 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2014

A fantastic place with fantastic welcoming hosts. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Torquay and were so pleased we picked Braddon Hall. Perfect location, one of the most comfiest beds we've slept in away from home, a lovely hot shower and a superb cooked breakfast with so much choice that kept us going all day. Would recommend this lovely little hotel to everybody and will definitely be returning. Thank you both for such a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank whitt181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Thanks for such a great service! The location is near the restaurants, shops, night clubs and Torquay harbour. The host was great, plenty of local knowledge and tips on what to do and where to go. Breakfast to suit everybody's taste and good portions. Car park isn't easy but plenty of free parking on the road. Would definitely recommend this hotel for a good stay in Torquay!

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Ramthetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Extremely friendly hosts,nothing is too much trouble. Very good value for money,excellent breakfast(high quality ingredients and well cooked) and perfect location for Torquay and surrounding points of interest. The building has character,just like the owners! I would highly recommend this place.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Cru22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Booked direct with the hotel who were very helpful at the time of booking. On arrival we were met by Wayne who was a fountain of knowledge.. Our room was lovely ( number 3 ) which faced the front of the hotel. Huge bed which was one of the comfiest we have ever slept in. The room was spotless and was furnished to a very high standard. Breakfast was really lovely. We met Debbie on the 2nd morning who cooked our breakfast. A lovely couple who took pride in what was not only a hotel but their home aswell. Will definitely return. Top Tip - leave the car at the hotel and get a day ticket on the bus if you are visiting Brixham, Paignton etc as parking seems to be 2 hrs or very expensive - thanks Wayne for this advise!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClareL8411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Upon arrival, parking at the hotel was extremely difficult, due to a steep/uneven drive and very little room to manoeuvre. Staying in Torquay for a family wedding, upon booking, we discussed the reason for our visit and proceeded with the booking over the phone, they advised the receipt would be posted - 3 weeks later we then had to ring to request the receipt, which still hadn't arrived. At this point we asked Deborah if there was a possibility of early check-in due to the distance we were travelling and the wedding being at 1pm, we weren't told of the early check-in policy (available to view online) at an extra charge of £15 until we arrived (which we would have gladly paid and considering we booked over the phone we weren't to know) however she said she would do her best. Arrived at approximately 12noon to a less than friendly and somewhat rude welcome from Wayne abruptly saying we were too early, explained the situation yet again, we were told the rooms were not guaranteed to be ready for us and not to "shoot the messenger". In the event the rooms were ready for us and we felt his attitude was completely unnecessary and out of order. Considering he is front of house for a small hotel he needs to polish up his people skills considerably.

Credit to Deborah, the rooms were clean (apart from a few grubby marks on one set of bed linen in the twin room), bathroom was extremely small but adequate and the full English breakfast was very lovely (continental also available) pleasantly surprised they were able to accommodate a dietary requirement of Soya milk.

Good location close to the harbour and local restaurants. £137.00 for 1 x double room and 1 x twin room - a fair price. We wouldn't stay again and would we recommend it...? Well people take their chances.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Heva1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

I have spent a lot of time at this hotel staying every weekend in March, April and beginning of May.
The hospitality from the owners is outstanding. Very friendly and very helpful. Anything you want to know about the area and days out.
Rooms are comfortable with very comfortable beds.
The hotel is keep at a high cleanliness standard.
Breakfast is excellent. They will mix and match the cooked breakfast to your taste.
They even catered for me when I had to get up and leave at 0530 hours by leaving milk, cereal, yogurts and fruit out so I could help myself.
I can not rate this high enough as they really looked after me when I stayed with them. Even helping me with advise about the local area and contacts for my move to the area.
The location is perfect for the harbour and main bus route into Torquay (although you can walk it in under 10 minutes) where you can get buses to Brixham and Paignton or the surrounding area. There is a ferry to Brixham in the harbour also and it's only a pound.
You can even walk to Babbacombe or St Marychurch or get the local bus and visit those areas from the Hotel.
Overall this is a truly outstanding hotel to stay in as it has everything. Not like some corporate hotels where the rooms are clean and airy but have no character or the staff are just a front and have no soul.
This hotel has character and the owners and staff make you feel really welcome.
Top notch stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank APF F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#48 of 85 in Torquay
368 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ashurst Lodge
Ashurst Lodge
#69 of 85 in Torquay
63 reviews
1 mi away
Trelawney Hotel
Trelawney Hotel
#27 of 85 in Torquay
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#11 of 85 in Torquay
914 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#6 of 85 in Torquay
520 reviews
0 mi away
The Redholme B&B
The Redholme B&B
#3 of 149 in Torquay
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Braddon Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braddon Hall Hotel

Address: 70 Braddons Hill Road East, Torquay TQ1 1HF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#22 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: $81 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Braddon Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Braddon Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braddon Hall Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing