We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good place to stay”
Review of Braddon Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Braddon Hall Hotel
Ranked #38 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“A very good place to stay”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

The hotel was everything we needed and wanted it to be. It's just a few minutes walk from the centre of Torquay, and it's also within walking distance of some pretty decent beaches too. Our room was perfect for us - it was very light and airy, with a view over the town. The bathroom was clean and the bed was extremely comfortable - I don't think I've ever slept in such a comfortable bed away from home.
The breakfast was very good - I always had a cooked breakfast, which was excellent, and there was a good selection of fruit, juices and cereals too.
I'd definitely recommend this place, it was perfectly placed for exploring Torquay and its surroundings, and it was a very good place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJM88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    50
    10
    6
    2
See reviews for
25
130
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
swansea
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Really enjoyed our w'end break which was quite 'spur of the moment', and booked the last room available. Excellent welcome from Debbie with loads of local info. Breakfast was all you could ask for, quality food, well cooked, and a good buffet style fruit and cereals to start off. I look forward to the re-furb being finished as our room could really do with it! Don't get me wrong, there's nothing major to do, but it needs 'tweaking' and Debbie was kind enough to welcome my advice on improvements. Unfortunately, the size of the en-suite will still be small until it can be re-modelled, but if you are a 'normal' sized person, you won't have any problems. I am not your average person, so it was not the best, but perfectly adequate! Hotel is a short walk up from Town, so nice and quiet. We had a lovely, if long walk around to Kent's Cavern, then on to Meadfoot Beach, and up over back into Torquay. Fantastic views!!
All in all, a good hotel, and we WILL be back!!

Room Tip: Room 2 seems to be the very last to go, but they are improving it, so don't be put off!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigbirdSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
braddon123, Owner at Braddon Hall Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Many thanks for your postive review and really appreciate you coming and talking to me and have truely taken your comments on board. Looking forward to meeting you both again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

This was our second short break at the Braddon Hall Hotel and once again the welcome and service we recieved throughout our stay was execellent. The accommodation and location is perfect and our hosts, Debbie and Wayne really make it a pleasure to visit their Hotel and the Torquay area. The breakfasts are always very good, lots of choice and if you comment that Wayne looks like he's lost some weight you're guarenteed an extra hash brown and sausage! We are already planning our next visit to Torquay and will definately be staying again at the Braddon Hall Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HSquires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
braddon123, Owner at Braddon Hall Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
many thanks for another fantastic review. It was great seeing you both again and are really looking forward to meeting the furry one next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West midlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Stay recently at this hotel. Hotel room and breakfast area clean. Good breakfast menu with several different options to choose from. Hotel suitable located to town, marina and small beach area. Wayne very nice and helpful, he will always recommended where to go and what to see. Deborah? who's that I think I seen her a couple of times one morning during breakfast, but she didn't bother to say Good Morning or to introduce herself, so can't comment any further on her.
Negative points about this hotel, definitely not a four star, very expensive and the bathroom small.... Bathroom so small you couldn't swing a rat in. I stayed for 3 nights, but wished I had booked 2 nights only, couldn't wait to get out by the 3rd night.
Important point if you are not very mobile or have a disability or even if you are unable to manage several steps, inside & outside this is not the place for you.
If you are coming in by car don't use hotel car space, park on the road instead, There is free parking all day on one side, other side free after 6pm. If you choose to park on the hotel site you will have a shock. The hill is very steep and narrow, and at a angle. You would need parking sensors or someone to help you park. Would I stay at this hotel again? NO. Why, mainly because of the expense.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PlonkWestmidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
braddon123, Owner at Braddon Hall Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. So glad Wayne made you feel welcome and that he was helpful. So sorry I did not meet but i did have the opportunity to meet your grand daughter and niece which were lovely young ladies. Just like to say we do not advertise as disable friendly or 4 star graded. We always advise if a customer has a disabilalty.We always help with parking if needed and we do have many customers using the car park. You felt we were to expensive but you booked on booking.com for a double room and then you wanted to bring an extra child which was 12yrs old and you were advised an extra cost per day would be charged for extra bed and breakfast, which you did agree with booking.com. I have to say we can not allow a double bed to be shared for three people even though you told booking.com you have been allowed before. I am sorry you felt you could not return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2012

had another great stay. me wife and brother in law all enjoyed. the rooms were clean and the bed very comfy the breakfast choice was more than enough recommend the full english mmm both hosts were great and helped us plan our days out .excellent value we will return for a third visit soon .

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flapsy97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
braddon123, Owner at Braddon Hall Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you for your review i am glad you had another great stay and having parrots in common with your brother in law is rare in this industry. We hope you will enjoy another stay with us as myself and Wayne will look forward to it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Callington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
328 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We were very happy with our stay at the Braddon Hall Hotel. The hotel is ideally located for Torquay centre or walking around the coast. There are several good restaurants within walking distance.

Our room was on the top floor, the room was a good size with lovely décor with a breath taking view towards the sea. The bed was comfortable, the only problem was the en-suite shower room being a little small. Breakfast was served between 0830 and 0930 and were very good.

The owners were very helpful and recommended a few places to dine and visit. We would recommend this Hotel and would like to stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Owlincallington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
braddon123, Owner at Braddon Hall Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Many thanks for taking time to write such a lovely review. The added pictures is such a great idea as it will let others see exactly which room you are talking about. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and your advise has been taken on board.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Recently stayed at this beautiful hotel and had the nicest time run by a warm, friendly and helpful couple. Very clean hotel. The breakfast was really tasty and catered for all needs. Would definitely go there again and would recommend to anyone thinking of staying in this area. Couldn't wait to book for my next break here. Thank you to the lovely couple that run the hotel for making it should a lovely stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kell4302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.1 mi away
Kelvin House Hotel
Kelvin House Hotel
#47 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#49 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Barton
Hotel Barton
#42 of 88 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cary Court Hotel
Cary Court Hotel
#8 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbour Heights Guest House
0.1 mi away
The Palms Hotel
The Palms Hotel
#27 of 88 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Braddon Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braddon Hall Hotel

Property: Braddon Hall Hotel
Address: 70 Braddons Hill Road East, Torquay TQ1 1HF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#23 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Braddon Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Braddon Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braddon Hall Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing