We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a lovely stay!”
Review of Braddon Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Braddon Hall Hotel
Ranked #42 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Would recommend this hotel to anyone who is planning a holiday to torquay.
Me and my husband and child stay for 3 nights and could not have ask for a lovely welcoming and hospitality. We had everything we needed in our hotel room and was offered to put our baby food in there fridge for us which they did not have to do but was very thankful. Wayne also offered us help on what we needed: Took our bags up for us n also offered lifts to destination we needed if their was no other way on getting around. The breakfast in the morning was delicious there was alot of variety on the buffet side. We would defiantly be coming again. Thank you for a lovely stay

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 217 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2012

This is a fantastic place to stay ! The staff are all very nice and friendly ! We stayed in superior room which was really beautiful and it's been a pleasure to stay there ! Will definitely stay there again.
The hotel is in good location about five to ten min walk to centre. If you've never visited Torquay before the staff are more than happy to give you ideas of where to visit.
The hotel is clean and the breakfast of a high standard. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clairabel77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2012

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and i hope your trip to Brixham was pleasent. Your review was a lovely gesture and i am glad we live up to what you would expect. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

i had a fantastic stay. the people running the place were very welcoming and helpful. i found the place cosy comfatable clean and tidy. the room i stayed in was lovely and of a perfect size for me and my partner we have already booked again for next year. the breakfast was really good and always enjoyable. we would reccomend this a place to stay to friends and family as the owners were helpful in telling us place to visit and knew the area well. thank you for a lovely stay.....

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samantha l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We have visited Braddon Hall Hotel last week for a week away in Torquay. We were so looking forward to it however how dissapointed we were! Upon arrival, the host has shown us around and led us to our double balcony room which seemed to be lovely, light and airy however we started to find more and more little surprises like horrible toilet system, very dirty tea cups, dirty balcony or some kind of a mouse noise coming from inside the walls. There was MUCH MORE extra to that but oh well guess that is life and got to be more careful with the choices we make, don't we! The breakfast was however OK with large selection of continental and full english too, but not for my personal liking. Good location close to the harbour and local restaurants but would not recommend for older people or families because of the long hill. Overall, would not recommend.

PS. Very fussy B&B !

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Paula K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Although the owners were lovely, we were very disappointed with our stay. We had booked the four poster bedroom. On entering it looked lovely, but closer inspection showed it was in need of a desperate overall.

The bed was nothing special with curtains tied round the banisters to fit, hanging, allowing for you to trip over them. The tea tray was minimal, with no tea pot, so a dunk in the cup with your tea bag was good enough. No proper milk jug etc. bearing in mind It was advertised as romantic getaway or similar......The shower leaked, and the toilet system was a joke. In defence the towels were lovely and fluffy, but all in all the room was cramped and full of odd bodge and loads of unnecessary cushions. What do you do with them all when you want to get into bed? yet another trip over! We are just glad we didnt have to pay over a hundred pounds for the room. The normal going rate in peak season. Its an honest revue as we are avid travellers. We were so disappointed.

Carpets throught out needed replacing, and there was odd carpets thrown down, allowing for another trip over! even in the room there was the odd one. The dining room was cramped and the chairs were so old and uncomfortable that you felt the frame as you sat. We had the cooked breakfast. It wasnt nice. What appeared to be deep fried hash browns, and what appeared to be off pink boiled bacon, thats what it tasted like anyway. It didnt look nice and it didnt taste nice. Again, no proper milk jug or matching tea pot. Just odd bodge again. Cereals were laid out on the bar, not on a low table were you could take your time chosing. It all seemed very low standard for such a lovely big place. Its certainly lacking in all those little home comforts.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 3Minis3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

I’d like to thank the guest for such an informative and detailed feedback. Although I am disappointed that we did not live up to her expectations I am pleased that she felt that our welcome and hospitality were up to scratch.

Although Trip Advisor is a very useful tool for travellers it does mean increasingly that guests choose not to voice any concerns while they are away but wait to do so when they get home. From our point of view it is frustrating because it does not allow us to the opportunity to put things right while the guests are with us which in turn means that the guest does not get to enjoy the visit as much as they might.

With regards some of the points made by the reviewer; firstly our building is a period building with all of the charm you would expect, it does however mean that it will sometimes not have the sharp corners and neat finish of a show home. It’s a building that has been continuously inhabited for over 150 years… As far as the ensuites are concerned we have an ongoing programme of refurbishment and are continually striving to improve what we have to offer. Our rooms are furnished with rugs and cushions for the added comfort of our guests. Whilst they might not be to the taste of those who like a more minimalist approach to interiors, other guests do appreciate the added comfort they give.

We don’t normally put tea pots in the rooms but would be delighted to do so if a guest preferred to use one. A simple request would be all that it took.

We were disappointed that the guest did not like breakfast. We buy top quality smoked back bacon which is cooked to order as is the rest of our breakfast. If a guest prefers their bacon well done they are more than welcome to ask and we will happily oblige. Our hash browns are deep fried which is how most establishments cook them. We appreciate some guests might not like them and so they are more than welcome to ask not have them. Our milk jugs are made of glass and although they are not part of a set with the teapots, I’m not sure that many establishments have all their china ware from one set only. We do use the bar for displaying our buffet items. We do this because there is plenty of space to set it all out and it is within easy reach.

We are here to make our guests stays as enjoyable as possible. We appreciate that guests often have very different likes and dislikes and it is not always possible to anticipate them all. However, when asked we will always do our very best to accommodate all requests where humanly possible. We love to see feedback on Trip Advisor but would also ask guest to talk to us too

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Just spent weekend at this Hotel/BB. (June 2012). Arrival + check in was easy, friendly welcome with suggestions from the owner of places to visit which was very helpfull. We had a Superior room that was large, had lovely furnishings and a lovely view over the town. you could just see the sea through the trees. The bathroom was also roomy and very clean as was the room. Breakfast was great with a choice of cereal, fresh fruit, tea/coffee then a choice of full english or choice of egg on toast etc, you even had the choice of white or brown bread for your toast !!
Its just a few minutes walk down a hill to the Marina and a selection of bars and restaurants so a good location. Good shopping centre too thats right off the Marina. On site parking is also available. Overall very friendly owners, nice welcome, lovely clean Hotel , nice food , would recommend.

Room Tip: Room 9 was a Superior with lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Stayed at this small hotel for 3 nights in the lovely four poster room. The nicest room in the hotel, we were very lucky to book this room. Very clean bedroom and bathroom, both were very good size. Tea making facilities and nice flat screen TV. Breakfast was great and speedy, you can choose what you wish from the full english breakfast if you don't want the full works! Friendly and accommodating staff eager to help you explore Torquay.
The hotel is in a great location for eating, lots of restaurants on your door step. We tried the mexican and american/thai both were very good and would recommend.
Walking distance to Kents Cavern and babbacomb model village if you dont mind a good walk up a hill!
We took the boat to Dartmouth however wouldn't recommend this as it takes far to long and you don't get enough time there. Brixham is a much shorter journey by boat making it more suitable.
We would definately like to come back for another stay!

Room Tip: Four poster room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SussexBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1 mi away
Abbeyfield Hotel
Abbeyfield Hotel
#8 of 87 in Torquay
552 reviews
1.1 mi away
Brandize Hotel
Brandize Hotel
#32 of 87 in Torquay
162 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Cimon
The Cimon
#15 of 87 in Torquay
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ashwood Grange Hotel
Ashwood Grange Hotel
#43 of 87 in Torquay
63 reviews
1 mi away
Trelawney Hotel
Trelawney Hotel
#25 of 87 in Torquay
147 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Braddon Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braddon Hall Hotel

Address: 70 Braddons Hill Road East, Torquay TQ1 1HF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#22 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: $82 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Braddon Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Braddon Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braddon Hall Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing