We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely hotel.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Virginia

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Virginia
Ranked #134 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely hotel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Hi I stayed at the hotel in Feb 2013 and am returning again in Jan 2014. Myself and my partner arrived with a large group,most who have visited Tony and his lovely crew numerous times before,to be personally greeted outside by Tony himself ,(lovely touch). Myself and my partner were the youngest in this group,and we felt the whole stay was great,the hospitality covered all ages..,Yes the hotel may be in need of being updated in places,but the welcome by Tony and his crew,the food quality,and the entertainment we had,more than outweighed that little fact.The staff could not do enough for all of us,and everyone`s needs were accommodated fully.Testimony to the fact that after leaving,the trip for 2014 was booked up fully within days!!! I`m looking forward to returning next year and would not hesitate to recommend the Hotel Virginia to anyone,and have done so,as several members of my family will now be visiting with me. Reviwed by jeannie H.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jehar070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    16
    4
    4
    12
See reviews for
12
15
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

just come back from this hotel staying over christmas the only good thing i can say is the food was very good,tony and christine where very nice but only christine spend one night with her guests, he only opened the bar just before the evening meal thought with it being christmas they would have open the bar and entertained us a lot more than he did he did nothing for christmas day after dinner;which with the bar shut it just left us in our rooms, then the hotel its self is a complete mess it is in desperate need of a complete refurbishment, new windows , showers . furniture. carpets the lot. until it is completely done up i would give this hotel a wide birth.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ches720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Torquay hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Just returned from our second stay as a group at the hotel virginia. Nothing was too much trouble for Tony and his crew. Wife only drinks tea, not a problem in the evening, only had to ask and julia or louise would oblige even though the bar was busy most of the time. It's that little personal touch that makes the difference. Yes we definitely will be coming back hopefully May 2014. and thanks once again. Not 5 star,but 5 star treatment of their customers

Room Tip: There is no lift, so if you have mobility problems, ask for a lower room. Having said that I have ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrebleM0120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackwood gwent
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

well hi all been going on our anual trip in feb for about 9/10 years coach pick us up stop in garden centre bit pricey but good onwards to hotel virgina tony there to meet us all people know what room there in ill sort money with tony all done weekend ours food brill enertainment every nite beer a1 can not fault this trip thats why we come back year after year tony chris staff cleaners waitdreeses are also tops trip cant wait for feb 2014 c u tony soon

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Everything was great. Perfect location, entertainment and choice of food.
I have been going for 12 years and am yet to find anything to complain about.
You get the same gang of friends year after year returning, so it must be good, we all have a laugh, a few drinks and enjoy ourselves with the entertainment etc.

People are complaining about minor things, but if you look at and compare the Virginia with other big hotels run by Shearings, Proctors, Robinsons etc, theres a big difference in the price roughly in the region of £150- 250 including single room supplement for 7 days.(Robinsons, Copelands, Procters etc 7 days (£350-450) Their hotels might be bigger and better but if you dont like the choice of menu youre stuck.And half of their hotels are 1 - 2 miles away from the beach etc. AT the Virginia you know what youre getting and its brilliant.
I have been with Shearings and Robinsons from Stoke on Trent and you have to travel to elsewhere to change coach. An hour and a half later `i`m passing my house again.
The drivers on some of these coaches do not communicate or help, its as if its too much trouble.
for them !!!

Try staying in some hotels where theres no one to pull your suitcases up stairs, help you out, help the little old lady cross the road, you wunna get it.

As far as I am concerned the Virginia is in a perfect location for everything all within 5 minutes walk and with no hills to climb. I E- the beach, town centre, train station, gardens, and boat trips. So I cant complain about anything and I`m 56 not getting any younger.

Thanks for a great holiday Tony, Chris and family. Keep up the good work and I look forward to seeing you again

Paul.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Paul714269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

we have just got back from this hotel sat the 10th august.I i have to agree with most of the comments made by other guests but hey you pay for what you get, food was excellent,bed was clean,mine hosts where brilliant so where all the staff, bar/dining room,cleaners,could not fault any of them ,would go again ideal break ,its worth going just to hear tonys corny jokes

Room Tip: fitness centre was the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank bigbadal3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLITHEROE
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

My friend and I have stayed here for four years running now. Yes, the hotel is a bit dated and basic, but Tony and the staff more than make up for it, with good humour, friendliness, tasty food and a comfy bed. Tony sends a coach for us guests coming from 'oop north,' and there's always a trip out included in the week, plus entertainment in the evenings. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff, and Tony is an excellent host. Last year we went for a 'Turkey and Tinsel' week too, and, as every holiday, it was very good value. We had a visit from Santa Claus, with a very acceptable little gift, which I'm still using! A great time was had by all.
Lynn and Dorothy - Burnley area.

Room Tip: Some rooms are more spacious than others. Check this out first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LYNN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Richmond
Hotel Richmond
#66 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#24 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Regina Hotel
The Regina Hotel
#61 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bahamas
The Bahamas
#103 of 153 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brooklands
Brooklands
#98 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Virginia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Virginia

Property: Hotel Virginia
Address: Hotel Virginia Falkland Road, Torquay TQ2 5JH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Also Known As:
Hotel Virginia Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing